Friday, 29 November 2013

Fangirl Friday: Sydney Sage + an interview with Daisy Masterman! (#7)

It's Fangirl Friday and this week, I'm featuring my first ever female character from Richelle Mead's Bloodlines Series:

Sydney Sage!



Synopsis:

Blood doesn't lie...
Sydney is an alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of human and vampires. They protect vampire secrets - and human lives. When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she's still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir - the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir - is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill's guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the last place anyone would think to look for vampire royalty - a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. But instead of finding safety at Amberwood Prep, Sydney discovers the drama is only just beginning...


There are currently 4 BOOKS in the Bloodlines series: Bloodlines, The Golden Lily, Indigo Spell, and the Fiery Heart (which is out right now). I have YET to read TFH (broke girl problems, ya know?), and NONE of my libraries are update. So I have to wait till after Christmas to R&R...

But anways, that doesn't mean I can't feature Sydney on Fangirl Friday!

All About the Alchemist:

Sydney Sage is an 18 year old Alchemist (that's a person dedicated to hiding vampires from the human world) when she's first introduced in the fourth book of the Vampire Academy series, Blood Promise. She's cold, distant, and has an unbelievably remarkable talent for being right and having amazing comebacks, but after a little while, we get to see her much friendlier side- but that doesn't mean she stops with the on-going comebacks and being 'smart' thing.

We learn that the Alchemist's prejudice and hard-core teaching methods are the reason behind her cold, disconnected exterior and fear with vampires and dhampirs.

She starts warming up when she spends time with Rose and Dimitri, but finally becomes at ease (or at least learns to be) in California, where she is forced to live with Jill, Eddie, Angeline, and the swoony and post-break up Adrian.

She comes a long way from Vampire Academy to the Fiery Heart: she goes from the girl having to have Rose Hathaway defend her from Strigoi in Russia to a badass magic wielding girl in California, who also happens to be in love with a vampire. A huge step up from her first apperance.

Facts:

  • Born Sydney Katherine Sage to alchemist Jared Sage and his wife, Deborah

  • Grew up in Utah with two sisters, Carly (older, College Student), and Zoe (younger, alchemist-in-training). They also have a family cat.

  • Her mom taught her about cars at a young age, to the point where she has a car obsession.

  • She is my spirit-animal She has a coffee addiction and knows too much for her own good.
Why is Sydney Fangirl Friday worthy?

Sydney is much more different from Rose's character, and when I first started reading the series, I felt like I was cheating on Rose. But I started to ease into it, and realized (thankfully) that early on, that comparing the two series was stupid. Like Rose says in the VA series "no two relationships are alike", and Rose and Sydney are NOT alike.

When I read Rose's books, I'm drawn to her trying to figure out what's wrong and what's right, and when it's time to grow up. I connect with her because I'm trying to figure that out as well.

With Sydney...she's me. Literally. Except I don't have a vampire BF, I have no magical powers and I suck at math. But Sydney's perfect in every sense, and everyone pretty much views her that way. I've been told MANY times that I'm viewd the same way: in control, intelligent, intimedating. In reality I'm not, and I'm as socially awkward as Sydney (well, not exactly, but I'm still a little awkward). I'm a little up tight as well, and it takes my close friends to bring out that goofy side. :)

Sydney is worthy of Fangirl Friday because she's easy to connect with. She's a human girl- and then some. Sydney is also a person that can stick her own and get what she wants as well; she uses her wits, her smarts and her self-determination.

And, if that isn't enough to make you love her, she can also wield magic. Yeah. She can totally burn vampires :)

WHEW! So that was my part of Fangirl Friday! In addition to sharing my thoughts on Sydney Sage and why she's totally worth fangirling over, here's my interview with the actress that portray's Sydney herself in the book trailers:
Daisy Masterman!


About Daisy:

Daisy Masterman, born 6 April 1990, is an Australian actress who grew up in Melbourne, Victoria. During her schooling years Daisy was involved in school plays and took drama lessons as a hobby, but it was only after she graduated from high school in 2008 that she decided to start pursuing acting further. Having signed with Triple Talent Management she has gone on to appear in many commercials for brands such as Tetley and Cadbury. Along with acting Daisy loves figure skating and has appeared on The Today Show and The David and Kim Show as an exhibitionist skater. Her most recent notable role was for a book trailer for a sequel off series of the well known Vampire Academy novels. Daisy plays the lead role, Sydney Sage in Bloodlines.

