Wednesday, 28 May 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (#31): The Vault of Dreamers by Caragh M. O'Brien







20518838



Author: Caragh M. O'Brien
Pages: 432 pages
Publisher: Roaring Book Press

Release Date: September 16th, 2014
Status: standalone...maybe?

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

From the author of the Birthmarked trilogy comes a fast-paced, psychologically thrilling novel about what happens when your dreams are not your own.

The Forge School is the most prestigious arts school in the country. The secret to its success:  every moment of the students' lives is televised as part of the insanely popular Forge Show, and the students' schedule includes twelve hours of induced sleep meant to enhance creativity. But when first year student Rosie Sinclair skips her sleeping pill, she discovers there is something off about Forge. In fact, she suspects that there are sinister things going on deep below the reaches of the cameras in the school. What's worse is, she starts to notice that the edges of her consciousness do not feel quite right. And soon, she unearths the ghastly secret that the Forge School is hiding—and what it truly means to dream there.


This seems like my type of school: dystopian, sci-fi, adventure, and a bit of creepiness all injected into one. This seems like a cool concept and a real unique take on a reality show. I cannot wait for this book to be released!

Tuesday, 27 May 2014

Happy Book Birthday!

Hey guys! I know I was supposed to write a review, but I seriously did not have enough time to do so because 1) Blogger is being weird and messing up the format of my posts, and 2) My Hotmail isn't synching everything into my phone app and it's causing a lot of problems for me. So...yeah.

Hopefully, I'll have reviews up and running again next week, and my features being posted consistently again.

Anyways, if you aren't already aware, today is the released day of City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare!


ΕRCHOMAI, SEBASTIAN HAD SAID. 

I am coming.

Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in the world can defeat him — must they journey to another world to find the chance?
Amazon: http://www.amazon.ca/gp/search/ref=x_gr_w_bb?keywords=9781481426305&index=books&linkCode=qs&tag=httpwwwgoodco-20
Chapters Indigo: http://m.indigo.ca/home?sc=9781481426305&sf=ISBN&sortKey=Default&sortDirection=0&ps=Books_Section&langtype=4105
Barnes&Noble: http://m.barnesandnoble.com/w/city-of-heavenly-fire-cassandra-clare/1116394309?ean=9781442416895
Did you guys get your copy yet? I haven't really caught up with the series (and to be honest with you, I'm not entirely sure I will), but I hope you all have a copy! And I will pray for you and your feels to recover!

And also, today is a special day because today, MERIDIAN by Josin L. McQuien is released!

So happy book birthday to her as we! Go out and buy your copy today!


Marina thought that she had solved all of the Arclight’s mysteries. She had found her own history—that she was one of the Fade, that she never should have been human. She knows that the Fade who surround the Arclight don’t want to be the humans' enemies at all. She knows that the leader of those inside the Arc, Honoria Whit, never told the whole truth. But there is so much more that Marina is just discovering. There are more survivors out there. Only Marina—and her friends, all of whom have connections to the Fade they'd never known about—can lead her people to them. But there are also darker dangers, things that even the Fade fear. And Marina slowly realizes she may never have been “cured,” after all. The sequel to Arclight, Meridian is an intense, action-packed page-turner about the lines we draw between right and wrong, light and dark . . . and the way nothing is ever that black and white.

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/006213017X/ref=redir_mdp_mobile?SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=006213017X&linkCode=as2&redirect=true&ref_=x_gr_w_bb&tag=httpwwwgoodco-20

Chapters Indigo:
http://m.indigo.ca/home?sc=9780062130174&sf=ISBN&sortKey=Default&sortDirection=0&ps=Books_Section&langtype=4105

Barnes&Noble:
http://search.barnesandnoble.com/bookSearch/isbnInquiry.asp?r=1&ISBN=006213017X&cm_mmc=AFFILIATES-_-Linkshare-_-GwEz7vxblVU-_-10:1&r=1

Monday, 26 May 2014

Bookish Book Theories: The Last Hours by Cassandra Clare


It's Monday again, and after a long debate, I have decided that I will try to predict what I think will happen in The Last Hours by Cassandra Clare.

If you're familiar with Cassie's books, you will know that TLH comes after TID, and will be about the lives about the children of the characters of TLH.

Now, it's a little TOO early to even know what Cassie is planning (like she's only outlining the story at the moment), but she has dropped hints about the family tree being completely wrong.

