Thursday, 31 October 2013

Cover Reveal: Wish You Were Italian by Kristin Rae

IT'S HERE! IT'S HERE!

The cover for Wish You Were Italian by Kristin Rae is finally revealed!


It's so cauuuuuttteee! This seriously makes me want to travel to Italy right now! 

Can't wait for the book to come out! Can't 2014 come faster?! 

Wednesday, 30 October 2013

Throwback Thursday

It's Halloween! 

This year, I went as a Spinster (from Gennifer Albin's Crewel)/ Guardian (from Richelle Mead's Vampire Academy). I originally was going to be a glam 50s chick, but then I decided to be a Spinster. Then I heard about the Vampire Academy costume contest. Somehow that morphed me to a Spinster Guardian!


That's me up there in my 'Spinster' costume. All the Spinsters are describe to have the best clothes and makeup, and that's lil ol'me trying my best to be my sharpest! I guess I was trying to channel Maela (despite the fact that I HATE her), because I always imagined her being so sharp and en pointe when it came to fashion! I tried my best intimidating her 'sharp' features with the makeup, but I ended up looking a little doll from the1950's overall:


 

As you can see, makeup isn't my strong suit! And I had a little trouble with not rubbing my eyes!

Since I was also participating in the Vampire Academy photo challenge, I just really wanted to go all out! (Without breaking the bank). They (the people running the contest) said that we could just submit a photo of ourselves in our costume! But I just wanted to do something more- especially since Dominic Sherwood, the actor playing Christian Ozera, and Zoey Deutch, the actress playing Rose would be judging!

So I decided to morph my Soinster outfit into a St. Vlad's uniform from the movie!


That's Lissa ( aka Lucy Fry, left) and Rose (aka Zoey Deutch, right) in their St. Vlad uniforms! All Vampire Academy fans know that Rose is a huge rule breaker, so I thought why not beat her in her own game by doing my own version of the VA uniforms?




But before dressing up as my favourite book characters, I, like most little girls, had a princess phase!



This picture is from first grade when I went as Cinderella! :) It was also the first year my mom let me go trick-or-treating, and the first year to realize that Halloween in Toronto is pretty cool, pretty weird and very scary! No joke! I got soooo scared that night that my mom had a hat to cover my eyes whenever I saw any scary masks! On the bright side, I got A LOT of candy from people who felt sorry for me ;)

Anyway, what did you go as this year? And what was your favourite childhood costume? 

Waiting on Wednesday: The Truth About Alice (#8)

16068341Synopsis (from Goodreads):


Everyone has a lot to say about Alice Franklin, and it’s stopped mattering whether it’s true. The rumors started at a party when Alice supposedly had sex with two guys in one night. When school starts everyone almost forgets about Alice until one of those guys, super-popular Brandon, dies in a car wreck that was allegedly all Alice’s fault. Now the only friend she has is a boy who may be the only other person who knows the truth, but is too afraid to admit it. Told from the perspectives of popular girl Elaine, football star Josh, former outcast Kelsie, and shy genius Kurt, we see how everyone has a motive to bring – and keep – Alice down



The Truth About Alice comes out next year but I JUST HAD TO (I really had to) have it on my blog! I mean, look how pretty the cover is...and how creepy and exciting the synopsis is as well!

First things first: YOU THINK THEY KILLED HER OR SOMETHING! The title and the synopsis screams "I killed Alice" but no, she doesn't die (although the end is quite ominous). It's a really interesting story about a girl who is the centre of attention- but not in a good way. She's the centre of the gossip because she apparently had sex with two guys in a party.

When I read that part of the synopsis, I thought of that girl from the East Coast that killed herself because she was bullied for having 'sex' with two guys. I really hope that Alice doesn't die in this story.

One thing that fascinates me is that this book isn't told from Alice's perspective, but from the people around her. I really can't wait to read this book!

Happy Wednesday guys!

Tuesday, 29 October 2013

Yesterday by CK Kelly Martin: Review

13414553Author: C.K Kelly Martin
Pages: 368 pages
Release Date: September 25th, 2012
Status: book 1 in the Yesterday's Series.

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

THEN: The formation of the UNA, the high threat of eco-terrorism, the mammoth rates of unemployment and subsequent escape into a world of virtual reality are things any student can read about in their 21st century textbooks and part of the normal background noise to Freya Kallas's life. Until that world starts to crumble.

NOW: It's 1985. Freya Kallas has just moved across the world and into a new life. On the outside, she fits in at her new high school, but Freya feels nothing but removed. Her mother blames it on the grief over her father's death, but how does that explain the headaches and why do her memories feel so foggy? When Freya lays eyes on Garren Lowe, she can't get him out of her head. She's sure that she knows him, despite his insistence that they've never met. As Freya follows her instincts and pushes towards hidden truths, the two of them unveil a strange and dangerous world where their days may be numbered. Unsure who to trust, Freya and Garren go on the run from powerful forces determined to tear them apart and keep them from discovering the truth about their shared pasts (and futures), her visions, and the time and place they really came from. Yesterday will appeal to fans of James Dashner's The Maze Runner, Veronica Roth's Divergent, Amy Ryan's Glow, Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and Ally Condie's Matched.


I had so many feels before and after reading book, you don't even know. The book is written by a Candian author and grew up in the GTA (like me!), and this whole book centred around the GTA which I love! I actually knew all the places where the main characters, Freya and Garren, went to so that was amazing!

This book is set both in the future (2063) and in the past (1985). Freya is living in 2063 where her parents had just betrayed her- they are the reason why her brother Latham is dead. Before she realizes it, she and her mother are being taken away by these robot cops that look like humans (sorry, I borrowed the book from the library and I don't have it with me right now). She then wakes up in Brampton, Ontario (that's a suburban city just outside of Toronto) in 1985. She has just moved from New Zealand after her father's death and is recovering from a sickness which she caught while moving back home to Canada.

Her mother, her younger sister Olivia, and her are all very much alive, and Freya tries to shake the uneasiness that she's feeling to focus on the fact that she is going to a Canadian highschool for the first time. There, at John A. McDonald High, she makes friends and tries to live a normal life of a teenager. But when she goes to the ROM (Royal Ontario Museum) with her school, she sees a very gorgeous looking guys whom she later learns is Garren Lowe. Other than his mysterious good looks, she can't help but feel like she knows him from somewhere...from someplace she can't remember.

I really love this book. I REALLY, REALLY DO and I HIGHLY recommend it to everyone! Seriously, the plot is amazing, the characters are really out of this world, and the plot-twists will seriously leave you wanting more. The book ends on a good note plot wise, but the C.K Kelly Martin's writing style is so compelling that you will be in a mourning period till you get to the second book.

