Wednesday, 27 August 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: The Jewel by Amy Ewing




Author: Amy Ewing
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: September 2nd, 2014

Synopsis:


The Jewel means wealth, the Jewel means beauty—but for Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Born and raised in the Marsh, Violet finds herself living in the Jewel as a servant at the estate of the Duchess of the Lake. Addressed only by her number—#197—Violet is quickly thrown into the royal way of life. But behind its opulent and glittering facade, the Jewel hides its cruel and brutal truth, filled with violence, manipulation, and death. Violet must accept the ugly realities of her life . . . all while trying to stay alive. But before she can accept her fate, Violet meets a handsome boy who is also under the Duchess’s control, and a forbidden love erupts. But their illicit affair has consequences, which will cost them both more than they bargained for. And toeing the line between being calculating and rebellious, Violet must decide what, and who, she is willing to risk for her own freedom.



This book comes out REALLY soon, and I am so happy for that. Why? Because I've been trying my hardest trying to get an ARC of this book!

The Jewel is my type of book- dystopian, intriguing concept, romance, and of course, a bit of fairy tale. I can't wait for this book to come out! Only a week to go!

Tuesday, 26 August 2014

ARC Review: Eternal Night by Carina Adly MacKenzie






Author: Carina Adly MacKenzie
Pages: 319 pages
Release Date: August 26th, 2014
Publisher: Paper Lantern Lit
Received From: e-book from NetGalley
Status: Standalone


Synopsis (from Paper Lantern Lit):





There are gods among us….

Six young gods are hiding in plain sight among mortals, living secretly in cities across the world. From lavish penthouse soirees to pulsing underground clubs, for them, the party literally never ends.
 Until now.


On a hot June morning, the body of a beautiful girl is found floating in the rooftop pool of the Jefferson Hotel, her white-ink tattoos revealing the story of a life much longer than seems possible. Only the immortals know the truth: Nadia was the goddess of hope. Now she’s gone, and the world as they know it is ending. The Hudson River has turned blood red. Storms rage overhead. Mania is rapidly spreading across the globe.


It is up to the remaining gods—Lola, Dean, Weston, Mark, Nike and Peitha—to put aside centuries of betrayal and heartbreak, and stop the mysterious source of darkness that is taking over… before the sun sets forever.


Carina Adly MacKenzie, writer for The CW’s new drama, “The Originals,” has penned a steamy, romantic, and ultimately redemptive story of forgotten gods, the persistence of hope, and the power of love to save us.


Review


Eternal Night is not the type of book you'd think you'd get hooked on. The synopsis itself sounds like a cliche love story of immortals falling in love and fighting for love while dealing with bad immortals and saving humans (*cough Vampire Diaries cough*). But this book is so much more than that.

The story is about six gods of Greek and Norse mythology who end up banding together to find out how to stop the end of the world after the death of their friend Nadia, the last goddess of Hope. The problem? The gods realize their facing forces more ancient and powerful than them, and they haven't been able to use their own powers for thousands of years.

There was a lot if dramatic angst I found with some of the characters (Dean, Nike and Mark specifically for me), and I felt like their cold attitude with each other was unbearable to begin with. However as the story progressed, I started liking the characters more, despite their flaws. Almost like the characters in a new television show that I'm just starting. It's a slow burn, but it's nice seeing the characters go from their lowest points to their natural form. 

Personally, I didn't like how the story felt like an actual show with all the back and forth perspective, and all the little descriptions that I felt like weren't needed. BUT like an actual show, all those little bits and pieces came together by the end of the story and made sense.

I liked how this novel IS a standalone, but there is a bit of an open ending, but I'm okay with how it ended. But there were times I felt like the plot just seemed like it was just dragging on and that more problems were being added on, and I actually felt hopeless and that the suffering was never going to end for the characters.

But it was a good story, and it will keep your mind working and guessing. From the angsty god of wine to the loveless goddess of love, Eternal Night leaves you craving for more!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars!




Wednesday, 20 August 2014

Blog Tour: The Poisoned Emerald by Sarena and Sasha Nanua


The Poisoned Emerald.FINAL.indd

The poison is spreading....

I wrapped myself in the portal’s embrace and felt my feet land on a new surface. I stood on a sandy beach that was wet and damp, causing the ground to stick to my shoes. The portal snapped shut, and I felt misty rain dance on my shoulders.                                                                               
Thunder sounded from overhead, and before I could comprehend the impending storm, a gash of lightning hit the hill just to the right of the river. The ground quaked below me before an explosion of sand burst from the ground.