So today, I'm trying to predict what's going on with this messed up tree that apparently is misleading and untrustworthy to the point where it brings out feels.

Now, let us being!

1) The Herondale & Carstairs Marriages 

Okay, so according to what I read from the family tree, Tumblr and Twitter, James and Cordy DO get married! HOWEVER, Cassie has hinted that although Jamie and Cordy do tie the knot and have a son together, the reasons behind as to why the get married will surprise us.


After hearing this, it made me sad because 1) I wanted Jamie to be happy and 2) HERONSTARIS GUYYYSSSS. But this did get my mind thinking: why would they get married then? Especially since we all know from The Midnight Heir that Jamie is completely in love with Grace Cartwright. 

But then I saw something on Tumblr that said that Will would prefer Lucie to marry Alastair instead of Jesse, and that's when it hit me.

Cassie has claimed that some of the marriages are arranged, political shams, and that some of the children may not even be the children of the couple.

If Jamie, the loving big brother he is, and Cordy, the loyal parabati of Lucie, realize that Lucie isn't into Alastair, then I think the reason why they would've married is probably because they did it for Lucie.

2) Grace Freaking Cartwright

Immediately after learning that Grace was based off Estella I started to freak because I did not like her at all in the Great Expectations. I really want to know who Grace is. I think she is a Shadowhunter, but at the same time I don't. She can probably be like Tessa- half Downworlder- but I feel like Grace Cartwright is the illegitimate daughter of someone (since we are going by The Great Expectations and all).

At first I thought it was Consul Wayland's kid, but then remembered he died, so no. Then I thought she might be Tatianna's kid with another guy, but she's completely bonkers so no.

I thought for a second that she was Gabriel's illegitimate daughter, then realized that she later on marries Christopher, so no. 

And then I got the crazy idea that maybe, just maybe, he may be Henry's illegitimate kid. I LOVE HENRY ALRIGHT, but he and Charlotte are complete opposites, THEIR CHILDREN, are complete opposites, and it is possible that they have had very bad rows in the time between TID & TLH. It's the most stupidest theory ever, but I think it was the portraits (if not, something that someone wrote to Cassie) that said that Matthew doesn't like Grace. It maybe because they're half-siblings, or maybe because he wants Jamie all too himself :3

But it doesn't really matter anyways. It's Grace. I feel like she's being possessed by like some evil spirit.

3) Lucie and the Ghost next Door

So Lucie, from what I know, doesn't know if she inherited any special abilities like Jamie did from their mother.

Tessa can Change, Will can talk to ghosts, and Jamie can turn into a shadow... Lucie? No clue. But she is fascinated by the mystery behind Jesse Blackthorn.

I actually ship Jesse and Lucie together, and I'm glad they do end up together, but I really want to know how they end up together, but like I said, it's too early to predict plots right now.

But I do believe that Lucie may have inherited Will's ghost-talking abilities, and probably something Adrian Ivashkov-esque, like dream walking! I think her powers are linked mind-wise because she is a thinker, she is a writer. Or maybe, she has the power of dreams, you know, like how the Angel Ithuriel can send dreams as cryptic messages? Maybe that's her power, I don't know.

However, I feel like Lucie learning her ability will play a huge part with her relationship with Jesse.

4) The Arranged Marriage (again, sort of).

Okay, so we already know that Jamie and Cordy get married, and Will wants Lucie to marry Alastair. But I have a feeling, that Alastair only wants to marry Lucie for political reasons...if not this, it's because he's being influenced by Charles Fairchild.

Have you seen that TLH mural photo by Cassandra Jean? Whenever I see that photo, I think they're fighting over the marriage.

5) The Lightwoods

I actually CANNOT wait to see Anna and Christopher Lightwood. I already know that those two are going to be my faves (probably aside from Mathew Fairchild).

I have a feeling that I'm gunna like Anna, BUT I AM SCARED FOR HER. I saw this picture by Cassandra Jean where she's standing outside after being kissed on the cheek and I like, cried!

YOU DONT DO THAT TO ANNA DAMN IT!

I fear for her because Grace Freaking Cartwright. I'm so scared that she might use Anna, and it breaks my heart!