With that said, that concludes the non-spoilery part of my review (for those who have not read the book). You are now free to have fun on my blog, or buy Yeterday's sequel, Tomorrow. Why? Because this next part involves:
 
*********
OKAY, CAN WE PLEASE TALK ABOUT THE AWESOMENESS OF THIS BOOK?
 
When I first read the first chapters of Yesterday, I was a little bored with Freya trying to intergrate herself in a normal Canadian-teen life (since I knew by reading the synopsis, that part would really be insignificant later on), but I was still really intrigued and into the book.
 
In the beginning, I was all for Seth and Freya, till I realized the guy mentioned in the flap of the book was named Garren, so I was really happy that she didn't go for him. Like I said, I wasn't really interested in Freya settling herself in a normal life, but I was interested as to what was going on in her head.
 
While she was still living in Brampton, she had Winston Churchill quotes in her head, I was like WTF? Why? But later on, it made more sense.
 
I was sooooo confused as to what she really was. I knew she WASN'T an alien, but I knew she wasn't from 1985 either, since in the beginning of the novel, she has like that little burst of random facts of the 80's in her head. I seriously thought that Martin wrote Freya as an incarnation, because I thought she was euthanized in the prologue (but don't worry, she wasn't). But then, I realized that on the book's back, it said What if your only future was in the past? so then I got to thinking: maybe she's a time traveller like Doctor Who!
 
I was totally NOT expecting what the author had written: Freya, Garren, one of Garren's mom's, her mom and Olivia (who really isn't her sister) were sent back to 1985 from the year 2063 at another shot of life and to prevent global warming from destroying all of humanity. LIKE WHAT KIND OF MIND BLOWING PLOT IS THAT?!
 
When Freya and Garren went to their 'grandpa's' place, it made sense: they were sent back to the past for a second shot at life. When she goes to the hypnotist and she is able to tap into her memories from 2063, it all made sense to the point where I just felt stupid for thinking they were incarnations. You don't even know.
 
I really liked Martin's writting style, I really and honestly do! It doesn't go back and forth between past and present like Tomorrow (which I head does), but when Freya switches from the 80's to the 21st century, it's effortless. That part where Freya goes back to 2063 reminded me of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone. I enjoyed that book as well, but for me, it seemed to be written better in Yesterday- it was written nicely in DoSaB, but it felt like it dragged on for a bit whereas in this book, it still kept the plot at a good pace. A PLUS PLUS FOR YOU KELLY!
 
What I liked overall was the fact that I could connect to 80's Canada. It is similar to our time now (just no crazy fashion sense (if you don't count half of Hollywood), better music and less technology), that sometimes I forgot that they were even IN the 80s. Seriously. There was a part in the book where Garren goes to call VIA Railways to check what time the train comes and how much their tickets would cost. I was seriously sitting on my bed just like, "What are guys doing? Just Google it- oh." and honestly, that happened a bit throughout the book. It's weird knowing that we rely on so much technology, but it's freaking scary to know the excessive amount of dependency that we have on it while reading this book.
 
And the characters! Oh, how I love the characters! Garren was just really annoying for me for the most part of the book because I was upset that he couldn't remember ANYTHING! Like, you think he would start believing Freya when they got ran out of Harry's place. But I can tell you I liked him a whole lot better when he DID remember.
 
I really disliked Freya's mom both in the future and in the past; her mom cheated on her dad and she was just so...I can't describe her. I just didn't like her, which was really good, since the narrator IS a teenage girl. I was really mind-blown when I learned Olivia wasn't really her sister, but at the same time, it made sense because she only mention Latham in the prologue. It's weird to think of her as the president's daughter though. And as for her father, we don't get to see him much- both in 2063 and the 80's. I don't like him either, since he got rid of their housekeeper from Mexico and he let Latham die (I guess I don't like authority figures much).
 
I was really sad when I learned what happened to Latham and Kinnari (btw, was she Asian? Because that sounds/looks like a very Asian name), but was really most interested in the fact that Freya had the second sight even in 2063.
 
The ending was very mind-blowing for me. Freya saving Freya...that's so trippy. And when she realizes that her visions of Garren dying AREN'T visions but other versions of what happened already is just so trippy. That's what this book was trippy. In a good way.
 
But what I want to know is if Freya's second sight is the end result of her just repeating the same situations over again, but having different end results each time she goes back to the past (confusing, huh? Well, go read the book!). I really can't wait till I get my hands on Tomorrow (I really hope my library has it!). I really love this series and I even got my librarian at school to go out and find the series so he could add it to our school's library! Anyways, I give this book 4 out of 5 stars! This is a very highly recommended book!
 
Happy Tuesday everyone!

Monday, 28 October 2013

Chantress by Amy Butler Greenfield: Review

13721337Author: Amy Butler Greenfield
Pages: 324 pages
Release Date: May 7th, 2013
Status: book 1 of the Chantress series

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Lucy, shipwrecked on an island at 7, is forbidden to sing by guardian Norrie. On All Hallows Eve 1667, at 15, she sings, and is swept into darkness. She wakes to hear powerful men hunt Chantresses who sing magic into the world. At the Invisible College she finds sanctuary, plots to overthrow the evil Lord Protector, and distrustful scientist-apprentice Nat. Only a Chantress can overcome the Protector, and Lucy is the last in England.

I put this book on hold back in September and got it early October from the library. It sat on my shelf for a little while (I really hate homework), but when I read this book, I literally finished it in a few hours!

Chantress is about 15 year old Lucy Marlowe, a girl who has been stranded on an island for years with her guardian Norrie. She ended up on the island after a shipwrek, her mother is dead and she is forbidden to sing.

On All Hallow's Eve (FYI, that's what they called Halloween back in the ye olden days), Lucy hears music. Unable to find answers from Norrie, she searches her house and discovers a letter that her mother wrote to her long ago. It tells her her mother 'sang' her away, and that she will find her way home if she takes off the stone she gave her.


I'm pretty sure you guys can guess what happens next: Lucy takes off the stone and ends up back in England. What I didn't expect was for her to end up in the library of the evil Lord Protector himself (did I mention he was also in the room?).


Lucy finds refuge with the Invisible College, a group of men who plot to destroy the Lord Protector and his evil Shadowgrims (birds that were enchanted to take your memory away and burn you into ashes). However, even with the Invisible College on her side, the mysterious Nat is hostile towards him. And when her godmother comes back to train her, things get more complicated as she is an Elizabethan (not even sure it this book is set in that era, but you know...) feminist.


