Thursday, 26 September 2013

Throw Back Thursday: Henderson's Boys

It's Throw Back Thurday!

And we're throwing back to 2009 to the release of the first book of the Henderson's Boys series, The Escape.

4223020

Synopsis (from Goodreads):


It is the summer of 1940, Hitler's army is advancing towards Paris, and millions of French civilians are on the run. Amid the chaos, two British children are being hunted by German agents. British spy Charles Henderson tries to reach them first, but he can only do it with the help of a 12-year-old French orphan. The British secret service is about to discover that kids working undercover will help to win the war. For official purposes, these children do not exist

Favourite Character: Marc Kilgour :D
Favourite Scene: When Henderson first meets Marc and saves him from the Gestapo.
Overall Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars




Synopsis (from Goodreads):


It is late summer, 1940, and Hitler has conquered France. Now he intends to cross the Channel and defeat Britain before winter arrives. A group of young refugees led by British spy Charles Henderson faces a stark choice—to head south into the safety of neutral Spain, or go north on a risky mission to sabotage the German invasion plans. For official purposes, these children do not exist.

Favourite Character: PT Bivott
Favourite Scene: When Paul manages to knock PT out after he tries to escape from the safe house.
Overall Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

Synopsis (from hendersonsboys.com):

Charles Henderson is back home in Britain, but will the military establishment allow him to enact a plan to train teenagers as spies?

Favourite Character: Marc Kilgour
Favourite Scene: the first ever mention of Mac (aka when his mom announces that she's pregnant)
Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 stars






Synopsis (from Goodreads):

APRIL 1941

With no European allies, Britain has to ship fuel, weapons and more than half of its food across the Atlantic from Canada and the United States. But slow moving cargo vessels make easy prey for packs of German submarines.

Henderson and a team of young agents must go undercover to sabotage German U-Boat operations. If they dont succeed, the British people face starvation.


Favourite Character: Paul Clarke
Favourite Scene: When Henderson tells the girl in the lighthouse that Marc's his wife
Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 stars





11598566

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

One of Henderson's best agents is being held captive in Frankfurt. A set of forged record cards could be his ticket to freedom, but might just as easily become his death warrant. A vital mission awaits him in France—if he can find a way to escape.

Favourite Character: Marc Kilgour <3 <3 <3
Favourite Scene: Mostly the beginning, because Vogel is so nice to Marc. Oh, and when he meets Maxine again.
Overall Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars









13198744

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Spring, 1943.

The war is turning against Germany, but Hitler isn't giving up. In a secret bunker deep in occupied France, scientists are hard at work on Hitler's latest deadly weapon: code name FZG-76. Back in England Henderson's boys will need to undergo advanced sniper training if they have any chance of infiltrating the bunker. Parachuting into occupied France, they track down a secret dossier filled with invaluable material and uncover the meaning of the enigmatic code.

Favourite Character: Marc Kilgour
Favourite Scene: I can't really decided on a favourite scene.
Overall Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars


14061320

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

JUNE 1944

The allies have landed in Northern France. Henderson and his team embark on a mission to, sabotage German supply lines.

But the retreating Nazis are at their most brutal and desperate, which will make Henderson's Boys final mission their most dangerous.


Favourite Character: ALL OF THEM! Especially Rosie...
Favourite Scene: THE EPILOGUE! If that counts...
Overall Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars




Just like the Gallagher Girls series, the Henderson's Boys series is one that I grew up with, and was sad to see end.

I started reading the series back in 2009, and to be honest with you, I didn't really want to read it. But immediately, I fell in love with the series. I love Robert's style of writing, and he is one of the few male authors that I enjoy and read by choice (most of the guy writers I read are due to the English department curriculum).

I think what really drew me to the series was the fact that it was set in World War II and it wasn't a survival story (well, not entirely; there is a lot of trying to keep alive in these books!), but I rebellion story to fight for a greater good.

So thank you Robert Muchamore for being one of my favourite guy writers and the mastermind behind one of my favourite series. I loved the Henderson's Boys from begininng to end (although I would've preferred Marc marrying me).

Wednesday, 25 September 2013

Heaven by Alexandra Adornetto: Review

13056511Heaven

Pages: 417
Release Date: August 21st, 2012
Status: Final installment of the Halo Trilogy
Recieved From: My school library

Synopsis (from Goodreads): 

Only sixteen when she started the series, Ally Adornetto knows how teen hearts beat, and this long-awaited conclusion is certain to be her most popular book yet.

Bethany, an angel sent to Earth, and her mortal boyfriend, Xavier, have been to Hell and back. But now their love will be put to its highest test yet, as they defy Heavenly law and marry. They don’t tell Beth’s archangel siblings, Gabriel and Ivy, but the angels know soon enough, and punishment comes in a terrifying form: the Sevens, who are rogue angels bent on keeping Beth and Xavier apart, destroying Gabriel and Ivy, and darkening angelic power in the heavens.

The only way Bethany and can elude the Sevens is to hide in the open, and blend in with other mortals their own age. Gabriel and Ivy set them up at college, where they can’t reveal their relationship, and where there is still danger around each corner. Will Bethany be called back to Heaven – forever – and face leaving the love of her life?


Let me just start of my post by saying, Alexandra Adornetto, even though this series ended, I'd still like to thank you for making such a great series!

Now for the review...

Heaven is the final instalment of the Halo Trilogy. To be honest with you, I didn't know if I was going to even like the first book, but here I am now, feeling a little sad knowing that this is the final Halo review.

The book literally starts off where Hades left off. After the ground starts shaking in book 2, it stops like on the first line or something in Heaven.

Beth and Xavier, knowing that it's now or never to get married, rush to the Church. Thankfully, they have the priest and witness ready to marry them, but their happy mood is suddenly ruined when the reaper takes away the priest's soul. Gabriel and Ivy soon barge in and put Xavier and Beth into hiding.