Daisy has just finished working on a feature film called Murderdrome which is a comical slasher film that she had to learn to roller skate and play roller derby for. Her character goes against type as she plays the antagonist's bitchy side kick.The film is currently in post production and is set for release in 2013.


Follow her on Twitter: @daisymasterman and on Facebook :D




1) Hello Daisy, and welcome to The Lovely Grace! I'm so happy to have you here! For all those who don't know it, you're an actress and a model, but do you have an special talents that no one know about?

Hmm secret special talents... Well, I find it comes in handy about zero percent of the time but I can click my tongue really loudly. Or one of my friends recently taught me how to hand whistle. It took me ages to work out how to do it so I was pretty excited when I finally got it!
2) You portray Sydney Sage in the Bloodlines trailers, and what has that experience been like for you?

I love Sydney and the entire Bloodlines series so it's been such an honor to be able to represent her and be involved in the trailers. It's difficult trying to portray a book character to people because everyone creates their own interpretation of things in their imagination and bringing that to life is a real challenge but it's one I've definitely enjoyed. I've discovered (similarly to Sydney) that I can't try to please everyone, and all I can do is work hard and give it my best.
3) Do you find it a bit surreal that the international Vampire Academy and Bloodlines community have been taking so much notice in you, Nick and the trailers, and give as much love and hype for it as the movie trailers?

Totally surreal. I never expected to get such a response from people, and particularly one that's worldwide! It's great that there's such a passionate community out there from the readers and it's really flattering people have given us as much support as they have.
4) What's your favourite thing about Sydney? What's your least favourite thing about her?

My favourite thing about Sydney is probably her intelligence. I love how she goes with what she believes in regardless of what she's been taught or told. I think that's really strong of her and is something to be admired. My least favorite thing is that she is sometimes a bit too serious or uptight... But I kind of still love that about her! It's part of her charm.
5) What's something that you would tell Sydney if you were ever written in as a character?

I'd probably try to get her to loosen up a bit more and make some mischief!
6) I'm going to ask a question that every girl wants to know: Is Nick a good kisser? ;)

He's a real life Adrian Ivashkov, everything he says or does is exactly like what you would expect Adrian to do. He's so perfectly cast for this role.

...I dodged the question a little there but take from it what you will :P haha.
7) Switching gears for a moment: have you seen the Blood Sister's trailer yet and are you excited for the movie!

I have seen it and yes! I'm super excited. I think it looks awesome and I cannot wait to go see it.
8) If you had the choice to choose one actor from the movie to film a scene with for the trailer or just act alongside with in any production, who would you choose?

They have such a great cast on board for the movie I would be lucky to work with any one of them!
9) Are you filming/ have any productions going on at the moment? If so, do you think your character will beat Sydney in a trivia game?

Murderdrome had its premiere on the 22nd of November, it's been a long time in the making so it was great to see how it turned out. And I just finished a stage production of Louis Nowra's play 'The Golden Age' where I played Betsheb.
My character in Murderdrome is a blonde, ditzy roller derby girl and Betsheb is a wild-ling so I have a feeling Sydney would definitely beat both of them in a trivia game. Sydney is like a walking Wikipedia, she'd be some tough competition!!!
And 10) What do you think makes Sydney Sage fangirl Friday worthy?
She's Sydney Sage!

THIS OR THAT? SPEED QUESTIONS!

Coffee or Tea?
Tea! Specifically peppermint.
Book or e-book?
Nothing beats a good old fashioned paperback novel.
Stage or film production?
Both.
Sweetish Berries or Chocolate?
Chocolate. Junk food ftw :P
Figure Skating or Acting?
Acting.
Dimitri Belikov or Adrian Ivashkov? ;)
Adrian. For sure!
That's it for Fangirl Friday! Have an amazing Friday, and Happy Thanksgiving to my US peeps, and Happy Hanukkah to those that are celebrating it!
AND THANK YOU SO MUCH to Daisy for taking the time out of her busy schedule to do this interview! I really appreciate it!