As for Christopher marrying Grace, that's either a political sham or Chris and Grace fall in love after Chris, the awesome scientist he is, finds a way to save Grace from whatever enchantment she may have OR save Jesse's health.

6) The Fairchilds

MATTHEW IS GUNNA BE MY FAVOURITE CHARACTER OF LIFE, and it kills me to know that he isn't even written in the family tree, like what the hell!

I think that he isn't in the tree because he was not murdered, but because 1) Charles may be ashamed of his sexuality (because I have a feeling he's gunna be an a-hole) or 2) he deflected to the bad side and got his name completely erased.

But Matthew sounds like he's gunna be awesome. So, I don't know how my feels are gunna last.

Okay, so that's it for me! I'll probably link all the posts that I mentioned later, but yeah, that's it for me.

What are some of YOUR theories for The Last Hours? 

I probably will be making a part 2 post for TLH because it IS a long way away.

So that's it for me, so have a great Monday, and I'll see you guys next week! 

Thursday, 22 May 2014

Review: The Only Boy by Jordan Locke


20339413
Author: Jordan Locke
Pages: 268 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace
Release Date: December 17th, 2013
Received from: Giselle @ Xpresso Book Tours

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Mary is stuck in Section One, living with three hundred women in a crumbling hospital. She wonders what life was like two centuries ago, before the Cleansing wiped out all the men. But the rules—the Matriarch's senseless rules—prevent her from exploring the vacant city to find out.

Taylor's got a dangerous secret: he's a boy. His compound's been destroyed, and he's been relocated to Section One. Living under the Matriarch means giving up possessions, eating canned food and avoiding all physical contact. Baggy clothes hide his flat chest and skinny legs, but if anyone discovers what lies beneath, he'll be exiled. Maybe even executed.

Mary's never seen a boy—the Matriarch cut the pictures of men from the textbooks—and she doesn't suspect Taylor's secret. If she knew, she might understand the need to stop the girls from teasing him. If she knew, she might realize why she breaks the rules, just to be near him. Then again, she might be frightened to death of him.

Taylor should go. The Matriarch is watching his every move. But running means leaving Mary—and braving the land beyond the compound's boundaries


Review

When I got the book, I was really excited! I didn't start reading it right away because I had other things going on, but I decided to open this book because I was really having a hard time writing and wasn't in the mood to read Wayfarer.

Reading the synopsis of this book, I was super excited because this thing sounded AMAZING! Read the first couple chapters, I was hooked, but then, things started to go down hill, and by the end of the book, I was literally like this:


Have you ever read one of those books that just put you in a state of so freaking done and gave you the wrong type of feels? Well, for me, this book was it.

I really was hooked by the synopsis, and I had to admit, I loved how the first couple pages sucked me in immediately... but it fell flat. The story's premise is a good one, and I felt like it could've been executed way better.

The story is about a girl named Mary, living in a world where boys don't exist. When a girl named Taylor arrives in their Section, she is immediately drawn to her, and later learns her greatest secret: she's really a he. What happens next is the fall out of learning Taylor's secret, and the consequences of falling in love with someone who supposedly doesn't exist.

The beginning (and I cannot emphasis this enough) had a great start, but as the story progressed, I wasn't feeling it anymore. The first problem I had as a reader was the fact that the story was told in dual POV; most times, I don't mind that, and I enjoy having both genders tell their side of the story, but not for this book. The way the story was plotted didn't really help it build to the climax.

I mean, there were some nice, cute parts that I liked between the two characters, but I didn't like the world building and I didn't really enjoy the side characters, and by the end of the story, I didn't have any feels left because I was so frustrated!

The world that was created had so much potential, but I felt it took a back seat to Taylor and Mary's story. The book is 268 pages long- it could've had another 200 pages. No, not 200 pages of JUST world building, but developing the world to the point I could feel how suffocating and destroyed their world is. I would've like another 200 pages of getting to know Mary and Taylor's relationship with other characters because I felt like it was too rushed.

And the plot! THE PLOT!



I didn't like it. I really didn't. I just... I couldn't deal. I totally felt like the plot flopped because the world wasn't built properly, and the relationships of the characters were too hastily written.

I was so disappointed. Like, I would've liked more explanation as to way people died; I would've liked to know why girls were immune; but Taylor is the only boy that seems immune; and I would've liked to see a better resistance from both sides.