They hide for awhile in a very secluded area before being moved to a university in Oxford, Mississippi called Ole Miss (one question, is that a real school or is it made up?). But unfortunately for them, the Seven and some very vengeful villains return when they least expect it, and the group has to do a lot to keep each other safe.

In the end, Beth has to make the ultimate decision and sacrifice to be with Xavier. But is love really all that powerful?

This book was very speedy plot wise. There was so much going on that I seriously lost track of how much time went by, that by the end of the book, I was just trying to process if that much time had really passed and I missed it. Like at the end, we even saw some characters disappear (what ever happened to Ivy? And Nikki?).

HOWEVER, I was NOT expecting any visitors from book 2. I seriously thought we were done with that, but I was just like blindsided by that that I was just like "Oh my gosh, Ally just Moffated me!". Well played Adornetto, well played. And she did it again when the Best Kept Secret was finally revealed! I was like:

You don't even know how Moffated I felt.

I wasn't really happy how the university experience just was sort of meshed together. There was a point where I was so happy that the two were going to uni, but as the plot progressed, I just found it unneeded for. But in the end, it just made me feel sad because of Beth (I'm not going into detail, but for all those who have read the trilogy should know what I mean!).

I wasn't all too happy about the end too, it just finished waaaaay too fast. It was like the beginning was slow, the middle was like heart stopping, and as we drew closer to the end of the book it sort of fell flat. I think it probably had to do with the fact it was only 417 pages. If it was a little longer, I think things would've wrapped up beautifully.

However, Adornetto was able to end the trilogy in a satisfying way, and ended the same way it began with the characters we loved.

Heaven wasn't as dark as Hades but it was darker than Halo. It was a pretty in between book for me, but still had the same awesome wit and dialogue that I love.

What I loved the most about the series is the way that Adornetto can write the Archangels with such hilarious personalities. I really loved Raphael the most:

"You're prettier than I imagined you," Raphael said.


 

"Uh...thank you," I said. "But I don't really..."


 

"Wait, wait, I've got one," he interrupted. "Somebody better call God. Because Heaven's missing an angel!"


 

He burst out laughing and slapped his thigh.


 

"What? I demanded.


 

"I found a book," Raphael explained. "One hundred best pickup lines."



-page 246, Heaven


#FACT: Archangel Raphael reads pickup line books.
Like 100% to you Adornetto! A plus, plus! Raphael was amazing! I really wished we got to know him more.

Overall, this book was amazing. Admittedly, it wasn't a series that I was expecting to ever read, but I am glad I did. Yes, I will agree with those that say the series is all about Beth and Xavier. But think about it guys: yes, the book may be centred around their relationship, but it is also centred around love and what it really means to have faith in yourself, your family, your friends and your other half.

An great ending to a wonderful series: 3 out of 5 stars!

Tuesday, 24 September 2013

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare: Review

7171637<a href="http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/10776667/?claim=tk6a3h9jn2y">Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Clockwork Angel

Author: Cassandra Clare
Pages: 479
Status: 1st book in the Infernal Devices series
Release Date: August 31, 2010
Recieved From: My school library

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them....


Let me just begin my post by saying that I didn't go to bed till late at night (or early the next morning depending on how you look at it).

I had read the City of Bones and the City of Ashes when they first came out...and that was pretty much it for me. I didn't read City of Glass, and haven't really gotten to buy or borrowing the book. But I always meant to get back to the series-I SWEAR!

Anyways, Clockwork Angel was freaking amazing! I've always wanted to read The Infernal Devices, but I always felt guilty for not finishing the Mortal Instrument. But I saw Clockwork Angel and I HAD to take it (the books always seem to disappear in my school's library).

The story starts off with Will and Jem discovering a body of a dead girl in the streets of Victorian London. Immediately, they suspect the murder probably had Downworlders involved, and Will takes it upon himself to solve the mystery.

We are then introduced to Tessa, who has arrived on a steamer, expecting to be picked up by her older brother, Nate, but is instead picked up by the Dark Sisters, Mrs. Black and Mrs. Dark, who claim that her brother had told them to pick her up.

It then skips to a couple weeks later, where Tessa has been kept locked up in the Dark Sisters house and has been forced to tap into powers she didn't know she possessed: shape-shifting. She later escapes from the house after being rescued by the ever gorgeous, sexy and mysterious William Herondale.

Tessa soon finds herself at the doorstep of the London Institute and the mercy of the Enclave, where she is thrown into a world of mystery and deadly secrets.

I'm not going to say anything more (don't want any spoilers), but if you wanna know more, GO READ THE SERIES!
 
What I loved about this series is that it has brought back my love for the Mortal Instruments series, and now I'm really upset that I stopped at the City of Glass.
Clockwork Angel lived up to it's reputation. The plot was wonderful, the characters were amazing, and there was a lot of foreshadowing with the future books and the Mortal Instruments (which I liked).

What I love is the plot! OH THE BEAUTIFUL PLOT! I don't know what kept me reading: to find out if they'll figure out who the Magister is in time, what really happened to Nate, if Charlotte and Benedict, or Will and Gabriel, would kill each other or something, I don't know. The book was so compelling and beautifully written that I was completely enthralled! 

I especially loved the characters, and as I progressed, I that guilt I felt for not finishing TMI just started to eat me alive!

I love Tessa: she's badass, a bookworm, and she's got some pretty awesome powers. And not to mention, she has some pretty awesome comebacks:

Jessamine ignored him. "Is it dreadful, being so evil? Are you worried you'll go to Hell?" She leaned in closer to Tessa. "What do you think the Devil's like?"


 

Tessa set her fork down. "Would you like to meet him? I could summon him up in a trice of you like. Being a warlock, and all."

-page 68, Clockwork Angel


Like if I was there, I would've being letting out a whoop of laughter like Will (if I wasn't, you know, drooling all over him).
Will and Jem are so beautiful together. I love the way they compliment each other. But I just hate being torn between the two (it's my heartache for Jace and Simon all over again...dang)! Although, I can tell you I could've used a little more Magnus Bane. But he was in the book, and I'm fine with that (because it's just not right if Magnus isn't in it). 

