Friday, 13 January 2017

Exciting News!

Hey everyone, if you don't already know, I have a personal website called inlovelygrace, which is oriented around my life as a media student, my personal projects, and recommendations that aren't book related (eg. beauty, lifestyle and tv reviews). I've tried my best to keep both blog separate because it's just easier for me to focus on books here, and everything... else there!

But, I wanted to share the exciting news here with all of you as well!

If you don't already know, I am a Babas and Zacari brand ambassador! Barbas and Zacari is a leather watch and sunglasses company based in Australia, and they've reached out to me to help them with their campaign. If you buy a product from them, they donate $5 AUD to the Australian Cancer Research Foundation. 

I am so honoured to be chosen from Tas and all the Barbas and Zacari family to become an ambassador, I just wanted to let you all know and set you up with a code for 15% off: ALLISONTUBOSA.

So if you wanna get yourself a present, or a special someone a present, check them out here: barbasandzacari.com

CODE: ALLISONTUBOSA for 15% off!

Monday, 2 January 2017

New Year, New News

Hey everyone! Wow, it has been a long time since I've blogged on Sleepless Reads that I am taken aback by the new blogger format... I gotta say I like it. 

Anyways, my reviews will be coming (I always say that, but it is!)- I recorded a review on my laptop, and here's a screenshot from it:


I recorded this review for the House Between Tides with my laptop (hence the terrible quality), and DEAR LORD I AM SO AWKWARD IN FRONT OF THE CAMERA. I recorded this review before school started, and I was in the middle of moving, and it took me forever to edit because I just had so many awkward pauses and veered off script SO MANY TIMES.

BUT, I think I will be doing more video reviews because I got a new camera:


Meet my new baby- it's so beautiful!

Anyways, I have a bunch of reviews set for: Bright Smoke, Cold Fire, The Swan Riders, The Diabolic, and Scribe of Sienna. 

So they're coming-- don't worry! I'll do a Beyonce and surprise you all ;)

Have a nice day!

Tuesday, 15 November 2016

New Release

Hey everyone! If you haven't heard it yet, Ally Carter has a new novella about the Heist Society Crew called The Grift of the Magi, out today!

The novella is now available in the US and here in Canada, and the UK and Australia should be able to read it very soon!

It's an ebook format, is about 105 pages, and can be found on Amazon, iTunes, Chapters Indigo and Kobo.

Synopsis (From Goodreads):

Katarina Bishop is a thief. To many it wouldn’t matter that she now uses her considerable skills to re-steal valuable works of art and return them to their rightful homes. 

She’s still a thief. 

So that’s why Kat’s surprised when an Interpol agent comes to her one snowy evening, asking for Kat’s help. 

The Magi Miracle Network was set to auction off a very rare, very valuable Faberge egg two days before Christmas, but the egg’s been stolen and now the charity’s reputation—and their future—is on the line. 
Kat’s family and Interpol might be opposite sides of most jobs, but someone just stole Christmas. 

Now it’s up to Kat and her crew to steal it back. 

The Grift of the Magi is a Heist Society novella and is approximately half the length of the other novels in the series. It stands alone, but if you want read more about Kat and her crew check out Heist Society, Uncommon Criminals, and Perfect Scoundrels.


While I am swamped with work and an essay (due VERY SOON), I will be purchasing the novella this weekend, and my review for it will be up soon! I'm very excited for this new Heist novella, especially since we haven't had an Heist news in awhile. So this is a nice treat.

Monday, 6 June 2016

What I've Been Up To...

Let's Start of with a Hello... (it's me).

Hey everyone! It's been a real long time since I've blogged on my book blog, and I am really upset that I have been letting it go.

I have reviews lined up for WEEKS, considering I did keep up with reading while I was away. It's just a matter of going through my Goodreads account, figuring out which books I finished, and remembered what I loved, liked and disliked about each of them.