Wednesday, 27 November 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Fire & Flood (#11)


Author: Victoria Scott
Release Date: February 25th, 2014
Pages: 320
Publisher: Scolastic Press

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

A modern day thrill ride, where a teen girl and her animal companion must participate in a breathtaking race to save her brother's life—and her own.

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can't determine what's wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She's lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she's helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It's an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother's illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there's no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can't trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

The cover for this novel looks pretty awesome. And the synopsis is pretty cool as well. To me, it sounds like it's going to be an amazing read.

What drew me to this book (other than the cover) was just my curiosity: what's the Cure? Why is it in the jungle? Does the Cure cure anything and/or everything? Do her parents care about what she feels? Is she going to save her brother?

So many questions, but unfortunately, I'll have to wait till February for my answers!

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Tuesday, 26 November 2013

Fangirl Friday: Special Announcement!

Hey guys, I hope you're having an awesome Tuesday! 

So this week for Fangirl Friday, I'm featuring the actress/model, Daisy Masterman!


All of you who are familiar with Vampire Academy and have followed the series to Bloodlines all know that Daisy portrays our bookish, yet witty alchemist Sydney Sage in the Bloodlines book trailers!

I've hinted on both my twitter accounts (@missyallydums97 & @VACanadaNews) that I would be interviewing an actress! :) this is a cool surprise, isn't it?

Daisy was kind enough to answer some questions for me and be featured for this week!

What is Fangirl Friday? Fangirl Friday is a post I do on Fridays where I Fangirl over books, and (usually) over male characters in books. This week I'm fangirling over Sydney, my first female on the feature. 

There will be NO Fiery Heart related questions because I know some people haven't read it yet (like me, for example). 

For international fans, the interview will be posted at approximately 6-7pm EST- I'll have more information as the week progresses!

Have a happy Tuesday guys!

Sunday, 24 November 2013

Blogger Life: Book Haul (#6)

I actually didn't get a chance to post this last week, but here's my book haul!


Look at those gorgeous titles! I got them last Saturday and at the time, I had 9 books (including those ones up there) to read.

I also got this lovely book in the mail from Epic Reads (btw, I never knew how much I was missing out until I actually watched their vlogs). 


And yeah, I got a lovely Epic Reads bag with *book shimmy* on it :)

AND this Friday, I got this book from the mail as well:

I currently have 11 books to read plus 5 ebooks. Yeah. 

I was going to read two of my library books this weekend and planned to finish one of my ebooks, but the problem is that I actually missed TWO DAYS of math and economics, and a day of English. And on top of that, I've been sick since Wednesday, and my fever started disappearing only yesterday. My weekend was busy (I had three days of math homework to finish, I'm currently crying over the fact that I still don't understand what I'm doing in economics, and I have to make study notes for my French novel study/essay). Oh, and I was so sick to the point where I couldn't watch Catching Fire. 

On the bright side: I watched the Day of the Doctor. It was a beautiful episode! :D I have sooooo many thoughts on what's to come and have soooo many theories! Unfortunately, I can't put gifs onto these posts using the Blogger App, but I can post pictures, like this end shot from the 50th special:


Have a good Sunday guys! :)


Friday, 22 November 2013

Happy 3 Month Blogaversary to Me!

Yup, it's official! I've been blogging for THREE WHOLE MONTHS! I find it kind of weird how time goes by so fast! I never thought I'd actually last a month, let alone three!

In the span of three months, I've found my love of reading and writing again, made lots of new friends from around the world, interviewed some pretty awesome authors and actors, and won a couple neat prizes here and there! :)

Normally, people give out prizes during these 'blogaversaries' but unfortunately, I am not financially stable enough to afford so many books that 95% of the books that I do borrow are library books. I probably will have my first book contest probably by JANUARY, after my parents let me go crazy during Christmas and do a gigantic book haul (this only happens at least twice a year) to restock my shelf. That's when I'll probably be able to clean out my shelves :) If I can't do a book haul this year (and to be honest, I'm not even a hundred percent sure I can this year), I probably WILL be able to do a book haul in FEBRUARY when it's my 6 month blogaversary :) 

But right now, I got some awesome news to tell you guys about, and all you Vampire Academy and Bloodlines fans better be coming back on the blog when I get it confirmed. It's at the early stages at the moment, but I can tell you this: I've interviewed someone that you all know, and she will be featured on Fangirl Friday! She will be the first girl featured on Fangirl Friday.

