Friday, 30 August 2013

Fangirl Friday: Falco da Padova from The Secrets of Eternal Rose Series (#2)

Last week, I was lucky to get a reply from actor/dancer Nate Shaw who was willing to do an impromptu interview with me on twitter, but alas, my luck has run out and unfortunately I wasn't able to get a reply from anyone! (Conor Maynard, Dominic Sherwood, Ed Holcroft, and Michael Fjordbak, I'm looking at you!).

Falco da Padova (portrayed in the book trailer)
Instead, I decided to feature Falco da Padova, a character from one of my new favourite YA Historical Trilogy, Secrets of the Eternal Rose! The trilogy currently consists of Venom and Belladonna, with the final book Starling coming out on March 20th, 2014.

The series revolves around Cassandra 'Cass' Caravello, a fifteen year old noble woman from Venice, Italy currently living on a tiny island outside of the famous city- surrounded by a graveyard. Her parents are dead, her fiancé Luca da Peraga is in France studying law, and her best friend Liviana Greco has just died. She meets Falco da Padova, a swoon-worthy artist with a knack for getting into trouble by chance.

Together, they embark in a series of adventures to solve Jack-the-Ripper like crimes while learning more about the real Venice and it's dirty and dark secrets. As the series continues, their relationship changes drastically as Cass seems destined to live her life putting her feelings aside and making decisions based on what's better for everyone else, and Falco is on his way to become a true artist.

The trilogy is currently on it's second book, Belladonna, right now and (without giving any spoilers) has left all the characters walking on a tight rope relationship wise. Although the trilogy is at its climax at the moment, one thing is for sure: Falco is a constant throughout all three books, and spices up the story line by bringing his Italian Renaissance mysterious-ness and hotness!

Michael Fjordbak as Falco da Padova
 
So here's a bit of info about Mr. Mysterious and Sexy himself, Falco da Padova!
  • He is seventeen years old
  • He has curly brown hair and eyes as blue as the Adriatic
  • He is an artist; he loves to paint and draw
  • He has a scar underneath his right eye
  • He was born outside of Padua, Italy
What makes this fictional character worthy of today's Fangirl Friday? Well, other than his ability of being super hot, he's totally sarcastic and to the point!

He tells it like it is, and if you don't get it, he'll tease you relentlessly! Despite being born in the 1500s and fictional, he is totally down-to-earth and doesn't really think much for the luxurious life. He understands that no matter what social standing your from, there are pros and there are cons!

Falco also has a little bit of a bad boy side: he get's into fist fights, drinks and was once a tomb raider (yeah, he totally gives Laura Croft a run for her money!). But what makes his character so amazing is that all his layers (yes, even that annoying part of him that he keeps guarded) makes him a relatable and likable character (Luca fans, give me a sec here).

Sure, he's a bad boy that's too mysterious for his good; sure, he may pull at the heartstrings of all the women around him; sure, he may be annoying as hell sometimes; and sure, he may not be a stable guy. However all of those flaws make him real character and make him a real person. Cass may be the narrator of the trilogy, but Falco is definitely the heart. He's a guy with a shady past who tries his hardest to make things right. He may not be reliable and stable as Luca, but he is a hero in his own right.

FAVOURITE QUOTE:
 
"Let me go," she said. "Or I'll scream"
Falco released her. "Please, not that again. My head still hurts from the last time." (Venom)
 
FAVOURITE SCENE: When Falco and Cass see each other for the first time in Belladonna
 
FAVOURITE QUALITY: His sarcastic sense of humor. For example, the graveyeard conversation at the beginning of Venom:
 
"I discovered a dead body." Hearing the words brought back the true gravity of the situation, and panic shot through her all over again. She hugged her arms across her body to keep form trembling.
 
Falco laughed tersely. He made a sweeping motion with his hand. "Of course you have, my dear. We are literally surrounded by the dead."

Wednesday, 28 August 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Hurt (#2)


12946782Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Why? is the burning question on everyone’s lips. Why would a guy like Mathéo Walsh want to die? At seventeen, he is Britain’s most promising diving champion. He is a heartthrob, a straight A student and lives in one of the wealthiest areas of London. He has great mates and is the envy of everyone around him. And most importantly of all, he is deeply in love with his girlfriend, Lola. He has always been a stable, well-adjusted guy...

Until one weekend. A weekend he cannot seem to remember. All he knows is that he has come back a changed person. One who no longer knows how to have fun, no longer wants to spend time with his friends, no longer enjoys diving. Something terrible happened that weekend – something violent and bloody and twisted. He no longer knows who he is. He no longer trusts himself around people: he only wants to hurt, wound and destroy. Slowly, he begins to piece back the buried, fragmented memories, and finds himself staring at the reflection of a monster.

Tormented, Mathéo suddenly finds himself faced with the most devastating choice of his life. Keep his secret, and put those closest to him in terrible danger. Or confess, and lose Lola forever...


Tabitha Suzuma's new YA contemporary will be out September 5th, 2013 and is at the top of my wishlist. I don't know why it is though; I know very well that this story will make me cry like a baby (Forbidden had me and my mom in mourning period for days), as well as keep me on my toes. Unlike Forbidden, I sense that there will be a bit more of the mystery vibe in this novel since Mathéo loses his memory about 'that weekend'. I'm really curious to see what really happened to be honest, and how that will tie in with his girlfriend Lola. The most logical explanation is that his distance will ruin their relationship, but I'm always up for a plot twist. Maybe whatever happened that weekend may have had ties with someone close to Lola, I don't know. With contemporary novels, I try to steer away with the norm and always come up with the weirdest scenarios (it may be due to the fact that most of the books that I read are dystopian or paranormal series). I'm super excited, yet terrified, to read Suzuma's new novel because I know very well that it will leave me in an emotional wreck like the last time!