The only character I didn't like was Jessmine. I don't know, I guess it was her description and the way that she acted that just made me think of her as a doll half the time, and whenever she had any lines, I would read them in the highest pitched voice I can ever muster. I just didn't like her, especially at the end after what happened with Thomas. That was tragic.
My favourite character though has got to be Henry. He's just so...I don't know. Sometimes I would get upset because he was so oblivious to Charlotte and how she felt, but there would be times where he was affectionate. I think what makes him my favourite character is the fact that he's so much like the 11th Doctor. Think about it: he's always locked up somewhere, working on something crazy; he's wife is strong and takes control of everything; and he's very puppy and childlike. But at the same time, he can take control of the situation and be the Shadowhunter he is and you can tell he does care about his wife. The only main difference is that Henry's ginger, and the Doctor will never be ginger (sorry Doctor).




But seriously, Clockwork Angel was beautiful, and I'm so happy to say that I was able to get the second book from my school's library! YAY! Hopefully, I'll be able to get my hands on TMI really soon.

Overall, 3.5 stars out of 5 for Clockwork Angel! 

Saturday, 21 September 2013

Blogger Life: Book Haul (#1)

It's Saturday and the end of summer! I'm actually more of a fall person (because, who isn't a fan of wearing big, comfy sweaters?), but sadly, I'm not as hyped for fall as I thought I would be. No, it's not because it's raining like crazy here, but because I have a book problem.

Currently, I'm reading these books:


 
I have already started reading Heaven by Alexandra Adornetto and Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare (and I'm in love with both), and I will be starting Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Lani Taylor real soon! (I will probably be finished Heaven and CoA by tonight, considering I don't have any homework ^_^).

But that's not my book problem. I have enough books to keep me busy for probably a little over a week (homework problems...sighs...), but the books in the second picture (excluding Daughter of Smoke and Bone) aren't the books that I have reserved. Sure, I've always wanted to read them (I heard Harlan Coben is awesome. I hope he won't go Moffat on me though), but the ones on my list still haven't arrived from the library and it's almost been a MONTH!

My school library isn't very updated (but I have given my librarian a list of books to get), but the public library is the worst! I'm happy that I get books for free and I'm happy that I can renew these books and keep them longer than my school's library system, but they are just so slow!

I get the wait list thing, and I'm fine with that! I just HATE it when they put a book that you really want to read in the library system, get you to reserve it, and later find out that it's not in the system!
Like why do you torture me like that? And then when you go to check on when they'll have it, it just says AVAILABLE SOON. Thanks library, THANKS A LOT! How am I to borrow books for free if you don't even have it/ won't tell us when you'll have it?

Now, I guess I just have to wait. And update my resume and hope I can get a job. I really need more books, my poor bookshelf hasn't been updated in awhile.

Friday, 20 September 2013

Fandom Friday

Happy Fandom Friday everybody! Instead of the Fangirl Friday that I had originally planned to do, I decided to dedicate this post to my fandoms!


1. Love and Loyalty Run Deeper than Blood

Vampire Academy: With over 8 million books sold world-wide, a 6 book spin off series, and a movie to premiere on February 14th, 2014, the Vampire Academy is one of my all time favourite series and Fandoms.

The Books:
There are 6 books in the series: Vampire Academy, Frostbite, Shadow Kiss, Blood Promise, Spirit Bound and Last Sacrifice. Despite it's name, it is NOT your typical vampire story!

The Vampire Academy series revolves around 17 year old half vampire, half human (also known as a Dhampir), Rose Hathaway. She has been trained all her life to protect and guard her vampire BFF Lissa Dragomir. After an accident that bonded them psychically, Rose and Lissa escape the walls of their school St. Vladimir's, only to be dragged back by Dimitri Belikov...who happens to be Lissa's new guardian. Together, the two face many hardships: social discrimination, psychological issues, bad romances, betrayal and enemies that make the Volturi hide in a corner.

The books are amazing, and what drew me to Vampire Academy was it's complexity; there's romance, there's humour, there's adventure, there's self-discovery, and there's growing up.
Richelle Mead uses her talented writing skills to bring out the human side of this vampiric world she has created, and brings you on a journey along with the characters.

I highly recommend this series to anyone that hasn't read it! And if you know ANYONE that has read this series, they will tell you that this series is amazing and  WORTH the read.

Despite the series ending in 2010, the world of Vampire Academy lives on. Bloodlines (the spin-off series), tells the story of side characters from Vampire Academy, and features cameos from the previous series! So if you're looking for a fix before the movie, I suggest you give the sound off series a try. There are three books out now: Bloodlines, the Golden Lily, the Indigo Spell, and the fourth book, the Fiery Heart will debut November 19th, 2013.

SO JUMP ON THE BANDWAGON, THERE'S STILL TIME!

The Movie:

Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters (the name of the movie) will be out on February 14th, 2014. Also known as Valentine's Day. But I guess it won't compare to VA Day :D

The movie stars Zoey Deutch as Rose Hathaway (Beautiful Creatures), Lucy Fry (Lightning Point), and Danila Kozlovsky (We Are From The Future). The movie will also star Gabriel Byrne, Cameron Monaghan (Shameless), Dominic Sherwood (The Cut), Sami Gayle (Blue Bloods), Olga Kurylenko, and Sarah Hyland (Modern Family).


I AM SO HYPED!


With Vampire Academy being one of my favourite series of all time, I am seriously excited that the book to movie adaptation is FINALLY being made.

According to interviews with Mark Waters (Mean Girls), Daniel Waters (Heathers), and Richelle Mead herself, the movie is VERY loyal to the book. I mean, look at the trailer:
 
And another thing I love is the cast! I mean, they're all pretty good look and they've all got some serious acting chops (they're résumés are all impressive. Good job casting!). But the one thing that I love is that they are totally interactive with their fans. I even got a chance to do an impromptu interview with one of their Dhampirs, Nate Shaw!