There was a part where we learn how Taylor became the only boy (hence the title)- it was near the end, and it was like literally a conversation. I was just like...

That could've been revealed so much better. You don't even know. And the side characters were not my favourite. I think the only person I enjoyed was Rose, and she wasn't even the story for long.

The Matriarch, her daughter Katherine, and Joanne (or is it Johanna?) were the ones I didn't like the most. And Wren. Oooooooooooh, by the end, I was so done with her.

Anyways, the book, could've been better. There was so much potential. I just think it could've been done better. What I did like though, was that it did hook me right off the bat.

But yeah, other than that, I was so done. I feel bad writing this review, but that's just my honest opinion.




Wednesday, 21 May 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (#30): The Ring and the Crown by Melissa de la Cruz


18296016

Author: Melissa de la Cruz
Pages: 384 pages
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Release Date: April 1st, 2014
Status: The Ring and the Crown #1

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Princess Marie-Victoria, heir to the Lily Throne, and Aelwyn Myrddn, bastard daughter of the Mage of England, grew up together. But who will rule, and who will serve?

Quiet and gentle, Marie has never lived up to the ambitions of her mother, Queen Eleanor the Second, Supreme Ruler of the Franco-British Empire. With the help of her Head Merlin, Emrys, Eleanor has maintained her stranglehold on the world's only source of magic. She rules the most powerful empire the world has ever seen.

But even with the aid of Emrys' magic, Eleanor's extended lifespan is nearing its end. The princess must marry and produce an heir or the Empire will be vulnerable to its greatest enemy, Prussia. The two kingdoms must unite to end the war, and the only solution is a match between Marie and Prince Leopold VII, heir to the Prussian throne. But Marie has always loved Gill, her childhood friend and soldier of the Queen's Guard.

Together, Marie and Aelwyn, a powerful magician in her own right, come up with a plan. Aelwyn will take on Marie's face, allowing the princess to escape with Gill and live the quiet life she's always wanted. And Aelwyn will get what she's always dreamed of--the chance to rule. But the court intrigue and hunger for power in Lenoran England run deeper than anyone could imagine. In the end, there is only rule that matters in Eleanor's court: trust no one.



I was actually at Chapters a couple weeks ago, and saw this book and I really wanted to buy it! The problem? I had only $20, and if you live in Canada, you know very well buying books in store is actually the most expensive thing ever. Literally every book we get is about $2-3 more than a US copy.

I really want to read this book. I actually requested the ARC at NetGalley but was denied. I really want to read this book because I love stories about Princesses being badassed, and I love the historical aspect being spun around. And the cover is gorgeous!

Tuesday, 20 May 2014

Blog Tour: Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes



Hmm... Maybe I should've put "Canadian" blog tour in the title of the post as well, but hey I have a banner, so all is well :)

SO TODAY IS THE ART OF LAINEY RELEASE DATE, HAVE YOU GOTTEN YOUR COPY YET? NO! WELL... I SUGGEST YOU DO!

Not entirely sure? Well today, I get to share with you my interview with the awesome Paula Stokes, and hopefully you'll change your mind and go get the book!

Hope you guys enjoy, and don't forget to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway bellow to win a copy of the book (INTERNATIONAL), as well as enter my own giveaway I have going on my FB page (link bellow).



Welcome to my blog Paula! It’s so nice to have you on my new home! So, I got a couple of easy questions to start off with! What was the last thing song you listened to on your iPod/MP3 Player?


Learn to Fly by the Foo Fighters

Does the song remind you of anything you have read recently?


Strangely, it reminds me of both Starling and The Art of Lainey, as well as all kinds of other books, everything from Summer on the Short Bus to Allegiant. I guess the idea of “Make my way back home and learn to fly” is applicable in a lot of settings.

Your first contemporary YA under your real name is about a girl named Lainey getting revenge after her boyfriend, Jason, unceremoniously breaks up with her. What was your inspiration for writing Lainey’s story and how did you come upon incorporating the Art of War into it?


The inspiration actually came from getting blown off by a guy I was involved with (though not in public, thankfully) and from a cute tatted up barista who befriended me while I was wallowing. No, he is not Micah, but he does have one of the same tattoos. Honestly I have no idea where the idea to incorporate The Art of War came from. That’s the thing about writing—it’s truly transcendent. I can’t tell you where 50% of my stuff comes from.