AS WINTER ARRIVES Arica Miller is back to regular school life at Hill Valley. After resolving the disappearance of the King’s Jewel and returning it safely, Arica doesn’t expect anything else to go wrong. Too soon does Arica learn that a great evil—a poison—has spread through the Sorcerers Underworld, threatening to take away all magic. And worse, the only person who can save the magical world has been kidnapped: the king.                                                          
In order to find the king, Arica and her friends must follow an ancient prophecy in which they must defeat vicious creatures, travel through mysterious forests, and restore peace to the poisoned land—no matter how dangerous it could be …                                                                                
In this final installment of The Pendant Trilogy, Arica learns of dark pasts, unknowable futures, and the truth of the pendant’s origin. Arica doesn’t have much time left—and if she fails, the mortal and the magical worlds are both at stake.

Okay, so I was asked to make a Dream Cast of the characters! I was given a list of characters, but unfortunately, I couldn't do all of it! But hopefully, you'll enjoy the choices that I have chosen!

Chloe Grace Moretz as Arica Miller: I chose Chloe because she was a youthful look, but has that mature aura about her that would be perfect for Arica.


Asa Butterfield as Joseph Miller: I know he has black hair & blue eyes, but he can dye his hair brown :) I chose Asa because he has a very boyish/nerdy look about him, especially with those glasses! 


Nicole Gale Anderson as Ash Graves: When I read his character description, I automatically thought Ava Jogia!... Before I was told that Ash was actually a girl! (Yeah, that was a mistake on my part). But my face claim for Ash (as a girl) would totally be Nicole Gale Anderson aka Miranda from Ravenswood.

Skandar Keynes as Geoff: I chose Skandar because when I think of dark hair and eyes, I automatically think of him. This is a photo of him during his Narnia years because I couldn't find a recent picture for him. But I think it works! :)


Thomas Brodie Sangster as Rowen: Okay, I actually haven't read the Pendant Trilogy, so I'm not a 100% sure if Rowen is a guy or a girl. Originally, I had Katarina Pudar, a Russian actress and model as Rowen (because I thought he was a girl), but my face claim for Rowen the guy is Game of Thrones star Thomas Brodie Sangstar. 


Freddie Heighmore as Cale: Another one of the wonderful characters from the Pendant Trilogy that I wasn't 100% is a guy or girl. But I'm guessing from the name that Cale is a guy. I chose Freddie Heighmore because he fits what Cale would look like in my head- tall and lanky.


Marion Cotillard as Headmistress Lembrose: Sarena and Sasha recommended Lana Parrilla (she's from OUAT :D) as the Headmistress, but I felt that French actress Marion Cotillard would fit the Headmistress role better. Marion is a seasoned actor that can go from the nice, supporting character to your worst nightmare in 0.2 seconds.


Callan McAuliffe as Adam Collins: If you don't recoginze Callan, you've probably seem him before- he played the young Jay Gatsby (aka the young Leonardo DiCaprio) in the Great Gatsby. I chose this Aussie native as Adam, and he's my favourite from this entire cast!

And there you have it! My dream cast for the Pendant trilogy!

Author Bio:



Sarena and Sasha Nanua are teenage twins living in Ontario. They love reading books in their spare time and enjoy science fiction and fantasy novels. They have been writing books since they were nine-years-old. The Gemstone is their first novel. You can visit them online at www.thependanttrilogy.com


 

Social Media Links:




Add books on Goodreads:






 


Purchase links








 

Waiting on Wednesday (#43): The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters









 17841138


Author: Cat Winters
Expected Release Date: October 14, 2014
Publisher: Amulet Books 

Synopsis (from Goodreads):





Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in Oregon, and Olivia’s father, concerned that she’s headed for trouble, convinces a stage mesmerist to try to hypnotize the rebellion out of her. But the hypnotist, an intriguing young man named Henri Reverie, gives her a terrible gift instead: she’s able to see people’s true natures, manifesting as visions of darkness and goodness, while also unable to speak her true thoughts out loud. These supernatural challenges only make Olivia more determined to speak her mind, and so she’s drawn into a dangerous relationship with the hypnotist and his mysterious motives, all while secretly fighting for the rights of women. Winters breathes new life into history once again with an atmospheric, vividly real story, including archival photos and art from the period throughout.