It was pretty cool. Now only if I can get Dominic Sherwood to notice me...
 
 

2. Bowties are Cool


Doctor Who is like the fandom of fandoms. You have people from other fandoms in this fandom, and it's pretty amazing.

Now, I didn't grow up watching classic Doctor Who (sorry, my family didn't own a TV while growing up & didn't get this awesome experience), but I have been a loyal fan of the series for a while. I have a love for the new Doctors (yes, I'm an Eleven, sorry Tens!), but have a lot of respect for the Classic Doctor Who (they kept it running for 26 seasons!).

What I love about Doctor Who is the action and the adventures, but most of all, I love how it makes me feel like a little kid again. Whenever I watch Doctor Who and watch as the Doctor takes out the sonic screwdriver, I just...I feel like I'm a kid again, believing that super heroes do exist and that there's one out there for me.

I just love Doctor Who. I just do. I'm just really upset that I have basic cable now and won't be able to watch the 50th Anniversary special OR the Christmas special D:


3. 221B Baker Street


I promised myself that if I can't live in a TARDIS, I'll live in a house with the number 221 and add a 'B' on later. Or live on a street called 'Baker Street'.

BBC's Sherlock is another fandom of mine. I love the show for various reasons, but Moffat penning it is not one of them (like seriously dude, how could you end Series 2 like that?).

 

From the acting to the mystery and to the modern day spin, I love Sherlock so much (#Sherlocked), I tried (and failed)  reading the original books to get an understanding of the characters, like Moriarty.

4. When All Shall Know the Truth, the Truth Shall Set ye Free

IT'S OVEEEEEEEERRRR! AND I FEEL SO ALONE!
Well, no not quite really, but it really IS over.

Yup, the final book of Gallagher Girls series (by Ally Carter), United We Spy, just released this Tuesday. I haven't gotten it yet, but I heard there some HUGE plot twists!

I have yet to read the book, but when I do, I'll do a much more lengthy (and nostalgic) post of my love and adoration for the series.

Like seriously, I started reading the series when I was twelve. That was four years ago. FOUR YEARS! I feel so old now :(

But seriously, this fandom is the British Bombshell, and I think the reason why I haven't picked up the series yet is because I just don't want it to end!

Sadly, Trenzalore calls...oh wait, wrong fandom.

 

5. William? Walter? Wesley?
 






Another series by Ally Carter, Heist Society stole me from my heart the second I heard that the protagonist was about a thief named Kat (I giggled when I first read that).

Unlike it's Gallagher counterpart, there is no big story arch tying all the books together. It's a series of books that tell the adventure of Kat Bishop, a girl of a family of thieves, and how she navigates the man dominated world of stealing.

I personally enjoy Ally's style of writing; it's clean and isn't totally all doom and gloom like most of the YA series I have read.

It does, however, feature a very handsome billionaire that goes by Scooter (which is weird because his intials are W.W).




 

6. No one is falling down before any angels today

Fiona Paul (aka Paula Stokes) is one of my new favourite authors! Her debut book, Venom, literally just took me away!

It's YA Historical, set in Renaissance Italy, the Secrets of the Eternal Rose trilogy tells the story of Cassandra 'Cass' Caravello, a 15 year old girl from Venice craving for freedom. Instead, danger and adventure seem to find her after she goes out late at night to visit her dead friend in her tomb. Cass grows throughout the series, learning a lot about herself, her family, and solving unanswered questions that have left her as an orphan: what really happened to her family? Who or what is the Order of the Eternal Rose?

If you love the Gemma Doyle trilogy, The Stravaganza series or the Cross My Heart books, this series is definitely the one for you!

 
So that's it for me for Fandom Friday!

My next review will probably be Monday or Tuesday, and will either be on my farewell to the Halo trilogy or my new found love for the Infernal Devices series. And don't forget to follow me on @missyallydums97!
!
(Igonore the "Don't Die" part :3)

Thursday, 19 September 2013

Throw Back Thursday: the Modern Faerie Tale series by Holly Black



It's my first Throw Back Thursday!

Today we're going back to 2004 with the release of the first book in the Modern Faerie Tale series, Tithe by the amazingly talented, amazingly awesome Holly Black!

46777
Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad. Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother's rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms - a struggle that could very well mean her death.

Favourite character: Kaye
Favourite line: "Kiss my ass, Rath Roiben Rye."
Overall Rating: 4.5 stars





266607



Synopsis (from Goodreads):


When seventeen-year-old Valerie runs away to New York City, she's trying to escape a life that has utterly betrayed her. Sporting a new identity, she takes up with a gang of squatters who live in the city's labyrinthine subway system.

But there's something eerily beguiling about Val's new friends.
And when one talks Val into tracking down the lair of a mysterious creature with whom they are all involved, Val finds herself torn between her newfound affection for an honorable monster and her fear of what her new friends are becoming.


Favourite character: Luis...Val...NO LUIS!....Val?...I can't decide :(
Favourite line: “You carried my heart in your hands tonight," he said. "But I have felt as if you carried it long before that.”
Overall rating: 3.5 stars



283494Synopsis (from Goodreads):

In the realm of Faerie, the time has come for Roiben's coronation. Uneasy in the midst of the malevolent Unseelie Court, pixie Kaye is sure of only one thing -- her love for Roiben. But when Kaye, drunk on faerie wine, declares herself to Roiben, he sends her on a seemingly impossible quest. Now Kaye can't see or speak to Roiben unless she can find the one thing she knows doesn't exist: a faerie who can tell a lie.