To most people, this may seem as another book of a teenage break up and the narrator going through a bunch of trials and errors to figuring out that she doesn’t need her ex and her dream guy is standing right in front of her. But as an author, what do you think is the real moral of the story and what do you want readers to learn from Lainey’s story? (Other than coming up with a real cool way to get back at an ex?).


I tell myself I don’t write books to “teach people things” but I’d be lying if I said there weren’t a few really important (to me, anyway) messages in the book. First, learn from my mistakes. Don’t shy away from a good thing because you’re afraid of what people will think, or even because you’re afraid you might mess it up. It’s like Henry Rollins said: Half of life is fucking up. The other half is dealing with it.” [You can feel free to censor that, Allie, if you have a swear-free blog, but I can’t in good conscience censor Henry Rollins myself.]


I also feel like a lot of women need to demand a higher standard when it comes to relationships. We cling to guys who take us for granted, or worse, because we can’t recognize that we deserve better. PSA: everyone reading this deserves their own Micah. There are other things in the book about friendship, girl-power, love, the best way to win a battle, etc. that also mean a lot to me. I feel like different people will read the book on different levels based on what’s going on in their lives.


What was the hardest part of writing the Art of Lainey for you?


It’s weird. So much of the book poured out of me that it feels like none of it was really hard. I guess I would say reading and rereading different translations of The Art of War so that I had a decent grasp of what it meant. I had read it once prior to starting this book, but never really understood it.

Micah Foster is a character from the Art of Lainey who is stealing fangirls hearts already and no doubly will steal everyone else’s when the books release. Was he based on any
one that you knew? And how did you come about creating a little novella for him?


Micah is actually an amalgamation of four different guys I know, plus my imagination. Little novella—hah! The draft of that thing is over 100 pages right now. I wrote it because my lovely editor asked for it. I wanted to write a whole book, but I’m not in charge of the universe (yet) so I had to start with what she requested ;-)


What were you like in high school? Were you sporty as Lainey or as loveable as Bianca?


I think it was on Nova Lee’s Out of Time blog where I confessed that almost ALL of the main characters are based partially on me, even Lainey’s mom. I was a jock-brain-rocker in high school and I’m kind of a whimsical free spirit now. I was not a model or a reality TV star, but I was mean or bitchy on occasion *hangs head in shame*, so even Kendall is a little bit of me.


Who was your favourite character to write?


Micah and Lainey were the most fun to write interacting with each other because they had this great chemistry and their dialogue just flowed. I also really enjoyed writing Trinity. [Side note: Trinity is my most favorite name ever. She wants her own book, too.]

Can you describe Art of Lainey in 7 words?


Hope, heart, humor, hot boys, happy endings.


 And of course, do you have any advice to readers out there that are currently dealing with their own Jason’s in their life?


I actually did a blog post on Lainey and Bianca’s tips for surviving a breakup that will be featured on the Epic Reads blog, so keep an eye out for that. [Note: if this post pubs first and I know about it, I’ll email you the link.] In the meantime, ladies, don’t forget to demand a higher standard. You rock, and you deserve to be treated as such.


16068910

Soccer star Lainey Mitchell is gearing up to spend an epic summer with her amazing boyfriend, Jason, when he suddenly breaks up with her—no reasons, no warning, and in public no less! Lainey is more than crushed, but with help from her friend Bianca, she resolves to do whatever it takes to get Jason back.

And that’s when the girls stumble across a copy of The Art of War. With just one glance, they're sure they can use the book to lure Jason back into Lainey’s arms. So Lainey channels her inner warlord, recruiting spies to gather intel and persuading her coworker Micah to pose as her new boyfriend to make Jason jealous. After a few "dates", it looks like her plan is going to work! But now her relationship with Micah is starting to feel like more than just a game.

What's a girl to do when what she wants is totally different from what she needs? How do you figure out the person you're meant to be with, if you're still figuring out the person you're meant to be?


About Art of Lainey:

Purchase the Book:

**********

About Paula Stokes


Paula Stokes is half writer, half RN, and totally thrilled to be part of the world of YA literature. She grew up in St. Louis, Missouri where she graduated from Washington University and the Goldfarb School of Nursing. When she's not writing, she's kayaking, hiking, reading, or seeking out new adventures in faraway lands. Paula loves interacting with readers! Find her online at www.authorpaulastokes.com or on twitter as @pstokesbooks.