I CANNOT wait for The Cure for Dreaming! Cat Winters is one of my favourite YA writers of all time. Do you know how hard it is for me to find a good YA historical? Very.


Cat is an amazing writers, and I love her so much! I fell in LOVE with In the Shadow of Blackbirds, and was so heartbroken by the end of it! I just love Cat's writing style, and I love seeing her characters being put in these cool situations!

Monday, 18 August 2014

I AM BACK!

Hey everyone! I am back from my 5 week French immersion program in Quebec, and yes, I am getting back into the blogging!


YAY!

Sorry, I couldn't find a working GIF for this post (my dad's laptop is a bit slow).


Technically, I came back last Sunday, but I decided to take another week off before I DID I have to start blogging full time again.


In the span of 5 weeks I have learned a lot, made a lot of friends, and taking back so many memories and lessons with me. I had the best summer ever, and it just seems a little strange not waking up at 6-7 am and going to school, and hanging out with my friends 24/7.





(This is a photo I took from a window from my residence during sunset).


Once I got back, I took some time to adjust being home and not being able to go out whenever I pleased. It was a strange adjustment, and then I turned 17 two days later...



So my homecoming was a bit crazy, and now I am hopelessly behind on my reading list! I brought 5 books for me to read (one book per week), and I only finished two books: one actual novel and one novella (two of my friends finished 2-3 books each).

I'm currently reading Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes and Walled City by Ryan Graudin.

I still have a lot to catch up with reading and blogging wise (I've been so out of the loop for so long), but I'll be on Twitter if you want to catch up with me anytime!

Have a happy Monday!

Wednesday, 13 August 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (#42): Unraveled by Gennifer Albin









 18295817


Author: Gennifer Albin
Expected Release Date: October 7, 2014
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Synopsis (from Goodreads):





Autonomous. Independent. Dangerous. They tried to control her. Now she’ll destroy them.

Things have changed behind the walls of the Coventry and new threats lurk in its twisted corridors. When Adelice returns to Arras, she quickly learns that something rotten has taken hold of the world and Cormac Patton needs her to help him reestablish order. However, peace comes at a terrible price. As the Guild manipulates the citizens of Arras, Adelice discovers that she’s not alone, and she must let go of her past to fight for mankind’s future. She will have to choose between an unimaginable alliance and a deadly war that could destroy everyone she loves.











I can't believe that the final book is here! I hope Adelice makes GOOD decisions in this book, and I hope my ship doesn't sink, because right now, it's treading in rocky waters.


I don't know how to feel- she has a lot of stuff to fix now that she's back. I hope Patton dies, and I hope we get to learn more of Arra's origins from Patton, because I do want to learn more about what happened to Lucy in the Cyprus Project short story that Gennifer posted on her Wattpad.


But can you believe it? THE SERIES IS OVER AFTER THIS BOOK!

Wednesday, 6 August 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (#41): The Fine Art of Pretending by Rachel Harris







 17696131


Author: Rachel Harris
Expected Release Date: September 30, 2014
Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary

Synopsis (from Goodreads):





According to the guys at Fairfield Academy, there are two types of girls: the kind you hook up with, and the kind you're friends with. Seventeen-year-old Alyssa Reed is the second type. And she hates it. With just one year left to change her rank, she devises a plan to become the first type by homecoming, and she sets her sights on the perfect date—Justin Carter, Fairfield Academy’s biggest hottie and most notorious player.

With 57 days until the dance, Aly launches Operation Sex Appeal and sheds her tomboy image. The only thing left is for Justin actually to notice her. Enter best friend Brandon Taylor, the school’s second biggest hottie, and now Aly’s pretend boyfriend. With his help, elevating from “funny friend” to “tempting vixen” is only a matter of time.

But when everything goes according to plan, the inevitable “break up” leaves their friendship in shambles, and Aly and Brandon with feelings they can’t explain. And the fake couple discovers pretending can sometimes cost you the one thing you never expected to want.











I am super excited for this book! I think it's going to be a cute, easy, and loveable read! I just love Rachel, even though I only started reading her work by being drawn from a giveaway that I was surprised I won (and I won an ebook of Tale of Two Centuries, btw).


Her writing is awesome, and I just fall in love with all her characters! I can't wait for this book!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...