I really liked this book! When I first read the synopsis, I already knew I was going to enjoy it! Unlike most historical fantasy books, Chantress really charms you within the first couple pages! It's mysterious, it's dark, it's edgy, and of course, it's addictive!


I didn't reallly get much romance in this book which I would normally be upset about, but Amy is able to make the relationship between Nat and Lucy alive and real, and not overly dramatic and focused on like in some books. It was a good romance, and it fit well with the story- it was important, but not the point. It was there, but it didn't take away from Lucy's character and the overall story.


This book was very plot-based and focused on Lucy discovering her Chantress abilities and defeating the Lord Protector and his Shadowgrims. Lucy has character development in the story as well, but other than her, everything was just background noise to me. Nat comes a long way from the beginning as well, but from the second last chapter and the last chapter there is a three month time jump, so we don't really see much of his development in that time frame.


Other characters like Penebrygg and Sir Barnaby were nicely written, but the book didn't focus on them. And Scargrave (aka Lord Protector) was the villian, but he wasn't really in the book much- t really did focus on Lucy's training. Through the Shadowgrims, Amy was able to keep the fear of both them and Scargrave alive, and I really like that.


What I loved the most about the book is the interaction between the characters. Lucy's godmother was not my favourite, but whenever she said something to the guys of the Invisible College, I couldn't help but cheer a little- she's a feminist in the 1600's, so how can you not? One of my parts of the book was when Penebrygg was explaning the Invisble College to Lucy:

"For all intents and purposes, Sir Barnaby joked, we were members of the Invisible College. " He added, "I think he took pleasure in the abbreviation, too."

I did not quite follow him.

"IC," Penebrygg said, pointing to his eyes. "I see."

"Sir Barnaby loves puns," Nat said drily.

-Chantress, page 90

 

I don't know why, but that part made me laugh. It was one of my favourite parts (other than Nat training Lucy). This book was REALLY good, I seriously CAN NOT wait for the sequel, Chantress Alchemy!
 
 
I give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars! Happy Monday guys!

Sunday, 27 October 2013

I've Been Nominated!



I don't even know if this tag is going on anymore, but I was tagged by Emily from Forever Literary a while back! It's not even midterms yet, but I had (and still do) a lot of work that just didn't seem to end! I'm so behind, that I am only getting caught up with emails, tags, and reading (I am now 3 weeks behind schedule!). BUT enough of my rambling (I'll post a Blogger Life post soon). I am so honored to be nominated by Emily for the Libester Award! (You can check out her post here).

The rules for this award are simple:
  1. Link back to the blogger who nominated you.
  2. Answer the questions he or she posted.
  3. Nominate ten other bloggers who have fewer than 200 followers and inform them of their nomination.
  4. Create a set of questions for those nominees to answer.
For more information on what this whole thing is about, click here! Now, here are my responses to Emily's questions! (Sorry in advance for my awful answers! I'm running on no sleep, caffine, and stress!).

1. What was your most recent read that taught you a lesson or made you think deeply about something?

I really wished you didn't ask me this question! You know that feeling when you think you've got the answer because you know the topic inside and out, but then just freeze last minute? Well, that's me right now trying to answer your question!

My most recent read was Yesterday by C.K Kelly Martin (my Canadian awesome possum moose), which is a dystopian/sci-fi read about a girl from 2063 sent back to 1985 Canada to live out her future? (Confusing, right? Well, hopefully my review on Tuesday will make it much clearer!). One thing that book taught me was that I really need to recycle more!

The whole reason why the main characters, Freya and Garren, were sent back in time were due to our very bad habit of polluting the earth and causing most of the earth to be uninhabitable. It made me sad to see that the people in the story were so desperate to stop things when such a bad situation was completely out of their hands. I was mad that the previous generations did nothing to stop pollution and unemployment and war, but it made me realize that the world the characters lived in were caused by us, people in our life time. It made me even sad knowing that we all might be living in the same conditions as the characters if we don't stop our polluting.

2. What was you number one goal going into blogging? Have you reached it yet?

Ironically enough, I started blogging to get my love of books and writing back. That was my number one goal: to rekindle my love for literature. I started my blog in August, and was fairly happy with it, but I still didn't fufill my goal. Until recently.

Back in September (LITERALLY a day before school started), my family and I had to deal with some difficult things. It was especially hard for me since I knew it stemmed from some bad decisions/choices that I made. I was ashamed, my family was shocked and we all had our world rocked from the truth. My family (especially my parents) have been able to recover, but I am still trying to find forgiveness for my actions and am still trying to live with the knowledge of what I did hurt my family so bad.

However, such a tramatuzing experience has rekindled my love for reading and writing, and having so many blogger friends with the same interest as me is so refreshing! (Seriously, most of my friends are the type of people to THROW AWAY books).

It's nice to read and write again- I've forgotten how much fun I had reading about different characters in different words with different backstories connect with me in unimaginable ways, and writing! Oh, how I missed writing! I missed making up fictional worlds where my characters don't have to worry about anything except for what I have in store for them next!

3. What do you look for in other blogs? Is there anything in particular that makes you want or not want to read a blog?

What I look for in other blogs is the reviews (because I'm always looking out for other books to add to my VERY LONG TBR pile) and the visual appeal. For me, I like seeing a blog with a nice format, and with nice colours that aren't to flashy/hurtful to the eye. And headers. I like a nice header. There's nothing in particular that will make me want to read/not read a blog, as long as the blogger is really nice, has nice reviews and will follow me on Twitter/and my blog. :D

4. How has blogging affected your reading habits?

Blogging hasn't really affected my reading habits, just my sleeping habits! I knew going into blogging that some bloggers have posts scheduled for the next YEAR but I never knew how organized one must be to have a blog with good quality. If anything, blogging has taught me how to read and get over my mourning period faster!

WHEW! Well, I'm glad that's over! Thank you to Emily for nominating me! And now, here are my nominee's!

  1. Erin @ Stealing Pages
  2. Sophia @ Loving Lit
  3. Alexandra @ Sleeps on Tables
  4. Christine @ Christiney Reads (Love your website btw, I really wish I had on like that!)
  5. Chrissi @ Chrissi Reads
  6. Jessica @ Just Another Teen Reading Books
  7. Jessica @ Reviews Abound
  8. My Spirit Animal @ Read Books and Live Green
  9. Matt @ That Crazy Fanboy
  10. Elena @ Brown Eyed Bookworm  
I am sorry if any of you guys have been nominated already, have 200 followers or over, and do not take any awards! I really didn't have any time to check if you guys have or have not have anything stated in the sentence above! (I'm realllly sleep right now guys!).