Follow Paula!




Well, that's it for me! Make sure to go get your copy of the Art of Lainey, WHICH IS OUT TODAY! And tonight, there's a twitter party going on and you can win some awesome Art of Lainey prizes!

You can also be eligible to win some Art of Lainey swag if you like my FB page, like the giveaway pick, and tell me "What is your favourite break-up song?".

Good luck, and have a happy Art of Lainey day!

Sleepless Reads FB contest: http://facebook.com/sleeplessreads

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, 19 May 2014

Facebook Giveaway: Win SIGNED Art of Lainey swag!

Hey guys, I apologize for not doing another Bookish Book Theories today! I know I promised I would fix my "inconsistent" blogging habits, but today was Victoria Day here in Canada, which meant I had a nice long weekend to relax, so I didn't really post.

BUT I do have a giveaway going on right now!

Tomorrow IS the ART OF LAINEY RELEASE DATE, and my stop for the Art of Lainey Canadian Blog Tour where I will be veiling my interview with Paula! There is an international giveaway along with the blog tour, AND a twitter party tomorrow, hosted by Christina from Ensconced in Lit @ 8pm EST. You guys get a chance to win copies of the book and swag- and yes, international people, you're eligible to win awesome stuff as well! :) Need more info? Checkout her post here: http://cahreviews.blogspot.ca/2014/05/artoflainey-twitter-party-may-20th-8pm.html?m=1

Yeah, we at #TeamLainey have a lot of awesome stuff going on; I wanted to add on to that awesomeness by giving you the chance to win some swag as well (you know, to double your chances!).

All you have to do is LIKE my FB page, LIKE the post, and TELL ME what's your break up song? in the comment section to be eligible to win. That's it. Plain and simple.


AND DON'T FORGET TO CHECKOUT MY INTERVIEW TOMORROW AND JOIN THE TWITTER PARTY @ 8PM EST, USING THE HASHTAG #ArtofLainey.

Have a happy Art of Lainey Eve!

Saturday, 17 May 2014

Mad Writers Club: Week 7 & 8 Update

I promised myself I was going to get better at posting these things consistently. Unfortunately, that promise only lasted what I hoped was two weeks!


Anyways, it's time to report and to confess all my woes progress!


1) Week Seven: How much have you accomplished? And, what kind of a writer are you? (Character-first vs Plot-first? Plotser vs Pantser? Hero’s Journey vs Three Act Structure?) Why does it work for you?


2) Week Eight: We’re done with our second month! How much have you accomplished? And, since we’re almost 2/3 of the way done with it: who/what were the greatest influences for you as a writer? On your writing?


1. Okay, so I learned I am a pantser. I made an outline as to what I wanted to happen in my story, and who my characters are, but as I kept writing the draft, I realized that my everything was completely different from who they were in my outline. Not completely different to the point it was a whole other story, but different to the point where the outline was the cookie-cutter version I have at the moment.


Like literally, the first half of the draft has a completely different tone than the second half of the draft.


And the plot? Yeah, that changed completely.


The original plot was supposed to be my main character, Seb, trying to redeem himself from his actions by going to extremes, and him meeting a girl who helps him realize that he's being stupid for going to said extremes. That is still the gist of my story, however the way I planned it is completely different from what I have written at the moment.


Not only is the plot different, but my characters? Yeah, all of them have done a complete 180 from where they first started. The only character I *think* that hasn't changed much is Rory. Rory (Seb's new partner in crime) is less extreme than she was in the first draft, but is still the teasing, guarded, sarcastic, but loyal and empathetic character she was before. I've come to the point where I MAY have to change her character's traits as well, but hopefully I won't have to.


The reason why I'm pushing myself to finish this (terrible) first draft is because since I'm a pantser, everything I write helps me see what I can fix, what I can keep, and what I can remove or change completely. Like I said, I had an outline for the plot and I had the character's personalities and histories written out, but putting two together is impossible for me.


You know how I said one half of the draft is completely different from the other? Well, the reason why I say that is because the first half was literally the development of my character's, and the second half is literally plot based.


Gah, I'm embarrassed to even admit that! I'm such a strange writer.


Anyways, the first half is a lot of back-story, witty dialogue (or what I thought was witty, but was just really exhaustion and adrenaline taking over my writing), while the second half is where everything in the plot picks up and develops and yeah...