You can read the first four chapters here at her website: http://www.tabithasuzuma.com/#/h-u-r-t/4565532969

Saturday, 24 August 2013

Saturday Spotlight: Ally Carter

 
Today's Saturday Spotlight (if you didn't get it from the title) is Ally Carter!



What makes Ally Carter worthy of this Saturday Spotlight? Here are a little facts:
  • She's a New York Times Best-Selling Author
  • She's the author of the Gallagher Girl Series and the Heist Society Series, making her YA the author of 9 YA books (and counting)
  • She's currently working on a new series called Embassy Row
  • She's totally connected with her fans; she even released an E-Book crossover about the characters from her two series called Double Crossed (you can download it FOR FREE at spiesandthieves.com)
  • From her tweets, she's totally down-to-earth; born and raised in Oklahoma, a farm girl at heart, and a total sucker for treats. And working out is just a struggle for her (and for me too).
I am a huge fan of the Gallagher Girls and Heist Society series (I am totally a Goode girl and a Haler), and I'm counting down the days till the release of United We Spy (the 6th and final book in the Gallagher Girls series) on September 17th; that day will mark the end of the GG era, something I'm both looking forward to and dreading at the same time. But what makes Ally today's Saturday Spotlight is not because she's an amazing author (which she is-if you read her books, you would know. If you don't, you should!), but because she's a preacher when it comes to the adaptions of YA movies.

On August 6th, Ally posted a drabble type post on Tumblr (here: http://theallycarter.tumblr.com/post/57632934424/on-hollywood-doubters-and-voting-with-your-wallet) explaining why so many YA books are optioned and yet so few are actually made. When I read it, I understood the message...yet there were still many people complaining why ___ series was being made but not ___ series...really guys?

That's what I love about her: she down-to-earth and is ready to tell it like it is. She's an amazing writer and understands why Hollywood isn't about the YA movie life. She's an author, a YA adaptations movie preacher (in my opinion), and a genuinely good person. This is why Ally Carter is today's Saturday Spotlight!

Friday, 23 August 2013

Fangirl Friday: Nathan Shaw from Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters (#1)

Since the release of the Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters Teaser Trailer, there has been A LOT of press attention going on around on the world (Perez Hilton guys, he's on the bandwagon! Can we talk about how awesome that is?!?). Director Mark Waters, lead actress Zoey Deutch, author Richelle Mead, The Vampire Academy producers on @OfficialVAMovie and actor Dominic Sherwood (*sighs dreamily*) have been answering a lot of questions and giving the world a little insight as to how awesome the movie is, how it won't be like Twilight (which it most definitely won't), and how amazing it was working with one another.

While all of that is exciting and cool, I always wanted to know to how a supporting actor of the film was reacting with all of the hype. Fortunately for me, I got a chance to talk with one of these actors in an impromptu Question and Answer. Ladies and Gentlemen, may I introduce you to my very first Fangirl Friday interview with ..........
Nathan Shaw:


 
 
 
Pretty good looking, eh? Nathan Shaw is a talented actor, dancer and Michael Jackson fan from Wakefield, West Yorkshire. He was born October 9th, 1990, and is (in my opinion) the definition of what hard work, passion and perseverance can get you in life. His first professional job was at 15, playing a younger version of Robson Green on a TV production called 'Northern Lights', before moving to London to kick his career into overdrive. In 2011, he also got a chance to work at  prestigious 'Tokyo Disney Resort' in Japan, playing various roles for 13 months like the Mad Hatter (and even in costume, he's still good looking :D):
 
Nate as the Mad Hatter.
 


He will be playing a Dhampir in Blood Sisters, and will be attending the AMDA (American Musical and Dramatic Academy) in the Fall! Here's my interview with Nate! Enjoy!






Thank you once again to Nathan Shaw who took time out of his busy schedule to talk to me! Follow him on twitter: @Nath_Shaw and his cousin @MarcDrye (singer songwriter).

Till next time! :)
 


Thursday, 22 August 2013

Bonjour, World!

It's me, Allison Grace (also known as @VACanadaNews or @missyallydums97) joining the blogging world so you can get more up-to-date with all things Vampire Academy and fangirl related! What I learned so far is that there are A LOT of Vampire Academy fans around the world, but I find that there isn't enough VA hype up here in Canada :(

And honestly, that's not right.

I'll be doing a lot of cool stuff leading up to the Vampire Academy premiere on February 14th, 2014, but that won't be my only main focus on this blog!
 
I'm an avid reader and writer, and I'll be posting reviews of books and a lot of fangirl-y rants, so stay tuned!
 
If you want to read a previous article I did on Vampire Academy, you can check it out bellow! Or follow me on Twitter (names above and in the 'About Me' box)!
 
I'm a first time blogger, so if you have any tips for me on improving my (pretty non-existent) skills, let me know on twitter or on the comment box bellow! Please keep your opinions positive, I really don't want any negativity on this thing!
 
 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...