No, she isn't from the Blood Sisters cast (unfortunately, I don't think they'll ever recoginze anyone with a small blog like mine), but she is someone who took time out of her busy schedule to talk to me! 

So make sure to come back soon for the official announcement!

Have a wonderful Friday guys! 

Thursday, 21 November 2013

The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr: Review

11819981

Author: Sara Zarr
Pages: 309
Release Date: May 7th, 2013
Publisher: Little Brown

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Lucy Beck-Moreau once had a promising future as a concert pianist. The right people knew her name, her performances were booked months in advance, and her future seemed certain.

That was all before she turned fourteen.

Now, at sixteen, it's over. A death, and a betrayal, led her to walk away. That leaves her talented ten-year-old brother, Gus, to shoulder the full weight of the Beck-Moreau family expectations. Then Gus gets a new piano teacher who is young, kind, and interested in helping Lucy rekindle her love of piano -- on her own terms. But when you're used to performing for sold-out audiences and world-famous critics, can you ever learn to play just for yourself?

National Book Award finalist Sara Zarr takes readers inside the exclusive world of privileged San Francisco families, top junior music competitions, and intense mentorships. The Lucy Variations is a story of one girl's struggle to reclaim her love of music and herself. It's about finding joy again, even when things don't go according to plan. Because life isn't a performance, and everyone deserves the chance to make a few mistakes along the way.


This was a good book about a child prodigy who (unintentionally) gives up her life after the death of her grandmother which strains her family's relationship, and leaves her wondering who she really is. Lucy knows that the piano was once her safe haven, but realizes that at some point, the magic disappeared. With the help of Will, she reconnects with that passion for playing, but is his help really any different from her grandfather's strict ways?

It was sweet and held all the things that a YA contemporary has: relationships, friendships, and self-discovery, and to me it stands out. I think it probably has to do with the fact that Lucy is a piano player and her grandfather is so passionate about music, because I play the piano (although no where near her level or skill) and my dad is very passionate about music as well. If I had the same easy-going, obedient kid thing going for me when I was younger, my dad would've probably pushed me like Lucy's grandfather pushed her- but my dad's too nice for that  (thankfully :D).

I found it interesting that Lucy hung out with a very older crowd for the majority of ther book. Like I get that she grew up half her life socializing adults, but I found it weird that her and Will were texting- oh yeah, and despite what the synopsis says/will lead you to think, Will is 30! (or somewhere around that age).

I liked Lucy as a narrator, but I just didn't find the other supporting characters interesting, with the exception of her French father calling her "Poulette" and Martin. Normally, this would bother me more, but this story IS called the Lucy Variations, and does a good job telling Lucy's story to self discovery. I especially love the Love Playlist at the end of the novel. Whoever thought that Usher would make it alongside of great composers/musicians of classical music?

3 out of 4 stars! :D

Wednesday, 20 November 2013

The Prophecy by Erin Alberts: Review




Author: Erin Albert
Pages: 250
Release Date: November 15th 2013
Publisher: MuseitUp Publishing

Synopsis:

Growing up on a small farm in the kingdom of Vanguard, seventeen-year-old Layla Givens lives a deceptively tranquil existence. But her carefully constructed life quickly falls apart when she’s abducted by a religious zealot who proclaims her The Fulfillment of an ancient peace prophecy and whisks her away to marry her greatest enemy.

Wilhelm, Prince of the Ethereals, is reluctant to meet his new bride. He's grown up believing Vanguards are evil, an enemy to fight and fear...not love. Can he set aside his prejudices and work alongside Layla to bring lasting peace after centuries of war?

Nash, a loner who has never fit in, carries a huge secret, one big enough to destroy both kingdoms. When he accidently meets Layla, he’s no longer content to live in the shadows, but he must resist his growing attraction—for her safety and for the longevity of the two kingdoms.

When Nash's secret is revealed, a firestorm sweeps through both realms, with Layla at the center. Now she must choose between duty and desire while the fate of two nations hangs in the balance.