Miserable and convinced she belongs nowhere, Kaye decides to tell her mother the truth -- that she is a changeling left in place of the human daughter stolen long ago. Her mother's shock and horror sends Kaye back to the world of Faerie to find her human counterpart and return her to Ironside. But once back in the faerie courts, Kaye finds herself a pawn in the games of Silarial, queen of the Seelie Court. Silarial wants Roiben's throne, and she will use Kaye, and any means necessary, to get it. In this game of wits and weapons, can a pixie outplay a queen?

Holly Black spins a seductive tale at once achingly real and chillingly enchanted, set in a dangerous world where pleasure mingles with pain and nothing is exactly as it appears.


Favourite character: Loved Kaye in this book, but I loved Luis and Corny the most.
Favourite line: "Maybe it's good we split up. I mean, as far as boyfriends go, he was always working. Running an evil court takes a lot of time."
Overall rating: 4 stars

Holly Black is literally the reason why I started reading more and why I started writing. Once I finished the Spiderwick Chronicles in the fourth grade, I started looking for more books that could ever live up to the series. When I learned that Holly herself had her own series apart from Spiderwick, young me had my first fangirl moment.

Being nine-ish/ten-ish at the time, I had a hard time getting used to the vocabulary and older writing style; I didn't know that I was reading Young Adult at the time.

However, if I didn't read Tithe, I probably wouldn't have gotten into  the YA paranormal/fantasy books that I so adore till this day!

So thank you Holly Black! And if you haven't read these books yet, go out and buy them now! You'll fall in love and find yourself so emersed in the world!

Happy Thursday guys!

Wednesday, 18 September 2013

Hades by Alexandra Adornetto: Review

9666812Hades


Pages: 424
Release Date: August 30th, 2011
Status: Book #2 in the Halo Trilogy

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Heaven Help Her.

Bethany Church is an angel sent to Earth to keep dark forces at bay. Falling in love was never part of her mission, but the bond between Beth and her mortal boyfriend, Xavier Woods, is undeniably strong. But even Xavier’s love, and the care of her archangel siblings, Gabriel and Ivy, can’t keep Beth from being tricked into a motorcycle ride that ends up in Hell. There, the demon Jake Thorn bargains for Beth’s release back to Earth. But what he asks of her will destroy her, and quite possibly, her loved ones, as well.

The story that Alexandra Adornetto built in her New York Times - bestselling debut, Halo, comes alive in action-packed and unexpected ways, as angels battle demons, and the power of love is put to the test.


After reading Halo I was really eager to get this book and learn what happens after the crazy events at the end of book 1.

Hades takes place a few months after the events of Halo. No one remembers the events of the last book (excluding Beth, her family, and Xavier), and all of them think that everything is back to normal...until Beth and her friends do a séance and release Jake Thorn's evilness back to earth.

He disguises himself as one of Xavier's friends and tricks Beth into thinking that he is Xavier. The next thing Beth knows is that she is stuck in Hades, with no one to save her but herself.

I LOVED this book! It is my favourite so far! I love the character development in Beth and how she is able to come into her own and save herself. She isn't 100% completely there yet, but the strength she exhibited gives me high hopes for her development in the third book, Heaven (which I've currently put on hiatus due school and finishing Clockwork Angel!).

Another thing I loved in this book is the pace of the plot! The first book felt divided for me plot wise: the beginning about Xavier and Beth's relationship, and the ending about Jake Thorn reeking havoc in Venus Cove. The plot in this book is absolutely amazing; I couldn't put the book down and ended up finishing the book in 7 hours! 

My absolute, favourite thing about this book (and the series in general) are the characters! In this book, we see a lot more Molly and Gabriel interaction, we see a lot of Ivy's seraphim attitude, and we get to see how Xavier and Beth cope while being separated from each other (foreshadowing book 3! Duh, duh, duuuuh!).

But my overall favourite characters in this book were Hanna and Tucker, whom Beth met while in Hades. Hanna got on my nerves a bit, but after she told her side of the story, I started sympathizing with her and started understanding her view points; I later ended up pitying her. Tucker (or Tuck) is another character in Hades who didn't really go into detail with his back story, but he was just the sweetest big brother to Beth that I felt really upset that she couldn't take him with her in the end.

But the Molly and the Gabriel feels! AHHHHHH!

Okay, I know Beth and Xavier are like the main couple and are perfect for each other with their undying and self-sacrificing love, but C'MON! Molly and Gabriel are as interesting as Beth and Xavier!

No, the two don't hook up, but they did have a very deep conversation that touched me. I felt like Molly should've known what was going to happen when she decided to be so blunt with Gabriel, but I felt really bad for her too! I mean, her best friend is an angel and her boyfriend is human! It isn't fair D: But I still have hope for those too, since Gabe DID say he will watch over her! **crosses fingers**

What I find interesting about this book is that even though it's much darker than book one, there is still a very humorous side to it. For example, when Michael the Archangel suddenly appears when they're trying to open the portal into Hades:

"That's the problem," Ivy said. "Our combined power isn't enough. We need backup."

"Damn it." Xavier kicked the ground with the toe of his boot, sending pebbles flying. "What's the point in coming here?"

"Michael wouldn't have sent us on a wild goose chase," Ivy murmured. "There must be something he wants us to do."

"Or maybe he's a douche."

"Indeed," said a disembodied voice behind them.

They all spun around in time to see the archangel materialize before them, his towering form shadowing the tracks.


I was laughing so hard at this line, I was so happy that I was alone when I read this, otherwise I would've looked ridiculous!

I love this book, it's my favourite so far! I have to give it a 3 out of 5 stars! This is definitely a series you should read! 

Happy Wednesday guys!

Waiting on Wednesday: Where the Stars Still Shine (#4)



Wednesdays are my favourite time of the week because I can share with you the books that I am impatiently waiting for and DYING to read!

This week, I'm waiting for two books that I know will lead to days of crying and mourning: Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller (out September 24th) and All The Truth That's In Me by Julie Berry (out September 26th).