Now the questions:

1. What is one thing that you have discovered about yourself during your time as a blogger?

2. Have you had to make any sacrifices (so far) in the name of blogging?

3. How have you developed as a reader, writer and/or blogger?

4. What is one piece of advice that you would give to a younger, non-blogging version of yourself?

Have a goodmorning/afternoon/night :D

Saturday, 26 October 2013

Saturday Spotlight: Eve Edwards (Halloween Edition)

It's Saturday Spotlight guys! And this week, UK YA author Eve Edwards is here to join us!

 

About Eve:

Eve Edwards is the pen-name of English authors, Julia Golding and Joss Stirling, an author of both children's and Young Adult books. Under Eve, she has publsihed two historical series The Lacey Chronicles (set in Elizabethan England) and the Dusk series (set in World War I). A former British diplomat and Oxfam policy adviser, she has published over 30 books in various genres like historical fiction to fantasy.
 
I have read the Lacey Chronicles and LOVE all the books! I have yet to read Dusk, but I know very well that I will enjoy it as much as I did with her other series. I haven't really read anything under her real name, but I am currently searching Indigo to see if they have any of her books (from either name) in stock!
 
When I read the Lacey Chronicles, I was really amazed at how she was able to make a story that focuses on the importance of family, friends and love without taking away from the authentic Elizabethan feel. Unlike most YA Historical that feel too slow or boring, her books are very well plotted, have a nice pace, and her characters are always developed beatuifully.
 
I really wanted to talk to her about both historical series, but since Dusk isn't available in the US, we decided that we focus on a  party. But not just any ordinary party, BUT a Historical Halloween Party! (Since Halloween is NEXT THURSDAY!). Isn't that cool? Here is Eve's post and who SHE would invite to her Historical Halloween Party!
 
As Halloween approaches it is time to dust off those plastic vampire fangs, get out the pumpkin candle lights and stock up on candies. As a writer of historical YA fiction, I'm often living in the past so the thought of the festivities started me wondering who I would invite if I held a party with historical guests.

We don't go in for such big celebrations of Halloween in the UK as in the US but one thing that is standard for a fancy dress party on that night are silly games. Hmm, so who would be good at apple bobbing?

Isaac Newton. He can bob for apples while thinking about gravity. Perhaps to keep him company, I'd invite Archimedes (he of the eureka bath experiment). We'll leave the scientists to their barrel of apples while we go off to another game.

Over on the other side of the room I've invited Christopher Columbus for that game where you have to attack a bar of chocolate while wearing scarf, hat, gloves etc and eat it with a knife and fork. He should be allowed a go as he is said to have introduced the cocoa bean to Europe. To up the ante, I think I'll put him against Francis Drake, the privateer who served Queen Elizabeth I and also visited the New World. I imagine they would both be fiercely competitive so I would make sure they were disarmed before being allowed inside.

Leaving those two battling it out over the chocolate, I now turn to the refreshments. I've put in charge of them Marie-Antoine Careme, chef to the Prince Regent (later George IV). He was the first celebrity chef in England and was a genius as creating outstanding banquets. I'm sure he would come up with some suitably outrageous ghostly themed desserts.

On the drinks table I would place F Scott Fitzgerald and his wife, Zelda. They could shake up a few 1920s cocktails and add a dash of flapper style to the party. I've been reading about them recently - a fragile and brilliant couple who appeared to be good at party-going.

I would need a few characters who would be good for a laugh. I would love to chat with Jane Austen - she loved a party and might be able to persuade my guest musician, Count Basie, to play a few tunes for us and Billy Holiday to sing. Jane and I would both like to invite William Shakespeare. He can recite the witches speech from Macbeth. For scary stories, we would invite Mary Shelley and Bram Stoker. To add a little romantic frisson to the evening, I think we'd also like Cassanova to come and flirt with us ladies, but we are all too sensible to contemplate leaving with him.

The evening would end with Trick or Treating. To carry our candy haul, I think I'd invite along some handsome gladiators. Imagine Jane, Billy H, Mary S and I escorted through the streets by our guard of honour with Shakespeare to knock on the doors and use his silver tongue to persuade the inhabitants to part with their sweets. That's a night to remember.
 
Her party seems very high-class. I feel like my dinner party with the Grace Kelly, Audrey Hepburn, Elizabeth Taylor, Gary Cooper, and Grand Duchess Anastasia and her brother, Alexi, would pale in comparison! I, personally, would invite Mary Shelley as well- who doesn't want to hear scary stories from her?
 
Anyways, who would you guys invite to your Historical Halloween Party?
 

Thank you so much to Eve for taking the time out to do this little guest post! I really appreciate it!

Wanna learn more about Eve and her books? Check out the links bellow!
 
 
Twitter: @_Eve_Edwards
 
 
Interested in MORE UK YA books? Check out these links bellow!
 
The UKYA Website, Celebrating YA fiction by UK Authors: UKYA Website
 
Project UKYA Website: ProjectUKYA
 
Lucy Powrie, YA Blogger from the UK: Queen of Contemporary
 
Lucy's Twitter: @LucyTheReader

Friday, 25 October 2013

Jost's Journal Entry

Instead of Fangirl Friday, I decided I would share with you guys my little take on a scene found in Crewel by Gennifer Albin! Hope you guys enjoy it! Altered will be released October 29th!

NOTE: Will Contain Minor Spoilers. Proceed with caution.

Jost POV

I wasn't angry. I wasn't upset. I was just very disappointed at her. If I was mad at anyone, it was with him.

She was laughing. Laughing. Erik had never been funny in his entire life! I really just wanted to punch that easy-going smile off his face.

There was a time where I probably would've laughed at his lameness too. But that was a long time ago, where I thought nothing could ever separate-

"How do you two know each other?" Adelice asks, snapping me out of my malaise.

I freeze and stare at her wide eyed. No, there's no way she could know. She couldn't possibly know that we-

"You said he sent you..." She trails off, looking between the two of us, and I could practically hear the gears turning in her head.

Say something idiot! My head screams. But I can't. I'm stuck. She knows- "Jost is the head valet," Erik informs loudly. He looks at me briefly, but I could see his anger- and his fear. "When I couldn't come to your cell, I asked him to attend to you."

Adelice nods and Erik quickly changes the subject. If I wasn't so shaken up by her near-revelation, I would've listened with awe at how effortlessly he changed the subject. 

But, I have been living with him for three years now. I'm so used to him being swift and smooth with other things, what's a little change in conversation? 

Adelice, a voice whispers. It's Adelice.

Yes, it was her. She's the reason why I had any particular interest with their exchange. She's smart, she's different. She doesn't deserve a pretty lap dog that doesn't even know the meaning of loyalty.