Traditions, mystical powers, and an ancient feud between two warring kingdoms and their 'neutral' counterparts, everything about The Prophecy by Erin Albert is AMAZING! This is honestly one of the best debuts that I've been fortunate to read this year!

The story starts off with Layla Givens, a seemingly normal 17 year old Vanguard girl- except she has black hair and purple eyes, the description of the Fulfilment, the chosen one from the First Ones. Her life seems completely normal...until she is taken away by an Ecclesiastic. Soon, Layla finds herself swept into an age old feud between her people, the Vanguards, and the enemy the Ethereals. People will die, Kingdoms will fall, allegiances and hearts will be broken, and secrets will be revealed all in the name of 'peace'. But what is peace if lives will be ruined?

I totally loved this book, and I am not given out any spoilers! Nope, none from me!

This book had brought out many emotions from me. From Layla to Nash to Wil and to Vespa- all of the characters were wonderful. While I didn't get much 'descriptive fillers' as I call it in the book, you got that sense of magic and mystery from the characters. The plot and the whole overall story right to it's very Moffat-like ending was perfectly planned and executed- you will not put this story down. Seriously. I was reading this on my phone right in front of my French teacher. The beginning just excites you and pulls you in, and the ending...OH THE ENDING!...yes, it will leave you with a whirlwind of emotions- and eagerly waiting for the next book.

This book is going to have to be on my 'Best of 2013' post in December. Seriously guys, go get it! This book is like Reign, just 100 times more action filled and swoony-er!

4 out of 5 stars to The Prophecy!

Thank you so much Erin for giving me an ARC of the e-book! You blew me away!
                        **************
Expert:


“Everything must be taken down.”  A rotund man, with beady black eyes, surveyed the town, disdain in his expression.  While he did not appear distinguishable from the other black and purple clad men, he spoke with authority. “The First Ones and their great Prophecy must be honored properly.” He sniffed, his actions indicating the very existence of Medlin and its occupants offended him.
 
Layla wondered what this man considered a “proper honoring” of the First Ones.  The First Ones…they’d been dead for centuries, and, as far as Layla could tell, hadn’t done much in life except start a never-ending war.  She knew nothing more about them except that she was to thank them for good things, curse them for bad, and celebrate them on this day.
 
“That’s Elder Werrick, head of the Ecclesiastics,” whispered Samson, glancing back at Grant.  Layla noticed the look that passed between them.
 
Grant nodded his assent. “Get her out of here, brother.”
 
Samson tried to steer Layla away, but she held her position to get a closer look at the man whom her family so feared. She knew they had good reason to worry—her black hair and purple eyes marked her as a Fulfillment candidate, one with the potential to bring about the long awaited peace. But she couldn’t quite bring herself to believe Elder Werrick would notice her on the crowded streets, especially with her eye drops and hood. Could he really be responsible for dragging candidates from their homes, forcing them to undergo strenuous, sometimes gruesome, testing for the sake of the Prophecy?  To Layla, he looked like nothing more than a short, fat, unhappy man.  The very notion that he could strike such fear into the hearts of her people seemed almost laughable…almost. As his gaze swept over the crowd, she glimpsed a sinister undertone that made her shiver.
 
Waving his pudgy arms at the awaiting townspeople, Werrick commanded, “Take it down.”  
Suddenly, his body stilled and his tiny eyes grew wide.  They briefly connected with Layla’s, narrowing with calculation.  The Elder turned to his nearest black clad companion.  
 
“Do you feel that?” Layla heard Werrick ask.  
 
The other man looked skeptical.  “Feel what, Elder?”
 
Werrick leaned in as the two whispered, stealing furtive glances in her direction.  When the Elder’s companion pointed at Layla, Samson grabbed her arm. She heard his breathing change from rhythmic to jagged as he pulled her away from the men.
 
“We have to go now.” His urgency spurred her into action.
 
Grant moved to block them from the Elder’s view.  “Get her away from here, Samson.”
 
The Elder looked up to see everyone staring at him as if frozen. He repeated his demand, “I said take everything down.”
 