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Stolen as a child from her large and loving family, and on the run with her mom for more than ten years, Callie has only the barest idea of what normal life might be like. She's never had a home, never gone to school, and has gotten most of her meals from laundromat vending machines. Her dreams are haunted by memories she’d like to forget completely. But when Callie’s mom is finally arrested for kidnapping her, and Callie’s real dad whisks her back to what would have been her life, in a small town in Florida, Callie must find a way to leave the past behind. She must learn to be part of a family. And she must believe that love--even with someone who seems an improbable choice--is more than just a possibility.

Trish Doller writes incredibly real teens, and this searing story of love, betrayal, and how not to lose your mind will resonate with readers who want their stories gritty and utterly true







Synopsis (from Goodreads): Four years ago, Judith and her best friend disappeared from their small town of Roswell Station. Two years ago, only Judith returned, permanently mutilated, reviled and ignored by those who were once her friends and family. Unable to speak, Judith lives like a ghost in her own home, silently pouring out her thoughts to the boy who’s owned her heart as long as she can remember—even if he doesn’t know it—her childhood friend, Lucas. But when Roswell Station is attacked, long-buried secrets come to light, and Judith is forced to choose: continue to live in silence, or recover her voice, even if it means changing her world, and the lives around her, forever. This startlingly original novel will shock and disturb you; it will fill you with Judith’s passion and longing; and its mysteries will keep you feverishly turning the pages until the very last.
I am so excited, yet so scared to see how these books are just going to affect me emotionally.
 
After reading the synopsis of WTSSS, my heart broke into small little pieces. Imagine what will happen when I read it! I read a lot of non-spoliery reviews on Goodreads, and so far, the reception has been amazing! I am really curious to know why Callie's mom stole her away all those years ago.
 
As for ATTIM, no words can explain how creeped out I was when I read the synopsis for the first time. I mean, she was mutilated for the Doctor's Sake! And her friend never returned. I'm really excited to see how this story will play out...I probably will end up crying for months.
 
Well, that's it for me this Wednesday! And how did you guys think of United We Spy? Likes? Dislikes? Unpopular opinions? Tweet me at my twitter account: @missyallydums97 or leave a comment bellow!
 
Have a great day guys!

Saturday, 14 September 2013

Weekend Roundup!

 


The world of the Internet has been alive and full of news all week! Unfortunately, without my laptop, I haven't been able to post as much as I wanted to. So here is my first weekend roundup!

1. WHOVIANS OF THE WORLD, MATT SMITH AND JENNA COLEMAN ARE FILMING THE CHRISTMAS SPECIAL! I REPEAT, MATT AND JENNA ARE FILMING THE CHRISTMAS SPECIAL! Have you seen the pictures going around? Matt's apparently wearing a wig, and the pictures show Jenna as Clara holding what I think is a turkey (or a chicken).

Can we please  Just  *cries*

*WAILS* It's going to be a sad Christmas this year with Matt leaving Doctor Who, but at least we got Peter Capaldi as the 12th and final Doctor. Oh. And this poster for the 50th anniversary special.


Isn't exciting? I am DYING TO KNOW John Hurt's purpose as the 'forgotten' Doctor. And flipping David Tennant and Billie Piper are going to be on the show! I'm so excited!!!

2. You can now read the first two chapters of United We Spy by Ally Carter here! And you can also watch the trailer for the final Gallagher Girl adventure over here! The final book will be out in Canada and the United States on Tuesday September 17!

And 3)  You can read Fury by Elizabeth Miles FOR FREE UNTIL TOMORROW! So check it out here now!

And if you guys aren't following me on twitter (I'm @missyallydums97- GO FOLLOW ME NOW!), you probably haven't heard, but I'm finally jumping onto the Infernal Devices bandwagon! YAY!

So that's it for me, and enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Halo by Alexandra Adornetto: Review

Halo

Author: Alexandra Adornetto
Pages: 484
Release Date: August 31st, 2010
Status: Book 1 of a Trilogy

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

An angel is sent to Earth on a mission.

But falling in love is not part of the plan.


Three angels – Gabriel, the warrior; Ivy, the healer; and Bethany, the youngest and most human – are sent by Heaven to bring good to a world falling under the influence of darkness. They work hard to conceal their luminous glow, superhuman powers, and, most dangerous of all, their wings, all the while avoiding all human attachments.

Then Bethany meets Xavier Woods, and neither of them is able to resist the attraction between them. Gabriel and Ivy do everything in their power to intervene, but the bond between Xavier and Bethany seems too strong.

The angel’s mission is urgent, and dark forces are threatening. Will love ruin Bethany or save her?


WARNING: WILL CONTAIN A LOT OF:

 
 

I literally started reading this book right after I finished reading Crewel. It was 11:30 at night and I had a French test the next day (which I thankfully passed with an 81% :D).



The story is about an angel named Bethany who was sent along with Gabriel the Archangel and Ivy the serpahim to rid the evil dark forces in Venus Cove. It's a small, sleepy beach town with a population of roughly about two thousand people.

Bethany, unlike her brother and sister, is very new; she was created seventeen mortal years in the Kingdom before the story starts. She is very human-like and has the most sympathy when it comes to humans. Prior to her mission, she helped the souls of children with their transition to heaven.

She is very naive (as only an angel could be in the twenty-first century) but has a loving quality to her. While out one night with her siblings, she meets Xavier Woods, a boy of many secrets and always ready with a smile.

Her mission is simple: Spread charity and goodness in the town, and keep the darkness at bay. Do everything in God's will, don't interact with humans on an emotional level and DO NOT reveal the top secret plan.

The story was FULL of fluff. My friends at school had already finished the trilogy and had told me their opinions while I was still in the first couple chapters. While they didn't really take a huge liking in the story, I found it to be a good book to read coming off of my Crewel mourning period.