I wanted to scream at the top of the lungs. I wanted to tell her she didn't deserve him, that she shouldn't be anywhere near him. He's no good, he doesn't care- he didn't even go home to check on his family when his mother died.

I was shaking with anger and jealousy, my fear now forgotten, as he escorts her to her cabin at the rebound station. But as I look at the two of them, I see her relax as he guides her. She looks safe, she looks sure. I almost feel guilty for being upset with him.

Almost.

When I enter the cabin, I slump in my chair and close my eyes. My serene state only lasts for a few minutes as I hear him come in, followed by the stewardess. After being strapped in, she leaves us together. It was a good thing we were both tied down in chairs.

"You messed up out there," he said after a few moments of silence. "Why?"

It takes me a few moments to answer him. "I don't know," I reply honestly. "I really don't."

He stares at me with haunting blue eyes similar to my own. "It's okay you know," he reassures me, and suddenly, I feel like I'm five again. I bite my lip and give him a distainful look. Who was he trying to fool? 

Erik let's out a sigh. "Jost," he says slowly. "It's alright. She doesn't know."

"You sure?" I snapped.

He nods, but his face looks troubled. "For now," I say his unspoken thought. 

"For now," he repeats silently to himself. "But, if it makes you feel any better she caught me off guard too."

I snorted. "Yeah, I know, you had that same look on your face when you found out that I'd put your hair in pigtails when we were ten."

He frowns, but I can hear the amusement in his voice as he says, "Well, you looked like you had just peed your pants in front of Rozenn all over again."

Usually, I would've been upset over the mention of her name, but I found myself laughing. I was even more amazed as he started laughing with me.

"Thanks for saving my ass out there," I tell him silently. "I really appreciate it bro."

He gives a ghost of a smile. "Don't mention it," he replies. "Literally."

And around us, the room begins to shimmer and fade, along with this moment.

Thursday, 24 October 2013

The Pledge by Kimberly Derting: Review


Author: Kimberly Derting
Pages: 323 pages 
Release Date: November 15, 2011
Status: 1st book in the Pledge trilogy

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

In the violent country of Ludania, the classes are strictly divided by the language they speak. The smallest transgression, like looking a member of a higher class in the eye while they are speaking their native tongue, results in immediate execution. Seventeen-year-old Charlaina has always been able to understand the languages of all classes, and she's spent her life trying to hide her secret. The only place she can really be free is the drug-fueled underground clubs where people go to shake off the oppressive rules of the world they live in. It's there that she meets a beautiful and mysterious boy named Max who speaks a language she's never heard before . . . and her secret is almost exposed.


Charlie is intensely attracted to Max, even though she can't be sure where his real loyalties lie. As the emergency drills give way to real crisis and the violence escalates, it becomes clear that Charlie is the key to something much bigger: her country's only chance for freedom from the terrible power of a deadly regime.

***

I will be honest with you, I never really expected to read this book. Ever. I saw it on a Goodreads newsletter before it's release date and always wanted to read it, but eventually, I forgot about it. 

However, while I was at the library dropping off some books, I just happened to find the Pledge and, well, fall in love with it!

I seriously can't believe it took me two years to read the book when it took me four hours to read it!

The story starts off 81 years in the past where a young Princess Sabara walks into her mother's room- where she is about to die. The dying Queen reminds her daughter that she was born of importance and with power, and that she must say 'the words'. The little princess takes her mother's hand and as she takes her last breathe, says the magic words...then, she becomes her mother. She has taken her Essence, and is now the Queen.

The book then jumps 81 years later where 17 year old Charlie, a girl living in Ludania, a Queendom that divides its social classes by language. Understanding a language outside of one's station results in death. The problem? Our narrator knows all three class type languages: Termani (for the rich), Parshon (for the Vendor/working class), and Englaise (the language of the Serving class and the universal tongue).

After nearly getting sentenced to death when she accidentally slips and looks up from her station when a Termani girl speaks at her parent's restaurant, Charlie joins her best friend Brook to go out for a night. They end up going to a club where she meets his mysterious boy named Max, who speaks a mysterious tongue she magically understands.

Unbeknownst to her, the language is a special one, known by an elite few. She tries her best to stay away from Max and his special tongue- if anyone finds out she can understand him, she'll be dead. Charlie can't keep away though, and she ends up searching for him. While looking for Max, she ends up meeting a man named Xander, who's equally dangerous and charming as Max. 

Back at home, Charlie has to deal with her party best friend, and the tension in her family because of her magic ability to understand languages.

But with a war looming closer to her city's walls, and threatening to force her family apart, Charlie will have to trust someone, but the question is who?

This book is really good! It has a nice plot, and despite my own (little) confusing summary of the story, it actually does a good job explaining the terms and the ins-and-outs of Ludania's backwards society.

In Charlie's world, all the different nations are ruled by 'Queens' which I find interesting, since most times, it's an evil male tyrant who's in power and it's a lost son being hunted and searched. In this book, females are the valuable ones amongst the Royals, and the Queens rule the Queendom with an iron fist. 

I really enjoyed that it was all about the girls and my the guys in this book. I mean, yeah, you still get the handsome guy saves the beautiful girl element in the story, but it ends up with the girl saving the day at the end. Like, how many stories do we have Queens and Princesses at war with each other, with the guys a little bit lower on the food chain? 

What I didn't enjoy was the fact this book was WAAY too small! It has so many nice plot elements and characters that I wish we got to see developed more...but the pages. There were a little over 300 pages. 

I didn't really have much of a connection with the characters like I wanted to. I wanted them to make me feel sad, irritable, jealous, annoyed and happy! But I didn't really get that. I think the reason why is because this book had alternating chapters: there would be Charlie's first person POV, the Queen's third person POV, a bit of Max and a bit of Xander POV as well. We did stay with Charlie the majority of the book, but I didn't really see much of her emotions with the other characters.

I saw that it was evident that she loved her sister, Angelina, and was really concerned about her best friend, Brook, but I didn't really get that passion with her and Max. That was sort of a flop for me. It does get a little better in the end, but not by much.

What this book did was trap me with it's nicely paced plot and just...all the story building and the concept around the 'Essence' thing. I really didn't understand what the whole Essence thing was when I first read the beginning if the book, but as we got closer to the end, I got it and I was utterly amazed and creeped out at the same time. Like, does that mean the person that get's the Essence loses heir personality too? 

Ooh, and the PLOT TWISTS! OMG, Kimberly Derting seriously put some plot twists here!

When I learned that Angelina had the ability to heal was like 'What? Since when?!' That was a good plot twist. Another one was revealing who Max really was. I WAS SO NOT EXPECTING THAT ONE! Another one was Max and Xander's relationship, and how Xander was the favourite. I never thought that they'd be, you know...