The townspeople, joined by the Elder’s minion, scampered to remove their decorations, anxious to “properly” celebrate the First Ones.  Their flurry of activity concealed Layla as Samson and Grant escorted her away.  Layla scanned the streets, horrified, as the people of Medlin stripped the town’s center barren.  In no time, everything appeared as it always had, devoid of any celebratory adornments.  She looked up at the sky with its gray clouds lingering overhead.  A bad omen…
 
On the hill, a safe distance away, Layla watched a group of Ecclesiastics erect a monstrous stage where the donkey races should have occurred.  She heard the braying of the angry animals, harnessed and corralled on the orders of the Elder to avoid interfering with the “true” Day of Dawning celebration. Her ire rose.  Who did they think they were coming in and changing everything?  
 
An icy, phantom finger traced a frigid line down her spine.  After hearing warning after warning from the Mantars her whole life, Layla knew exactly what the Ecclesiastics could do, what they had done to others in the past.  Maybe Samson and Grant had been right.  Maybe she should never have come, especially today.  Layla turned her back on the town, resolved to go home, to safety.  
 
“Layla!” Samson’s alarmed tone sliced into her, and she swung around toward him.  
 
To her horror, two Vanguard soldiers forced Samson to the ground.  She knew just how much strength he possessed, yet he couldn’t free himself. Her hands balled up into fists, shaking with their desire to unleash the full force of their fury.
 
“Run!” Samson screamed before a soldier’s fist smashed into his face.  
 
His body stilled.  Panic, coupled with indecision, crippled her.  She should run like Samson commanded, but she couldn’t leave him lying there.  To her relief, Grant ambled toward them, his eyes full of rage.  
 
“Run!” Grant echoed Samson’s warning.
 
With a final glance at the two boys who’d been as close to her as brothers, Layla fled.  She flew down the hill, swinging her head from side to side in alarm.  Ecclesiastics swarmed throughout the city, making a clear escape route difficult to discern.  
 
Terror rose within Layla.  Why hadn’t she listened to her family?  She’d been foolish to believe she could sneak around under the ever-watchful eyes of the Ecclesiastics, and that hubris put Samson and Grant in danger as well.  She choked back a sob.  
 
“Run,” she whispered.  
 
Willing her feet to move forward, Layla darted toward the back of the baker’s shop, hoping to take a shortcut through the back alleyway.  She swerved to miss a wooden box and stumbled, arms flailing to right herself. Unfamiliar hands reached out to break her fall.  Once stable, Layla looked up to find Elder Werrick staring down at her.  She screamed but no sound came out of her open mouth.  
 
“I’ve been looking for you,” he said, a wicked smile on his face.  

Fall in love with the world of the Ethernals and the Vanguards. Buy The Prophecy, which is out now!
                        **************







Erin Albert is an author and fitness trainer.  Since she picked up Morris the Moose Goes to School at age four, she has been infatuated with the written word.  She went on to work as a grammar and writing tutor in college and is still teased by herfamily and friends for being a member of the "Grammar Police."  In her free time, Erin enjoys acting, running, kickboxing, and, of course, reading and writing.  
Find me online:
 
 
Twitter:  @ErinAlbertBooks
 
 
 
 

Waiting on Wednesday: The Promise of Amazing (#10)


Author: Robin Constantine
Release Date: December 31st, 2013
Pages: 384


Synopsis (from Goodreads):


Wren Caswell is average. Ranked in the middle of her class at Sacred Heart, she’s not popular, but not a social misfit. Wren is the quiet, “good” girl who's always done what she's supposed to—only now in her junior year, this passive strategy is backfiring. She wants to change, but doesn’t know how.

Grayson Barrett was the king of St. Gabe’s. Star of the lacrosse team, top of his class, on a fast track to a brilliant future—until he was expelled for being a “term paper pimp.” Now Gray is in a downward spiral and needs to change, but doesn’t know how. 

One fateful night their paths cross when Wren, working at her family’s Arthurian-themed catering hall, performs the Heimlich on Gray as he chokes on a cocktail weenie, saving his life literally and figuratively. What follows is the complicated, awkward, hilarious, and tender tale of two teens shedding their pasts, figuring out who they are—and falling in love.

I am soooooo excited for Christmas because my mom promised to get me a Chapters gift card this year to buy books! I broke my laptop and I know I should be getting a new one, and I also need to get my license as well, but I really, really, really want books and when I get that gift card on Christmas morning, I am SOOOOOO buy this book alongside the other 294810472919 books I said was going to read!