I don't know if other writers function like this, but I do. And though I hated realizing I am a pantser and admitting it, it has helped me more than making my outline.


2. This week is supposed to be the end of week 8 right? Well, since my pantser ways have dawned on me, I have gotten further with my draft; like I said, I'm at the climax part. But I feel like I could have more done, but high school, life, and trying to catch up on reading? Yeah, that doesn't really help.


It amazes me how full-time moms and full-time working men and women can sit down and write a book... like, do you know how soft I feel?


Anyways, I feel like I could've had more finished for the end of this week. I'm one of those writers that need quiet to write, and I rarely have that opportunity. I write on my family desktop, which is hallway, and has Microsoft 2003. Yeah. I can't really write at school in the nice computers because it changes the document, and it is the hardest thing of life to actually try to recover it. And like I said, my computer is in a hallway, outside my room. I prefer working in a quiet place, and when I get home from school, I literally have 50-55 minutes of quiet for myself, and I have to squeeze in piano homework (my piano is outside in the hall as well, beside my computer) and writing together before the noise starts.


So I am disappointed with my progress. Like, to the point where I just want to roll up into a blanket enchilada and never unroll again.


But I haven't given up, and by the end of this challenge, if I didn't reach my goal of getting this draft finished, I should at least get a medal for sticking it out (because that counts for something, right?).


To answer the second part of question 8, I have a lot of influences as a writer. For this particular story (because I have a lot of writer's and people I just adore/influence me when I'm writing) are: Holly Black, Eve Edwards, Sharon Biggs Waller, Megan Shepherd, and Ally Carter. And since my story is loosely based on Sherlock Holmes, I've been reading some Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and he is a character in my story that hasn't been cut out...yet.


Eve Edwards, Sharon Biggs Waller, and Megan Shepherd are some of my favourite YA historical writers! (I have a lot more, but I'm sorry I couldn't list them all!). Sharon and Eve write these badass, feminine characters that are ahead of their time and make me want to become a better and stronger person!


Megan Shepherd is amazing when it comes to incorporating classic works, her own characters, and a huge bucket of creepiness in her writing.


Ally Carter is another influence of mine because I love how's she's able to write stories without making them too over-rated with romance, angst, drama etc. She writes these awesome stories about spies and thieves by telling their story, and for me, she's one of my biggest influences because although I like the intricate way some other's can weave their characters, plot, and world together, I just love how she writes the her stories as the character.


And Holly Black, because without Kaye and the Modern Faerie Tales, without her, I don't think I'd ever find myself wanting to write, wanting to read! She literally introduced me into the YA genre when I was in the seventh grade!




And, like I said, since my story is LOOSELY based on Sherlock Holmes, I have been reading some Arthur C. Doyle. And I've been watching lots of re-runs of Sherlock (BBC version) as well!


So that's it for me this week! Since it's a long weekend here in Canada, I plan to get A LOT of writing and reading done TOMORROW!

Thursday, 15 May 2014

HAPPY BIRTHDAY CAL!



Okay, so today is Cal's (http://readbooksandlivegreen.blogspot.ca/?m=1) birthday, so go wish her a Happy Birthday here: http://twitter.com/Read_LiveGreen :)

So what makes Cal so amazing?

-she LOVES the colour green, and rocks it!
-she's a HUGE animal loves, so today, we're all gunna party like:
-she loves her dog
-and she's just an amazing blogger pal whom I wish I could talk to more!

I wish I had more time to make this post more awesome, but unfortunately, the Blogger app sucks -.-"

But that isn't the point. The point is, that today is Cal's birthday, and we should go say happy birthday. 

HAPPY BIRTHDAY CAL!

Wednesday, 14 May 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (#29): Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch





17399160


Author: Sara Raasch
Pages: 432 pages
Publisher: Baltzer + Bray

Release Date: October 14th 2014
Status: Snow Like Ashes #1

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

Is it weird that when I first heard that Sara's book was called Snow Like Ashes, I automatically thought it was a contemporary?

It wasn't till I read the synopsis that I realized that this isn't a contemporary. It's fantasy, adventure and a kick-ass synopsis that I know will be a kick-ass story. WHY IS OCTOBER SO FAR AWAY?

I seriously can't wait for this book!