While I enjoyed learning more about the Order of Heaven (and other things I didn't know about because I probably wasn't paying attention in Religion class), the book revolved around the relationship of Bethany and Xavier. It was a cute relationship, and I felt like it kept the story alive till the arrival of Jake Thorn. But the amount of time it took for the relationship to develop and the pot to pick up took WAY too long for me; it made me feel the book was split in two: the Bethany and Xavier story, and the Jake Thorn problem story.

I spent most of my time swooning because of Xavier freaking Woods. He kept the story and the realtionship going for me. He is the perfect guy! I swear, at one point was like, "an Angel can get a boyfriend, but not me. #Sadlyfe." He was a really good, clean cut character, and to me was the definition of a knight in shining armor.

Jake Thorn was really creepy when he was around Bethany, but other than that, he didn't really stick out for me. In my head, he's just a bad guy and didn't really scream demon. I always pictured him as an English goth with crazy plans. But when he was introduced in the story, the plot started to pick up, so I guess that's one good quality from his twisted personality.

BUT my favourite character is Gabriel. He played a big role in the story and overshadowed Ivy for me. Like, seeing the Archangel as a big brother and a music teacher was just so adorable! If I had to chose between his character and Xavier, I would chose him in a heart beat. I tried picturing every character in my head but picturing Gabriel was just so difficult! He got the mysterious, sexy, party-pooper thing going on, but his character is just BAD-ASS, especially in the end when he goes all ninja-angel to save Bethany.

My favourite thing about Gabriel was his interactions with Molly (Bethany's friend), and Molly just going gaga over him! I can't even describe to you how accurate her attempts to get his attention was like an actual teenage girls. Molly and her friends are the most real characters in the novel, right down to them disobeying dresscode and gossiping. Molly was probably my favourite female charater in the book.

When Gabriel and Molly are together, I always have the urge to laugh or double over swooning. I mean, if Gabriel the Archangel in human form cracked (even a small) smile when he saw you, wouldn't you just melt?
 
My favourite interaction between the two of them was the Prom scene:
 

"Oh...thanks!" she said. "You look very fetching too. Having fun?"

 

"Fun may not be the most accurate description," Gabriel said."I've never much liked social events."

 

"Oh, I know what you mean," said Molly.  "The ball is always a bit boring. Thinks really kick off at the after-party. Are you coming?"

 

Gabriel's stone face seemed to soften for a moment, and the corners of his mouth twitched in the beginning of a smile. But in the matter of seconds he recollected himself and the smile was gone.

-Halo, page 384

 
WHO ASKS AN ARCHANGEL WHO'S YOUR FRIEND'S OLDER BROTHER WHO'S DISGUISED AS A MUSIC TEACHER TO AN AFTER-PARTY?
 
Like seriously who? I don't know why, but this scene just made me laugh like crazy. I just love those two, even though Gabriel was as hard as stone. But Molly is so in love of him, and was such a normal character that her comments and antics made the story enjoyable.
 

"Whatever happened to that hot British guy?" Molly asked the two weeks after her rescue. She was sitting on the end of my bed, filing her nails. "What was his name... Jack James?"

 

"Jake," I said. "And he left to go back to England."

 

 "Shame," Molly commented. "I liked his tattoos. Do you think I should get one? I was thinking one that says, 'leirbag.'"

 

"You want a tattoo of Gabriel's name backward?"

 

"Damn, is it that obvious? I have to think of something else."

-Halo, pages 472-473

 

Bethany's interactions, her friend's, boyfriend and family brought the story alive for me. The only time I felt her as a character was when she healed that girl that got in a car crash. To me, Beth was a sweet, naive angel, who's inexperience put her in weird situations and asking a lot of interesting questions. But I felt she was just there, and was only supported by the other characters in the novel.
 
The book was good, but I have to give it 2.5 stars out of 5.
 
Although it wasn't one of my favourite books, it definitely caught my attention and I really do want to see how the characters will develop and how the events of this book will fuel the next book.
 
It was a sweet, fluffy book that got me out of my mourning period, but there plot took to long to develop, there was too much narration and the protagonist's character development wasn't there for me. It's a good book though, and if your looking for a sweet story with an angel and human falling in love, this is for you!


Wednesday, 11 September 2013

Sisters' Fate Cover Reveal!

Have you guys heard the news? Jessica Spotswood revealed the cover of Sister's Fate, the third and FINAL book in the Cahill Witch Chronicles.

17620113


Synopsis (from her blog):

A fever ravages New London, but with the Brotherhood sending suspected witches straight to the gallows, the Sisters are powerless against the disease. They can't help without revealing their powers-as Cate learns when a potent display of magic turns her into the most wanted witch in all of New England.

To make matters worse, Cate has been erased from the memory of her beloved Finn. While she's torn between protecting him from further attacks and encouraging him to fall for her all over again, she's certain she can never forgive Maura's betrayal. And now that Tess's visions have taken a deadly turn, the prophecy that one Cahill sister will murder another looms ever closer to its fufillment.

Release date: August 14, 2014



In addition to this cover reveal, there's a contest going on where you can win SEVEN ARCS from Penguin Teen! Isn't that exciting?

YOU STILL HAVE FIVE DAYS! Go check it out here: http://www.jessicaspotswood.com/blog/

Crewel by Gennifer Albin: Review

11556960























Author: Gennifer Albin
Page Count: 357 pages
Release Date: October 16th, 2012
Status: Book 1 in the Crewler Trilogy
Received From: My public library :)

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Incapable. Awkward. Artless.
That’s what the other girls whisper behind her back. But sixteen-year-old Adelice Lewys has a secret: She wants to fail.

Gifted with the ability to weave time with matter, she’s exactly what the Guild is looking for, and in the world of Arras, being chosen to work the looms is everything a girl could want. It means privilege, eternal beauty, and being something other than a secretary. It also means the power to manipulate the very fabric of reality. But if controlling what people eat, where they live, and how many children they have is the price of having it all, Adelice isn’t interested.