The Promise of Amazing looks like a cute, YA contemporary novel about finish yourself and that one amazing person to help you get through that difficult part of your life. I've already read a couple reviews for it, and I'm ready for this book! 

Other than the grabbing synopsis, there's something very attractive and appealing to the cover. It's cute with the couple and all, but the overall scenic background and don't just grabs my attention. I really want to grab this book of the shelf right now. How many more days till Christmas again?

Happy Wednesday guys!

Saturday, 16 November 2013

Saturday Spotlight: Gennifer Albin

Bet you guys didn't see me doing a Saturday Spotlight this week, did you? I'm so sorry for my semi-hiatus, but sometimes school has to come before reading, writing and blogging! 

Fortunately for me, I got the chance to ask Gennifer Albin a couple questions before mid-terms about her YA books, Crewel and Altered! 

Here's my Saturday Spotlight interview with the Gennifer! Enjoy!


1) Welcome! I'm so happy to have you here Gennifer! You are one of my favourite authors! What inspired you to write the Crewel series?


I was thinking of a painting by Remedios Varo where girls are sitting in a tower embroidering and the fabric is becoming the world. I wanted to write a story about one of the girls who doesn’t want to be there.


2) Gender discrimination is a HUGE theme in this book. Was this something that your were expecting to happen while writing the story, or something that came along after?


I didn’t expect it. It developed very naturally on its own, and I had to be careful not to get on a soapbox about it. I wanted the idea to feel organic to the story so that readers would want to think about and ask their own questions about what it means to be a girl in that world.


3) The Crewel series is a book set in a future dystopian, and your character, Adelice, has a lot to deal with. How do you think she differs from other YA characters set in the same genre?


At the heart of most YA books is the search for identity, but what sets Adelice apart is her world and how she perceives herself as part of it. I think she copes by using humor and wit, which I hope sets her apart as well.


4) Maela, Pryanna, and Adelice all have different personalities, but similar abilities. Why do you think Maela and Pryanna have succumbed to the 'idealism' of Spinsters? (e.g being bossy, mean, spoiled and power hungry?).


There’s a good deal of nature vs. nurture going on with all of these characters, but I think some of these characters will surprise you by the end of the series. Each of them is looking out for her own interests, and I think that each girl does that in different ways according to how she sees her role in that world.


5) Was the process of developing the characters and the world of Arras a difficult one?


The characters came fairly easily, although some of them were added in later drafts. Building the world was much harder and required a lot of layering in of detail. I found myself thinking a lot about what the reader needed to know to understand this world, which meant lots of fine tuning and a fair bit of creativity.


6) On your Wattpad page, the first 6 chapters of ALTERED are up there, along with a (mini) prequel to the book. I've read the first couple chapters of Altered, and am DYING to get my hands on it! What can we expect from the characters (Adelice, Jost and Erik) while they're on Earth?


Secrets, fighting, lying, kissing. They’re going to find themselves in danger a lot, which forces them to confront their relationships with one another. Everyone is going to make tough decisions in Altered, which prepares them for the even tougher issues they deal with in book three.


7) Will we finally learn the story of Erik leaving his town, his rift with Jost, and what's happening with Sebrina and Amie?


You’ll learn a lot about all of that, and I think some of the revelations will surprise you. Erik really comes to life in this book.


8) Can we trust Dante? And is Kincaid another version of Cormac? Or is he like Al Capone?


Can you trust anyone? A far as Kincaid, he reminds me more of William Randolph Hearst crossed with Al Capone.


9) Is it weird writing both in the YA and Adult genres? Are very similar or really different?


Very different, but very fulfilling. It’s hard to switch modes sometimes, but it’s like a mental work-out.


SPEED ROUND QUESTIONS:


10) I saw a CREWEL photoshoot picture on your Twitter. Are the covers going to be redesigned?


No. The new designs will be sticking.


11) Do you think time and space can be weaved? If so, would you want to have Spinster powers?


I hope not, and no (except to maybe warp a spot of peace sometimes).


12) What book are you currently reading? And would you want to be that character?


I’m reading the Outlander series, and I don’t think I would want to be Claire, although she fascinates me.


13) Are any of the CREWEL characters based on anyone you know?


I tend to think Jost and Erik are modeled on my husband a bit, which embarrasses him.