While I haven't blogged here in a long time, it doesn't mean I haven't given up on book blogging. In fact, book blogging is what got me into my university program in the first place, and because of my love books, reading and connecting with other readers, authors and publishers that I'm currently doing something that I absolutely love for the next four years (and subsequently, for the rest of my life)-- I will always be grateful for the blogger friends I've made, the author friends I've made and the cool people I've met while book blogging.

Although this sounds like a farewell post, it's not. I will be reviewing books for as long as I can, but at the moment I can't actually be posting as frequently-- unless I have it schedule and done beforehand.

This summer, I'm currently working (somewhat sprodic hours) at my part-time job, and doing a lot of unpaid internships for experience. I'm also collaborating with other students in my program for some awesome projects, as well as planning projects myself for the next couple months. Also, I'm trying to enjoy the next four months before I go back to school in September, as this may be the last summer I have off (officially. I figured out my credits situation and how I'm going to graduate in four years with my minor included. And it's going to be REALLY busy).

Why I've been such a ghost lately.

Like I said above, I haven't been blogging in awhile due to school, work, internships, projects and just enjoying my summer in general.

If you're wondering what type of program I'm in, I can tell you it's not a film program nor is it related to anything in the book publishing industry.

I'm currently studying Media Production at Ryerson University. I essentially learn everything in the broadcasting/film industry: from learning how to operate equipment to creating, producing and creating content; from doing graphic design to public relations. I do it all, and I love it, and it's made me busier than before.

A lot of what I do is unpaid at the moment, so when I'm not actually doing something for me, I'm working part-time to pay for school, bills and transportation expenses.

If you wanna see more of what I do, visit my portfolio site: http://pasunreve.wordpress.com

Thursday, 28 April 2016

WINNER!

Hello world, I am alive, yes, and back to tell you that the winner of the copy of the Rivals of Versailles by Sally Christie is no other than...

Susan (@suekitty13)

Thanks to all that entered, and please note, I really do apologize for not being able to update my blog. I have many reviews ready to go (I have been reading), but I literally just finished my first year of university, and have been super busy with getting my life back in order and actually sleeping. With that being said, reviews will be up soon- probably starting next weekend, because I am working this weekend, and will only be able to make posts after my Saturday shift!

Have a wonderful Thursday night!

Thursday, 7 April 2016

Blog Tour: Rivals of Versailles by Sally Christie + Giveaway


Author: Sally Christie
Release Date: April 5th, 2016
Publisher: Atria books
Status: Mistress of Versailles Trilogy #2

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
And you thought sisters were a thing to fear. In this compelling follow-up to Sally Christie's clever and absorbing debut, we meet none other than the Marquise de Pompadour, one of the greatest beauties of her generation and the first bourgeois mistress ever to grace the hallowed halls of Versailles.

I write this before her blood is even cold. She is dead, suddenly, from a high fever. The King is inconsolable, but the way is now clear.

The way is now clear.

The year is 1745. Marie-Anne, the youngest of the infamous Nesle sisters and King Louis XV's most beloved mistress, is gone, making room for the next Royal Favorite.

Enter Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson, a stunningly beautiful girl from the middle classes. Fifteen years prior, a fortune teller had mapped out young Jeanne's destiny: she would become the lover of a king and the most powerful woman in the land. Eventually connections, luck, and a little scheming pave her way to Versailles and into the King's arms.

All too soon, conniving politicians and hopeful beauties seek to replace the bourgeois interloper with a more suitable mistress. As Jeanne, now the Marquise de Pompadour, takes on her many rivals - including a lustful lady-in-waiting; a precocious fourteen-year-old prostitute, and even a cousin of the notorious Nesle sisters - she helps the king give himself over to a life of luxury and depravity. Around them, war rages, discontent grows, and France inches ever closer to the Revolution.

Enigmatic beauty, social climber, actress, trendsetter, patron of the arts, spendthrift, whoremonger, friend, lover, foe. History books may say many things about the famous Marquise de Pompadour, but one thing is clear: for almost twenty years, she ruled France and the King's heart.