Tuesday, 13 May 2014

Happy Release Day to The Lovely and The Lost!

It's May 13th, and yes, I was supposed to have a review up for today, but I was having some...complications with Blogger earlier, and decided to postpone it to Thursday!


But anyways, today is the release day for The Lovely and The Lost by Page Morgan, the sequel to The Beautiful and The Cursed and the second book in the Dispossessed series.


So go out and buy your copy today!


17924944

Monday, 12 May 2014

Bookish Book Theories: Born of Deception by Teri Brown


It's Bookish Book Theories Monday, and today I'm predicting what I think will happen in Born of Deception by Teri Brown!

And please remember, there will be spoilers!



Budding illusionist Anna Van Housen is on top of the world: after scoring a spot on a prestigious European vaudeville tour, she has moved to London to chase her dream and to join an underground society for people like her with psychic abilities. Along with her handsome beau, Cole Archer, Anna is prepared to take the city by storm.

But when Anna arrives in London, she finds the group in turmoil. Sensitives are disappearing and, without a suspect, the group’s members are turning on one another. Could the kidnapper be someone within the society itself—or has the nefarious Dr. Boyle followed them to London?

As Cole and Anna begin to unravel the case and secrets about the society are revealed, they find themselves at odds, their plans for romance in London having vanished. Her life in danger and her relationship fizzling, can Anna find a way to track down the killer before he makes her his next victim—or will she have to pay the ultimate price for her powers?

Set in Jazz-Age London, this alluring sequel to Born of Illusion comes alive with sparkling romance, deadly intrigue, and daring magic.

Crazy Dr. Boyle

Okay, so in the first book, Anna's life gets completely turned upside down when she discovers she's a Sensitive; she nearly gets killed when Dr. Boyle and his accomplices try to kidnap her, but escaped last minute, however Dr. Boyle ends up escaping as well.

I think that he's going to be in London, and I really do think he's going to be behind the turmoil within the Sensitive group. However, I don't think he will be playing a role- I feel like he's going to be behind the scenes.

The reason why is because Anna now knows who's after her, and knows that he has a lot of accomplices. 

I really do feel like we won't see him till book 3, but I know very well that he'll be the reason behind most of the problems.

From the Inside Out

Okay, so I believe that the person destroying the Sensitive group from the inside out is a relative of Dr. Boyle. Or something like that. I feel like it's the girl that Cole was corosponding with, but it does say in the synopsis that it is a he not a she.

To me, it would've made more sense if the person after them was a girl, so it gave her double the motive a) not only ruin the group, but b) ruin Anna and Cole's relationship.

I have a feeling that Anna is going to befriend the guy that ruins the group the inside out, and it will not only endanger her, but her relationship.

Sinking Ships

I really don't want Anna and Cole's relationship to sink, but I can sort of see it happening. Anna, compared to Cole, is more impulsive, and I can see where they clash- and we sorta saw that in the first book.

But the thing is, they are a great couple, and I really do like them together.

I think there will be more than one main factor to why their relationship will fizzle.

1) the Girl back home

I really do believe that the girl that Cole was corosponding to will be the reason why their relationship won't be doing so hot in this book. I feel like Anna will get a little jealous.

2) La Familia

Cole's mother may not approve of her, and she may ridicule Anna

And 3) The Unknown Guy

I totally believe that the guy destroying the group from the inside is not only going to be linked to Dr. Boyle, but fa in love with Anna. I have a feeling Cole's going to get really jealous (much more than he did with Owen- maybe they're friends), and he'll be on the side of getting rid of the guy permanently by killing him, and Anna will be on the side of getting rid of him to, but want to stalk him so he can lead them to Dr. Boyle so they can finish the problem once and for all.

I think the main factor will be their personalities and their different views of handling the problem.

Daddy Dearest

Okay, who actually believes that Anna will learn who her dad really is? I really didn't think it was Houdini, although I found it cool. A part of me wants to say Dr. Boyle (but ew, no. Please no), but a part of me feels like it's Martin, the guy in charge/ the guy that owns the vaudeville act that Anna got a spot on. That's who I think it is.

If he isn't her dad, he's probably the guy after the Sensitives and is working for Dr. Boyle.

Okay, so that's it for me this week! Tomorrow, my review for Born of Illusion will be up, so check that out as well! What are some of your theories?

Have a happy Monday! 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...