Overall, this book was pretty satisfying. The overall concept and plot is really good, so 3 out of 5 stars to this book! I seriously can't wait to get The Essence!

Wednesday, 23 October 2013

#JoinTheAgenda: Final Challenge

SOOO, Altered, the sequel to the awesome book, Crewel will be out October 29th, but before that Gennifer Albin is doing ONE LAST challenge to win a signed copy of either books, an Altered swag pack, a spot with the Agenda leaders, and much more.

One of the challenges is sharing a quote from Crewel via Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook or Pintest, using the hashtag #JointheAgenda.

The other challenge? Write a journal entry from someone's POV from Crewel and share it on Facebook, Twitter or Tumblr using the hashtag #JointheAgenda. Pretty cool huh?

I'll be participating in this challenges and will be writing a scene from Jost's POV, and I'll be posting it here on my blog!

Other exciting news? Gennifer Albin HERSELF will be featured on my blog's Saturday Spotlight on November 9th!

And did you guys know that UK YA Author, Eve Edwards, will be featured in this weeks Saturday Spotlight?

Have a great Wednesday everyone!

Waiting On Wednesday: Wish You Were Italian (#7)

Wish You Were Italian by Kristin Rae

Synopsis (from Goodreads):


When seventeen-year-old Pippa Preston ditches her summer art program abroad, she sets out on her own in hopes of falling in love with an Italian, but the road to amore gets detoured when she's torn between a sexy local and a hunky American archaeology student. As she explores the famous cities of Rome and Pompeii, Pippa must sort out her feelings before her parents figure out where she really is, ending her short-lived dream of independence.

This book doesn't have a cover because this book actually comes out next year on May 6th, 2014 (according to Goodreads).

I decided to feature this book on this week's Waiting on Wednesday because this is a book I'm dying to read!

I follow Kristin on twitter, and when I read her bio and heard her novel would be Wish You Were Italian I immediately put it on my to-read list on Goodreads!

The title of my book is like the story of my life. I've read Stravaganza and David by Mary Hoffman, the Secrets of the Eternal Rose by Fiona Paul, and I've read Cross My Heart by Sasha Gould (I should seriously put that review up...), AND I watched the Lizzy Mcguire Movie when I was younger as well! OH, and my friend got me hooked on this Italian group called Il Volo. All of them have one similar trait: it's set in Italy (or in Stravaganza's case, an alternative Italy) and all feature swoon worthy Italian men.

Ever since I've read those books, watched that movie and listened to that band I have always dreamed of travelling to Italy for an abroad program and find myself an Italian guy. Then I've always imagined sneaking out and going on all sorts of crazy adventures. However, I always have to return back to reality and whenever I see a guy, I always think: I wish you were Italian and like the guys in my books.

Guess I don't have to dream anymore! I'll get a chance to read it soon (more like 7 months from now). But I have one question: how did Pippa ever escape from her program anyway? Don't they watch you like a hawk? And judging from the title, does she chose the American guy?!

Have a happy Wednesday guys!

Tuesday, 22 October 2013

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare: Review

Clockwork Prince


Author: Cassandra Clare
Pages: 502 pages
Release Date: December 6th, 2011
Status: Sequel to Clockwork Angel; collector's edition with Will's love letters to Tessa.
 

Synopsis (from Goodreads):
 
In magical Victorian London, orphan Tessa found safety with the Shadowhunters, until traitors betray her to the Magister. He wants to marry her, but so do self-destructive Will and fiercely devoted Jem. Mage Magnus Bane returns to help them. Secrets to her parentage lie with the mist-shrouded Yorkshire Institute's aged manager Alyosius Starkweather.

I'll be honest with you, it took me about 2 1/2 weeks to finish Clockwork Prince, but I did it! And when I finished the book, I just don't understand why I took me so long, regardless of all the stuff I had. I finished it on Friday, and that was the day when my family came from Alberta- it was the start of a very hectic stay, and I got more reading done than I did when they weren't here (ironic huh, considering the fact that I had more work assigned during this Thanksgiving weekend than I did the week before). 

So Clockwork Prince starts a couple of months after the events of Clockwork Angel. Tessa, Will, Jem and the other members of the Institute are up against the Consul and Inquisitor after the escape of Axel Mortiman from the first book.

During their meeting with the Consul, Charlotte's position as the head of the London Institute is challenged by Benedict Lightwood. Unfortunately for Charlotte, Benedict's challenge is recognized and she is given an impossible task to prove that she is fit for a job in a man's world: find Mortiman in two weeks or she'll lose the Institute to Benedict. In addition to her impossible task, she has to have Gideon and Gabriel Lightwood (Benedict's sons) to train those who live in the Institute that are not up to par with Shadowhunters- in other words, Tessa, Sophie and Jessamine.

Along with having to train with the Lightworms (as Will calls them), Tessa has to deal with the fact that Mortiman is still out there with her 'beloved' brother, Nate. But her troubles don't seem to end there when she realizes that her Jem and Will may also be part of her worries...

I really liked this book: the tone was good, the dialogue was good, the plot is good, and overall most of the characters where very likeable. My favourite parts were in the beginning where the whole group was looking for news on Mortiman's possible whereabouts.

"Reparations," said Jem very suddenly, settling down the pen he was holding.

Will looked at him in puzzlement. "Is this a game? We just blurt out whatever word comes next to mind? In that case mine is 'genuphobia'. It means unreasonable fear of knees."

"What's the word for a perfectly reasonable fear of annoying idiots?" inquired Jessamine.

-Clockwork Prince, page 31




It were little times like this that made me laugh, although the overall tone of this tone was very dark and focused on solving the mystery of Mortiman.

What I liked the most is that we get to see all the characters in action in the book-yes, even Jessamine. I feel like this book was dedicated in developing their characters.

My favourite character in this book was Sophie, because she came into her own and became her own person. Not only that, but thanks to Benedict Lightwood (I think that's the only time I'll say thank you to that Lightworm) and his sons, she was able to learn how to be defensive and much more of a warrior. I seriously was jumping up and down with happiness when I read that part where she knocked Jessamine out with a mirror (or was it a hair brush?). That was golden.

The only character that I didn't like was our narrator, Miss. Tessa Grey. OMG, I HAD A TWILIGHT MOMENT WHEN SHE COULDN'T DECIDE WHO SHE LIKED AT THE END. GAHHH. But no, Tessa and TID are a MILLION times better than Twilight. 

What annoyed me was her inability to not make up her mind with Will and Jem. If she wasn't making out with one, she was making out with the other. I get that her decision is a double edged sword (one will get hurt regardless), but I think she's looking for someone who's secure and someone that's not what she actually needs. I seriously didn't know what to do half the time. I was either made or swoon over the boys, it was a toss up.