Told in Christie's witty and modern style, this second book in the Mistresses of Versailles trilogy will delight and entrance fans as it once again brings to life the world of eighteenth century Versailles in all its pride, pestilence and glory.

Rivals of Versailles was a wonderfully crafted book. It tells the story of Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson, a middle class girl from 18th century France. She is beautiful, intelligent, and witty- which leads her to become the mistress of King Louis XV.

When I received the book from the publisher, I was very excited to read it, despite the fact that I have not read the first book. It's a book set in 18th century Versailles, which every YA historical junkie knows = drama, drama, DRAMA!

I really don't want to give anything away from this story, but I do want to say that Christie does a wonderful job portraying the life of Jeanne-Antoinette in creates a wonderful, heart-breaking, and impressionable tale. You see her life shift from a relatively normal life to a life of a mistress, and you also see the progression of king's reputation change, and slowly see the seeds of the revolution to follow two generations later happen.

It's a wonderful story, one that I recommend to all readers!


Giveaway
Win a copy of Rival of Versailles- OPEN TO CANADA ONLY!




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, 11 March 2016

Tour Announcement: Rivals of Versailles by Sally Christie + Giveaway

And so, after so long, I'm back! 

I've been [REALLY] busy with school, so I unfortunately been radio silent for the last... two or three... months? I have no clue how long I've actually been genuinely active (everything's been queued), but with the semester and my personal motivation for school dwindling down, I'm slowly easing my way back into blogging.

And as my first major blog post back, I'm proud to announce that I'm taking part of the Rivals of Versailles blog tour.

The novel is written by Sally Christie, and takes place in 18th century France. Here's the synopsis if you're curious:

The year is 1745 and King Louis XV’s bed is once again empty. Enter Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson, a beautiful girl from the middle classes. As a child, a fortune teller had told young Jeanne’s destiny: she would become the lover of a king and the most powerful woman in the land. Eventually connections, luck, and a little scheming pave her way to Versailles and into the King’s arms. Around them, war rages, discontent grows, and France inches ever closer to the Revolution.

Told in Christie's celebrated witty and modern style, The Rivals of Versailles will delight and entrance fans as it brings to life the court of Louis XV in all its pride, pestilence, and glory.

The novel releases on April 5th, and I'll be hosting on the 7th. I'll be posting my review AND giving away a finished copy of the novel as well.

Below is the tour announcement if you want more information!


Thursday, 10 March 2016

Review: Evanescent by Gabriella Lepore


Author: Gabriella Lepore
Release Date: March 15th, 2013
Publisher: Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing
Status: standalone

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

“Then it is settled,” Felix declared. “Come hell or high water, when this is all over, at least one of us here will not make it out alive.”

When Bronwen Snow is pulled from her cottage in the middle of the night, she finds herself seeking the help of three mysterious boys who reside in an abandoned castle deep in the hillside. With only a hasty handwritten note and a vague sense of dread to guide her, Bronwen is forced to put her trust in the eccentric and willful Felix Cavara and his eternal curse – immortality.

I was originally supposed to post this review for the blog tour hosted by Xpresso Books, but I however, was backtracked by pre-production, filming, and post-production for one of my television classes.

Anyways, I enjoyed this book for the most part- it was a pretty easy read. If I wasn’t really so busy, I actually would’ve finished the book in probably in a couple of hours. It was one of those novels that was really fast paced, where the characters were able to stick out, but since it was so fast, you didn’t really get to connect with the characters on an emotional level as much.

The action, the mystery/magic, and the characters really did make the story. I found the world easy to grasp, and the characters’ personalities really did make it enjoyable. For me, I feel like since it was such a fast read, a couple of plot twists and another sub-plot really would’ve made it just that much better. I was really getting a Raven’ Boys’ vibe from this entire novel, and it was just so good, I really wish it wasn’t that short.

Anyways, it was a good book. I give it 3.5 out of 5 stars.




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...