Monday, 6 June 2016

What I've Been Up To...

Let's Start of with a Hello... (it's me).

Hey everyone! It's been a real long time since I've blogged on my book blog, and I am really upset that I have been letting it go.

I have reviews lined up for WEEKS, considering I did keep up with reading while I was away. It's just a matter of going through my Goodreads account, figuring out which books I finished, and remembered what I loved, liked and disliked about each of them.

While I haven't blogged here in a long time, it doesn't mean I haven't given up on book blogging. In fact, book blogging is what got me into my university program in the first place, and because of my love books, reading and connecting with other readers, authors and publishers that I'm currently doing something that I absolutely love for the next four years (and subsequently, for the rest of my life)-- I will always be grateful for the blogger friends I've made, the author friends I've made and the cool people I've met while book blogging.

Although this sounds like a farewell post, it's not. I will be reviewing books for as long as I can, but at the moment I can't actually be posting as frequently-- unless I have it schedule and done beforehand.

This summer, I'm currently working (somewhat sprodic hours) at my part-time job, and doing a lot of unpaid internships for experience. I'm also collaborating with other students in my program for some awesome projects, as well as planning projects myself for the next couple months. Also, I'm trying to enjoy the next four months before I go back to school in September, as this may be the last summer I have off (officially. I figured out my credits situation and how I'm going to graduate in four years with my minor included. And it's going to be REALLY busy).

Why I've been such a ghost lately.

Like I said above, I haven't been blogging in awhile due to school, work, internships, projects and just enjoying my summer in general.

If you're wondering what type of program I'm in, I can tell you it's not a film program nor is it related to anything in the book publishing industry.

I'm currently studying Media Production at Ryerson University. I essentially learn everything in the broadcasting/film industry: from learning how to operate equipment to creating, producing and creating content; from doing graphic design to public relations. I do it all, and I love it, and it's made me busier than before.

A lot of what I do is unpaid at the moment, so when I'm not actually doing something for me, I'm working part-time to pay for school, bills and transportation expenses.

If you wanna see more of what I do, visit my portfolio site:

Thursday, 28 April 2016


Hello world, I am alive, yes, and back to tell you that the winner of the copy of the Rivals of Versailles by Sally Christie is no other than...

Susan (@suekitty13)

Thanks to all that entered, and please note, I really do apologize for not being able to update my blog. I have many reviews ready to go (I have been reading), but I literally just finished my first year of university, and have been super busy with getting my life back in order and actually sleeping. With that being said, reviews will be up soon- probably starting next weekend, because I am working this weekend, and will only be able to make posts after my Saturday shift!

Have a wonderful Thursday night!

Thursday, 7 April 2016

Blog Tour: Rivals of Versailles by Sally Christie + Giveaway

Author: Sally Christie
Release Date: April 5th, 2016
Publisher: Atria books
Status: Mistress of Versailles Trilogy #2

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
And you thought sisters were a thing to fear. In this compelling follow-up to Sally Christie's clever and absorbing debut, we meet none other than the Marquise de Pompadour, one of the greatest beauties of her generation and the first bourgeois mistress ever to grace the hallowed halls of Versailles.

I write this before her blood is even cold. She is dead, suddenly, from a high fever. The King is inconsolable, but the way is now clear.

The way is now clear.

The year is 1745. Marie-Anne, the youngest of the infamous Nesle sisters and King Louis XV's most beloved mistress, is gone, making room for the next Royal Favorite.

Enter Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson, a stunningly beautiful girl from the middle classes. Fifteen years prior, a fortune teller had mapped out young Jeanne's destiny: she would become the lover of a king and the most powerful woman in the land. Eventually connections, luck, and a little scheming pave her way to Versailles and into the King's arms.

All too soon, conniving politicians and hopeful beauties seek to replace the bourgeois interloper with a more suitable mistress. As Jeanne, now the Marquise de Pompadour, takes on her many rivals - including a lustful lady-in-waiting; a precocious fourteen-year-old prostitute, and even a cousin of the notorious Nesle sisters - she helps the king give himself over to a life of luxury and depravity. Around them, war rages, discontent grows, and France inches ever closer to the Revolution.

Enigmatic beauty, social climber, actress, trendsetter, patron of the arts, spendthrift, whoremonger, friend, lover, foe. History books may say many things about the famous Marquise de Pompadour, but one thing is clear: for almost twenty years, she ruled France and the King's heart.

Told in Christie's witty and modern style, this second book in the Mistresses of Versailles trilogy will delight and entrance fans as it once again brings to life the world of eighteenth century Versailles in all its pride, pestilence and glory.

Rivals of Versailles was a wonderfully crafted book. It tells the story of Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson, a middle class girl from 18th century France. She is beautiful, intelligent, and witty- which leads her to become the mistress of King Louis XV.

When I received the book from the publisher, I was very excited to read it, despite the fact that I have not read the first book. It's a book set in 18th century Versailles, which every YA historical junkie knows = drama, drama, DRAMA!