I really pitied Will and Jessamine the most in this book. I pitied Jessamine because she's just a little girl who refuses to grow up and be a Shadowhunter- a desperate girl that finally got what she deserved. But regardless, I still feel sorry for her. In my head, Jessamine is smaller and much more childlike in my head. However, out of the two, I pitied Will the most. When he told Magnus the whole story as to why he was trying to find the demon that 'cursed' him, I was crying. And by the end of the book when Tessa makes her final decision, I was balling like a baby.
You don't even understand how I felt when he told her to forget everything that he said to her and when Jem announced everything to the group, I was dead when Will just toasted the happy couple. 

I think that's why I didn't like Tessa near the end though, to be honest with you! I just didn't like how she was basing them on how she felt at the moment and not honking of who she really needs at the moment. And to be honest with you, as much as I love both Will and Jem, I feel as if she shouldn't have chosen either of them; it was too early and she needed both of them.

Overall, this book was amazing, and I was okay with how some little things were left for the next book and how some things just ended. My favourite parts were when Will learned the truth, Charlotte wasn't disowned of the Institute and she announced that she and Henry were going to have a baby.

Oh, and when Cecily Herondale showed up as well!

3.5 out of 5 stars!

Sunday, 20 October 2013

Blogger Life: Time Management/Book Haul (#4)

Hey guys! So it's been awhile since I've actually posted a review, but you guys no longer need to worry- I'm working on that!

As I stated before, I'm the new Editor-in-Chief of my school's newspaper, which means A LOT of responsibility. Despite having my good friend, Daria, as my Assistant Editor, I still have a million other things to do!

Last year, I could do everything that I'm doing this year, plus more and still make it home before 3:40. This year, I feel like I'm always running out of time!

Did you know along with the other books that I posted on my other Blogger Life posts, I also have THESE new books to read? 


That right there is a picture of my bed right now, and as you can see, I have my French homework out (I have a script due tomorrow & a presentation TUESDAY), along with Yesterday by C.K Kelly Martin (my Canadian awesome possum...I mean moose), which I'm currently reading at the moment. 

This past two weeks, I've been able to finish Clockwork Prince, The Pledge, and Chantress, and depending on how fast I can finish French, I can finish Yesterday as well (if, you know, I didn't forget anything). Even if I finish Yesterday, I still have Fury, The Lucy Variations, Incarceron (did I mention that's due WEDNESDAY?!), Sapphique and the two novels my librarian gave me to read. And now, I have the first three books of The Lost Books by Ted Dekker, and Blue Bloods and Masquerade by Melissa de la Cruz.

I seriously don't have time anymore. I don't know why, but I just don't. It's like, if I do one thing, I'll forget the other, and there's a huge chance both are very important things. 

Any tips for time management? Usually I'm okay, and I do have a little mess up with schedule but it doesn't usually affect me so much. I do a lot of team leadership programs/ trainings at my school that gets me out of class, but I've been doing that for a year, so it shouldn't make much of a difference, right? 

But I think my biggest question is: should I take a little break from blogging (except for my little Blogger Life posts) to catch up on my reading, or is that a big 'NO NO' !?

Happy Sunday everyone!!

Saturday, 19 October 2013

Saturday Spotlight: Lisa M. Forester

For today's Saturday Spotlight, I am featuring the awesome possum, Lisa M. Forester and her new YA novel,  Freaks, coming out November 28th!


Lisa M. Forester

Lisa M. Forester:


Lisa M. Forester is a Young Adult fiction author living in the North West of England and her debut novel ‘Freaks’ is due for release on the 28th of November 2013.

She has lived on a diet of books since she was six (when she was handed an Enid Blyton story for the very first time) and she constantly lives in hope that reading will become an Olympic sport. After being inspired to write by the plethora of amazing YA writers that exist across the globe, she put pen to paper and produced ‘Freaks’ – which I am sure she would very much love you to read.
 
18484653
 

FREAKS BLURB:
 
Nobody's perfect... or are they?

Abigail always knew that she was different, but what she didn't know was just how different.

That was until her 16th birthday, when her parent's revealed a devastating secret that confirmed her worst fears and changed her life forever.

Abigail is an Allelobrid: one of five children born as a result of their parents illegal science experiment in genetic engineering. The aim: to create a perfect human.

Yet perfection comes at a price.

Forced into a life on the run, Abigail finds love, danger and an organisation that will stop at nothing to get what they want.

When lives are at risk and freedom is threatened - could being perfect be enough to survive?

Pretty awesome synopsis, huh? I really can't wait for this book to come out (a little over a month to go!). I actually was going to feature Freaks for this weeks WOW post, but the Blogger App seemed to mess everything up (-_-). I have a lot of theories for this book, but fortunately enough, Lisa saved my sanity by answering a few questions about herself and Freaks that will hopefull tide me us till it's release next month! Here's the interview, enjoy!
 


1)  Welcome  to The Lovely Grace Lisa! I'm so glad that I got the chance to
feature  you  on my blog! Freaks is your debut novel, and all I have to say
is  that  the  description  is pretty awesome, and I'm so excited for it to
come  out! But before you became an author (or decided to become an author)
what did you want to be?

My  dream  is  still to become a fully-fledged author – at present I try to
co-ordinate  both  working and writing. When I was at school I would change
my mind regularly about my dream job. I am so indecisive! I’ve wanted to be
an  English teacher, a librarian, a vet – you name it! I guess that’s why I
love writing so much… when writing a book I get to be whoever I want to be!


2) What made you want to become a writer, and who influenced you?

Making up stories is just something I’ve always loved to do. My Dad used to
make  my  bedtime  stories  up,  and  he  would include all of my favourite
cartoon  characters and I would get to go on lots of adventures with them –
so  I  suppose you could say that he was a great influence to me. I’ve been
making  up  stories  for  as long as I can remember. I still have the first
book I wrote when I was eleven. It’s called ‘Cinderalli’s Silver Story’ and
I illustrated it myself too. It was a proud moment haha.



3)  Freaks (like I said before) has a pretty awesome synopsis. Is this book
set in the future or is it set during present day?

It’s  set  in  the  present  day,  and  is part located in England and part
located  in the USA. I’m so glad you like the synopsis – I found that to be
the hardest part of the book to write!



4)  Action,  mystery,  romance,  and  of  course,  a  secret  ready to turn
Abigail's  life  upside down. That's A LOT to take in! How long did it take
you to write this book?

Probably  about  5  months for the first draft – but it’s been edited a lot
since  then.  I became obsessive. ‘FREAKS’ was all I could think about. I’d
sit in bed with my laptop on my knee and write until the early hours. Sleep
became a luxury.