Not that her feelings matter, because she slipped and used her hidden talent for a moment. Now she has one hour to eat her mom’s overcooked pot roast. One hour to listen to her sister’s academy gossip and laugh at her dad’s jokes. One hour to pretend everything’s okay. And one hour to escape.

Because tonight, they’ll come for her.


**MAY CONTAIN SOME**
 

Jumping into the story with the knowledge of it being dystopian, I already knew that there was going to be a lot of story building, new terms and words, but Albin is able to create a story and a narrator that is able to keep the reader informed and in the know of what's going on.

The story is about Adelice Lewys, a girl from the Western Sector of Arras. In her world, everything is ruled by the Guild, and when a girl turns sixteen, she is to undergo training for a month and is tested to see if she has the ability to become a Spinster, a person that can weave time. Adelice has been demonstrating these abilities since she was about eight years old, but she worked with her parents to hide her abilites for her testing.

Unfortunately, she slips up and ends up weaving her surroundings without the use of a loom, and knows that she is to be taken away to live a privileged (yet lonely) life in the Coventry, the home of the Spinsters. She decides to play it cool and not tell her parents, but the Guild comes barging into her home, causing her family to execute an escape plan that (sadly) fails, leaving her parents dead, her sister reassigned to another family, and her being taking away to the Coventry to begin her life of glamour, restrain and solitude.

There, she meets the arrogant, sketchy and somewhat alcoholic Cormac Patton, who seems to have some crazy plans and radical ideas; the crazy Eligble trainer, Maela, who wears everything on her sleeve; her kind but secretive mentor, Enora; Maela's handsome yet confusing lapdog, Erik; a fellow Spinster named Pryanna, the not-so-team player; the blue-eyed head valet, Jost Bell; and the Creweler herself, Loricel.

Adelice tries her best to avoid using her gift, but when Malea and Pryanna start playing dirty, her mentor Enora dies, and Cormac (who was also the leader of her Retrieval and the person behind her parent's execution) still has the power to manipulate her by using her newly reassigned sister against her, Ad learns that their interst to keep her alive is due to the fact that she is the next Creweler.

She makes a lot of mistakes and refuses to be put in her place, she makes her final decision that changes the lives of her loved ones, but leads her to a place that no Creweler can ever manipulate, Reality.

After reading the book, I was left completely lost for words. The end of the book just was....WOW! It was already 11:30pm-ish when I finished and I had sacrificed studying for my French test today (which I know did not turn out well), so I wasn't really able to grasp my emotions and figure out how I was supposed to feel.

But now, reeling from yesterday's emotional events and re-reading the parts of the book that I either dog-earred or book marked (which was pretty much the entire book!).

I loved how Albin was able to create a dsutpian world with it's own background and orgins. Yes, sometimes I did find several of the terms misleading, but Albin has this amazing ability to use her character, Adelice, to make us part of her journey.

Unliike most books, she isn't completely clueless in the beginning. She's a little bit of Rose Hathaway from the Vampire Academy series in the sense that all the information is already with her and she knows the ins-and-outs of the world. Adelice knows the world of Arras and understands that living a life of a beautiful Spinister will leave her sacrificing a lot more. She knows how the world works, but at the same time, she doesn't know how the lives of those in the Coventry work. And that's where she learns how to grow as a character.

I love Adelice as a character, and I love her interactions with Cormac, especially their banter.

"Miss me?" he asks.

"It hasn't been that long," I remind him.

"I'm sure it's felt like a lifetime," he says, running his

eyes down me. "Adelice, you are looking... malnourished."

"Cormac, you're looking overdressed."

"Good," he sneers. "Now the hair matches the attitude."

-Crewel, page 122

 

There are times when she is very scared and she is unable to process her emotions (like when she drank a bottle of wine by herself), but it is understandable with all the loss she's experienced. But then there are moments like her conversations with Cormac that her personality is just perfect.

Another thing I liked from this book are the villans. Ooh! They just got under my skin so much, but in my opinion, any antagonist that makes me want to throw a book across the wall is just brilliant. But the anatagonists in this book come from all different forms, so I was pretty much going crazy the entire book.

Loricel is the Creweler in the book (aka, the Spinster with the power to weave without a loom), and whenever Adelice was with her, I was either really upset that she was so cryptic or really interested with the information she was giving Adelice. My favourite thing about her was that she reminded me a lot like Hannah's grandma from Pretty Little Liars (or was that just me?).

AND THE BOYS! OH IT'S THE BOYS *coughs* (sorry, That's So Raven reference).

Jost and Erick are so...I...they were just AMAZING, let's put it like that. I can't even tell you how I'm supposed to feel with them. Ablin doesn't make the love triangle like a typical one, and there was A LOT of plot twists in it. I was able to figure the Jost-Erick thing pretty early on in the book, but Jost's little story in chapter thirteen just threw me off so bad. Like:


But what I liked the most about this book was the plot. THE PLOT IS AMAZING GUYS! Unlike most first books that just drag on and on with story building and information, the plot is really fast pase, and you find yourself trying to figure out what's going to happen to Adelice after something bad happens. There are times when Adelice is in such a bad situation, you just don't know what she'll do. I actually thought she'd crack under the pressure, but she proves she's tough.

There is SO much restriction in this book, it makes the Giver, the Chrysalids and the Hunger Games look like jokes. The world that Albin builds is a world that has been woven from matter and the fabric on time, and sits above our Earth. Everyone and everything belongs to that overall weave, so if you misbehave, those Spinsters can remove you from the world by cutting your string and then reweave everyone's memories to make them forget you. Or they kill you. Or, they can reweave you and make you forget who you are, which is what is usually chosen instead of death.

It's an amazing world, and an amazing book! I give this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars, because although the characters are amazing, the world is nicely built and the plot is structured nicely, the terms will have you going back and forth alot, trying to make sense of what's going on. BUT IT'S WORTH THE READ, SO GO GET IT!

And I can't wait to get my hands on Altered, available October 29th, 2013!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...