I really don't want to give anything away from this story, but I do want to say that Christie does a wonderful job portraying the life of Jeanne-Antoinette in creates a wonderful, heart-breaking, and impressionable tale. You see her life shift from a relatively normal life to a life of a mistress, and you also see the progression of king's reputation change, and slowly see the seeds of the revolution to follow two generations later happen.

It's a wonderful story, one that I recommend to all readers!

Win a copy of Rival of Versailles- OPEN TO CANADA ONLY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, 11 March 2016

Tour Announcement: Rivals of Versailles by Sally Christie + Giveaway

And so, after so long, I'm back! 

I've been [REALLY] busy with school, so I unfortunately been radio silent for the last... two or three... months? I have no clue how long I've actually been genuinely active (everything's been queued), but with the semester and my personal motivation for school dwindling down, I'm slowly easing my way back into blogging.

And as my first major blog post back, I'm proud to announce that I'm taking part of the Rivals of Versailles blog tour.

The novel is written by Sally Christie, and takes place in 18th century France. Here's the synopsis if you're curious:

The year is 1745 and King Louis XV’s bed is once again empty. Enter Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson, a beautiful girl from the middle classes. As a child, a fortune teller had told young Jeanne’s destiny: she would become the lover of a king and the most powerful woman in the land. Eventually connections, luck, and a little scheming pave her way to Versailles and into the King’s arms. Around them, war rages, discontent grows, and France inches ever closer to the Revolution.

Told in Christie's celebrated witty and modern style, The Rivals of Versailles will delight and entrance fans as it brings to life the court of Louis XV in all its pride, pestilence, and glory.

The novel releases on April 5th, and I'll be hosting on the 7th. I'll be posting my review AND giving away a finished copy of the novel as well.

Below is the tour announcement if you want more information!

Thursday, 10 March 2016

Review: Evanescent by Gabriella Lepore

Author: Gabriella Lepore
Release Date: March 15th, 2013
Publisher: Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing
Status: standalone

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

“Then it is settled,” Felix declared. “Come hell or high water, when this is all over, at least one of us here will not make it out alive.”

When Bronwen Snow is pulled from her cottage in the middle of the night, she finds herself seeking the help of three mysterious boys who reside in an abandoned castle deep in the hillside. With only a hasty handwritten note and a vague sense of dread to guide her, Bronwen is forced to put her trust in the eccentric and willful Felix Cavara and his eternal curse – immortality.

I was originally supposed to post this review for the blog tour hosted by Xpresso Books, but I however, was backtracked by pre-production, filming, and post-production for one of my television classes.

Anyways, I enjoyed this book for the most part- it was a pretty easy read. If I wasn’t really so busy, I actually would’ve finished the book in probably in a couple of hours. It was one of those novels that was really fast paced, where the characters were able to stick out, but since it was so fast, you didn’t really get to connect with the characters on an emotional level as much.

The action, the mystery/magic, and the characters really did make the story. I found the world easy to grasp, and the characters’ personalities really did make it enjoyable. For me, I feel like since it was such a fast read, a couple of plot twists and another sub-plot really would’ve made it just that much better. I was really getting a Raven’ Boys’ vibe from this entire novel, and it was just so good, I really wish it wasn’t that short.

Anyways, it was a good book. I give it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Tuesday, 23 February 2016

ARC Review: The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

Author: Jessica Khoury
Expected Release Date: February 23, 2016
Publisher: Razorbill
Received from: publisher
Status: standalone

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
She is the most powerful Jinni of all. He is a boy from the streets. Their love will shake the world...

When Aladdin discovers Zahra's jinni lamp, Zahra is thrust back into a world she hasn't seen in hundreds of years -- a world where magic is forbidden and Zahra's very existence is illegal. She must disguise herself to stay alive, using ancient shape-shifting magic, until her new master has selected his three wishes. 

But when the King of the Jinn offers Zahra a chance to be free of her lamp forever, she seizes the opportunity—only to discover she is falling in love with Aladdin. When saving herself means betraying him, Zahra must decide once and for all: is winning her freedom worth losing her heart?

As time unravels and her enemies close in, Zahra finds herself suspended between danger and desire in this dazzling retelling of Aladdin from acclaimed author Jessica Khoury.

I received this book from the publisher as a “bonus” book alongside with other copies that I requested. Initially, I didn’t want to read the book, because I wasn’t really interested in reading an Aladdin re-make (the Disney version will always be my one and only). However, after seeing reviews from other book bloggers, I decided to give it a go.

What makes this retelling of Aladdin was the fact that it wasn’t entirely about him- it was about Zahra’s journey and her relationship with him. It wasn’t entirely fast nor slow paced, but it was a slow burn for me. The story grew on me as we got to know more about Zahra; Aladdin himself was very mischievous and charming, but more mature than his Disney counterpart.

Zahra’s story was really unique, and a hypnotic tale as well. I highly recommend this novel.

Tuesday, 2 February 2016

ARC Review: Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell

Author: Lisa Maxwell
Expected Release Date: February 2nd, 2016
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Received from: publisher
Status: standalone

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
For as long as she can remember, Gwendolyn Allister has never had a place to call home—all because her mother believes that monsters are hunting them. Now these delusions have brought them to London, far from the life Gwen had finally started to build for herself. The only saving grace is her best friend, Olivia, who’s coming with them for the summer.