14) What is one BIG pet-peeve that you have?


People who don’t use turn signals.


15) Do you have an organized writing process or is it all over the place? (Like mine).


Depends on the book. I don’t think there’s a one-size-fits-all process.


16) Who has influenced you the most in your writing?


I honestly don’t know.


ABOUT GENNIFER:


Gennifer Albin is a recovering academic who discovered she could write books of her own, and people would actually read them.  She lives in Kansas with her family, but escapes daily to the world of Arras and other fantastical lands.

 

She appreciates strong coffee and bold imaginations, prefers her heroines with sass, and searches continuously for her next big adventure.


She is the author of the YA Crewel Series (which currently consists of Crewel and Altered), and the author of the adult series, Good Girls Don't.


For more information about Gennifer, check her out in these places bellow:


TWITTER: @GenniferAlbin

WEBSITE: genniferalbin.com

BLOG: genniferalbin.blogspot.ca

TUMBLR: midnightinarras.tumblr.com

GOODREADS: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4906436.Gennifer_Albin?from_search=true

Monday, 11 November 2013

Rachel Vincent Giveaway!

Hey guys!

Sorry I've been a little MIA- I haven't been in class in awhile, and I've been catching up on A LOT of homework!

I'm really behind on reading, reviews and posts, but I'm currently working on a story too (but I'm not part of NaNo, this is something I've been working on for awhile), so everything has been pushed back! But don't worry, I should be posting regularly starting next week! I have a lot of exciting news!

Anyways, did you guys hear that Rachel Vincent is giving away books 1-4 of the Lux Series? And they're signed by Jennifer L. Armentrout! 

The little raffle copter thing to enter is on the side, so got enter! It's open to anyone 13+ living in the US and Canada only! The giveaway is only 7 days!

Have a good night guys!

Tuesday, 5 November 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Secret Diamond Sisters (#9)

This week I'm waiting on Secret Diamond Sisters by Michelle Madow!


The cover is so pretty, and I really like the makeup on the model as well. Whenever I try to recreate that cats-eye effect on my eye, it NEVER turns out well!

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Savannah. Courtney. Peyton. 

The three sisters grew up not knowing their father and not quite catching a break. But it looks like their luck is about to change when they find out the secret identity of their long-lost dad—a billionaire Las Vegas hotel owner who wants them to come live in a gorgeous penthouse hotel suite. Suddenly the Strip's most exclusive clubs are all-access, and with an unlimited credit card each, it should be easier than ever to fit right in. But in a town full of secrets and illusion, fitting in is nothing compared to finding out the truth about their past.

Secret Diamond Sisters comes out February 25th, 2014! I seriously can't wait! :) 


Monday, 4 November 2013

Incarceron by Catherine Fisher: Review


Author: Catherine Fisher
Pages: 442
Release Date: May 3rd, 2007

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Incarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells and corridors, but metal forests, dilapidated cities, and wilderness. It has been sealed for centuries, and only one man has ever escaped. Finn has always been a prisoner here. Although he has no memory of his childhood, he is sure he came from Outside. His link to the Outside, his chance to break free, is Claudia, the warden's daughter, herself determined to escape an arranged marriage. They are up against impossible odds, but one thing looms above all: Incarceron itself is alive . . .

This took me a while to get started on due to school and other interruptions, but once I started reading it without any distractions, I could not put it down.

Incarceron tells the story of Finn, a boy believed to be a Starseer, or a prophet of sorta that can find a way out of the Prison. Which happens to be alive. It also tells the story of the Warden of Incarceron's daughter, Claudia, who lives Outside in her own personal prison. The story weaves together, building a world that can never change, but characters that live a lifetime within the pages.

What I loved the most about this book was Fisher's ability to create such a world that controls the people within it as a real person- like a real tyrannt- and another world where the rulers have learned to become the human embodiment of the prison. 

This world jumps between the Prison (Incarceron) and the Outside (The Realm), and draws Claudia and Finn together through a mysterious key that can unlock all the secrets of both their worlds (literally and figuratively), and set them free.

Incarceron is a novel that I would recommend to everyone! It's a story that can turn any skeptic of YA fiction into a believer! I can't wait to get started on Sapphique! 

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars :)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...