5) What was something that kept you motivated during the writing process?

My  family  and  friends,  definitely.  FREAKS is the second YA novel I’ve
wrote - the first is sat on the top of my wardrobe just waiting for the day
when I rework it into something comprehensible. My husband has so much more
faith  in my ability than I do and has encouraged me every step of the way.
He  never  grumbles about the amount of time I spend with my characters, he
read the book first and he did the first edit.

My  friends  are awesome too. I’m lucky that I have a group of friends who
are  all  complete  YA bookworms. We have our own book club and I call them
‘my  geeks’. I’d run ideas by them and ask them for their opinions. When so
many  people  are  supporting  and  encouraging  you  – it’s hard not to be
motivated.



6) So your main character, Abigail, is an Allelobrid; what made you want to
write about a girl who was made to be perfect? And are you *glances around*
an Allelobrid? (cue scary music).


The  moral behind the story is that no one is perfect, and being completely
perfect  would  make  you  a freak. It’s Abigail and the other Allelobrid’s
perfection that makes them freaks. That makes them the ones who stand out.


I liked the fact that this story championed individuality. It supported the
fact  that  being  perfect wouldn’t make anybody happy. We should celebrate
the  fact  that  we  all  have  imperfections and we all have oddities, and
without them – we’d be the weird ones.


It’s  taken  me  a  while to realize that the people you see around you who
look  like  they  are  faultless – aren’t. We can’t all be Grade ‘A’ pupils
with   perfect   skin   and  an  inability  to  be  clumsy.  Everybody  has
imperfections, and that’s fine. It’s more than fine… it’s normal.

I  am  about as far away from being an Allelobrid as possible. I am clumsy
beyond  belief,  I am hopeless at team sports, I’m completely forgetful and
passing  any  Math exam required a HUGE amount of studying on my part – but
that’s fine. What I lack in mathematical ability – I’d like to think I make
up for in creativity.



7) According to the synopsis, Abigail is forced to go on the run due to the
fact she was gentically made to be perfect. Isn't it a bit of contradiction
that  Abigail is forced to run because she's 'perfect' when those that want
to  hurt  her  are  trying  to  do everything to make themselves (and their
lives) seem perfect?


***MINI  SPOILER ALERT***  Technically speaking, Abigail isn’t being chased
because  of  her  perfection.  She is one of the first human beings who had
their  genes  altered before she was born – it was just that her genes were
tampered to create perfection. Her body holds the key to genetic tampering…
but  that doesn’t necessarily mean that her hunters want to make themselves
perfect. Maybe they just want to know how to tamper with genetics for other
reasons!



8)  This book deals with the theme of 'perfection' a lot. Do you think that
the  way  that media portrays the image of perfection distorts our views of
what  a  person  should  be (like)? And what do you think the characters in
Freaks would have to say/ would feel about our media's views of a person?


The  media can be guilty of contributing to a perception of what beauty is.
This  is not healthy, and is particularly worrying for the YA audience when
at  such  an  age  you  may  not  be  fully  secure  about  all your little
imperfections.   We   should   be   placing   more  emphasis  on  embracing
individuality.  Perfection doesn’t exist – and if it did exist, it would be
weird. That is the underlying theme throughout FREAKS.


I  think  Abigail  would  lecture  our  media  sources  about the perils of
creating  a  false  idealism  of  ‘perfection’  –  and about how perfection
wouldn’t  make  someone  in  the  real world happy. Their message should be
about  not  being  afraid  to  be different because of any imperfections or
idiosyncrasies,  and  not  wanting  to simply ‘blend-in’. I think she would
encourage  them  to  emphasize  individuality  and  to stop placing so much
pressure on people to achieve something that doesn’t exist.



9)  I SPOT A RELATIONSHIP IN THE SYNOPSIS! Can you give us a little hint as
to what we can expect? (*gives puppy dog eyes*).

You  can expect a little blossoming romance between two of the characters –
but  I  won’t say which ones. However, I can absolutely confirm that the 16
year  old  me  totally  has  a  crush  on  the  guy  in this book. He would
definitely make my ‘book boyfriend’ list!



10) Are any of the characters based on you or the people in your life?

Not  at all. I can’t even use the names of people I know in real life as my
characters  names, because then – every time I write about them – I see the
person  I know rather than my character, and it becomes entirely confusing.



11) What fictional character is most like you?



Oooh  this  is  a  brilliant  question.  I  think  it’s difficult to find a
character  that is entirely like yourself – but if you remove the tomboyish
nature and the fiery temper, I’m going to say that I’m a little bit like Jo
from  Little Women. She spent her teen years writing stories and acting out
plays,  and  she’s  a  total geek at heart. She’s awkward and clumsy. She’s
prone to spills and accidents and, unfortunately, I am too.


12)  What are you currently reading? And would you ever want to spend a day
as the protagonist of the book that you are currently reading?

I’m  currently  reading  Fangirl  by Rainbow Rowell. You know what? Awkward
siblings and college work aside – I think I could definitely spend a day as
Cather.  I’d  happily  let  Levi  take  me  to  Starbucks and sit and write
fan-fiction all day!  It sounds amazing!


13)  Other  than  reading  and writing, what are some other things that you
like to do?


One  of my favourite things to do is spend time with my family and friends.
I’m  not really a fan of my own company… maybe that’s why I write? When I’m
alone, I get bored easily so I fill the void with my made up friends!

I  like nothing better than watching a dvd with my family or going out for
pizza and a movie with my friends.

I  also  love  to  travel  and wander around other countries. I’ve been so
lucky  to  see  some  amazing  parts  of the world whilst raising money for
charity doing treks with my friends. We’ve been to China to trek across the
Great  Wall  and  to Morocco to climb Mount Toubkal. These experiences have
been tough, but they’ve given me memories to last a lifetime.


And 14) Do you have any special talents or skills?


I’m not sure that this is a talent or a skill – but I like to bake novelty
cakes. I’ve made a Harry Potter Hogwarts cake, a Cinderellas castle, a
‘Tangled’ Rapunzel tower… you name it! And the best thing about that skill
is the fact that you get to eat the end product.

So that's it for this Saturday's Spotlight! Thank you Lisa for taking the time to be interviewed! Make sure you go out and buy Freaks on November 28th at a bookstore near you!

Wanna learn more about Lisa? Click the links bellow!

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18484653-freaks

Website: lisamforester.wix.com/books

Twitter: @lisamforester

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorlisamforester

And tune in next week for Eve Edwards, the author of the Lacey Chronicles, and her Halloween dinner party!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...