But when Gwen and Olivia are kidnapped by shadowy creatures and taken to a world of flesh-eating sea hags and dangerous Fey, Gwen realizes her mom might have been sane all along.

The world Gwen finds herself in is called Neverland, yet it’s nothing like the stories. Here, good and evil lose their meaning and memories slip like water through her fingers. As Gwen struggles to remember where she came from and find a way home, she must choose between trusting the charming fairy-tale hero who says all the right things and the roguish young pirate who promises to keep her safe.

With time running out and her enemies closing in, Gwen is forced to face the truths she’s been hiding from all along. But will she be able to save Neverland without losing herself?

As the second Peter Pan retelling I’ve read this year, I’ve been really impressed with both Unhooked and Never, Never by Brianna Shrum (review to come!).

In this retelling, our main characters are Gwen, who is looking for best friend Olivia, after they’re both captured and taken to Neverland. But the Neverland we know from our childhoods is not the one that Gwen finds herself in.

I will admit, this story did start off a bit slow, and I did find myself taking awhile the get through the story (because I actually read Never, Never before this one). After a couple chapters, I was able to get into it, and was thrown a bit off in the beginning when I finally met some familiar faces.

Captain Hook and Peter Pan (Tinker Bell and the Lost Boys as well) were not the same loveable characters we knew. Admittedly, Captain Hook wasn’t some old man that was out for Peter Pan- he was actually a young guy, a couple years older than Gwen (like what’s with all these retellings making Captain Hook young?). He was pretty swoon worthy (not gunna lie), but he was a brooding type of character; if I had to compare his harden attitude, it would be similar to the Darkling’s from Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone trilogy. However, he and Gwen did have their moments (which confused me, and brought out my inner fangirl). Peter Pan, on the other hand, wasn’t a good guy (I found him manipulative and annoying at times), but still had this charm to him that really annoyed me, because at one point, I thought there was going to be a love triangle (thankfully there isn’t!).

The reason behind Gwen and Olivia’s kidnapping is pretty confusing to even Gwen, but she finds Olivia, things quickly fall apart. The climax of the book was very intense, and the book itself was an easy read because it was well written; Lisa Maxwell’s interpretation brought out an adventurous and darker side of Neverland I never expected.

It was a wonderful novel, and I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a Peter Pan retelling! 

Saturday, 23 January 2016

Review: A Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

Author: Claudia Gray
Release Date: November 3rd, 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
Status: Firebird #2

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
Ten thousand worlds. Ten thousand enemies. One love.

Marguerite Caine has done the impossible, traveling to alternate dimensions with the Firebird—the brilliant invention of her parents, her boyfriend, Paul, and their friend Theo. But she has also caught the attention of enemies willing to kidnap, blackmail, and even kill to use the Firebird for themselves.

When Paul’s soul is splintered into four pieces—pieces that are trapped within Pauls in other dimensions—Marguerite will do anything, and travel anywhere, to save him. But the price of his safe return is steep. If she doesn’t sabotage her parents in multiple universes, Paul will be lost forever.

Unwilling to sacrifice her family, Marguerite enlists the brilliant Theo to help. The two forge a plan to save Paul and the Firebird, but succeeding means outsmarting a genius and risking not only their lives but also the lives of their counterparts in every other dimension.

Their mission takes them to the most dangerous universes yet: a war-torn San Francisco, the criminal underworld of New York City, and a glittering Paris where another Marguerite hides a shocking secret. Each leap brings Marguerite closer to saving Paul—but her journey reveals dark truths that lead her to doubt the one constant she’s found between worlds: their love for each other.

Claudia Gray proves she does not suffer from “second book syndrome” in this enthralling sequel to her Firebird Trilogy novels that will, I kid you not, make you cry and suffer from book withdrawal for the next couple of weeks. I lied. This book will leave you in mourning till you can get your hands on the final book. And also, please note, there will be spoilers in this review for the first book- YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

GUYS,  Marguerite and the gang come back and this time, the stakes are higher and the end game is personal. She is a phenomenal MC that learns more throughout this novel, as she learns the repercussions of her last travel through over universes and how really different each universe version her is- especially relationship wise.

In terms of the characters, we really get to see the darker versions of themselves in this novel, and it’s so wicked! It’s odd, but it puts into perspective their good qualities: their loyalty, their love, and devoution.

Story wise, I was not expecting things to go the way it did. In the first novel, we learned that her father really survived, and that his “death” was the end result of an alternate version of Theo causing some trouble for the family. BUT we NEVER really get to know why he did it- well sort of. We knew that Triad-verse Theo was working for Connelly, but as to WHY they needed Marguerite, was a huge mystery. We find out why in this book, and it is NOT AT ALL WHAT YOU ARE EXPECTING!

Overall, this novel was amazing, and I cannot wait for the finale! I really didn’t expect this book to end the way it did!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...