Tuesday, 30 September 2014

Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas


16034235

Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 404 pages
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Release Date: August 2nd, 2012
Status: Throne of Glass #1

Synopsis:

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king's champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass--and it's there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena's fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

Review

Throne of Glass was such an amazing book! It took me awhile to finish (I had to read this book at bits at  a time because I was SUPER busy this summer), but I absolutely love it! It is kick-ass, mysterious, thrilling, and just a bundle of amazingness! Celaena Sardothien is the definition of badass!

I found the book very descriptive, and normally I would find this quite annoying in a book, however, I found that the imagery that Sarah J. Maas uses to tell Calaena's story is perfect! She [Calaena] is a very mysterious and private person, and the story of her origin is kept a secret from the reader. All we know is that she was/is an assassin, and that she was imprisoned for two years before Prince Dorian came to make her his champion. She was not an easy character to love right away, but her loyalty and fierceness is what makes you love her.

What I like about this book is the fact that romance is a slow burn, because insta-love for this series would not work for me. Celaena is a complicated individual with complicated circumstances, so it makes sense for her love life to be a mess. 

I didn't like how I was able to figure out the antagonist pretty quickly, but I was surprised by the deep involvement for some characters; I can't wait to see what will happen in the next book!

Throne of Glass is a thrilling new story about a kick-ass warrior who lives by her own rules- as much as I hate to say it, but Rose Hathaway has some definite competition!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars! 

Thursday, 25 September 2014

ARC Review: Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld






Author: Scott Westerfeld
Pages: 599 pages
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: September 23, 2014
Received From: Simon Schuster Canada


Synopsis (from Goodreads): 


Darcy Patel has put college and everything else on hold to publish her teen novel, Afterworlds. Arriving in New York with no apartment or friends she wonders whether she's made the right decision until she falls in with a crowd of other seasoned and fledgling writers who take her under their wings…

Told in alternating chapters is Darcy's novel, a suspenseful thriller about Lizzie, a teen who slips into the 'Afterworld' to survive a terrorist attack. But the Afterworld is a place between the living and the dead and as Lizzie drifts between our world and that of the Afterworld, she discovers that many unsolved - and terrifying - stories need to be reconciled. And when a new threat resurfaces, Lizzie learns her special gifts may not be enough to protect those she loves and cares about most.


Review



Afterworlds was an amazing book from start to finish! It was the perfect balance between contemporary and paranormal fiction that crossed between two different realities while maintaining the morals of a story between two different narrators.

I personally love Scott Westerfeld, mostly because he and Lois Lowry are the reason why I started reading YA in the first place.

The story is about two different girls in two different worlds: Darcy Patel, an eighteen year old writer who decides to hold off university for a writing career in New York; and Lizzie, the protagonist in Darcy's novel, Afterworlds.

Reading this story was interesting right from the beginning. You get to see reality from Darcy's eyes, and the life of a fictional character from Lizzie's eyes. It took me awhile to make my brain understand that I was NOT reading two different stories, no matter how different each reality was for the narrators. 

Scott Westerfeld created a story that revolves around contemporary hardships and extraordinary events in both characters lives: Darcy, learning the ins and outs of the publishing industry, becoming her own person, while realizing that she is a published author, just not printed yet; and Lizzie, a girl from a broken family who becomes a famous sole survivor, and develops a gift that can either save her or break her. Both narrators have different situations, but have similar problems: figuring out their own selves, while trying to figure out the crazy world around them. 

Although I found some parts of the book lagging (especially when Darcy goes all "author mode" on us, however it was interesting to see the author world through a book written by a well known author... Makes me wonder how accurate it REALLY is now), but also loved some of the little hints on opinion the author has on the publishing industry and diversity in books (I applaude you Mr. Westerfeld, you rock!).

Afterworlds may seem a little daunting in size (not unless you're dauntless...it seemed fitting to make a Divergent joke here), but the book is a masterpiece, and an exceptional read!

Rating:





Monday, 22 September 2014

Book Blast: Silvern by Christina Farley



Publisher: Skyscape

Published: 23 September 2014

Format: Paperback 373 pages

Jae Hwa Lee has destroyed Haemosu, the dangerous demi-god that held her
ancestors captive, and now she’s ready to forget about immortals and move
on with her life. Then the god of darkness, Kud, sends an assassin to kill
her. Jae escapes with the knowledge that Kud is seeking the lost White
Tiger Orb, and joins the Guardians of Shinshi to seek out the orb before
Kud can find it.

But Kud is stronger and more devious than Haemosu ever was. Jae is soon
painfully reminded that by making an enemy of Kud, she has placed her
closest friends in danger, and must decide how much she can bear to
sacrifice to defeat one of the most powerful immortals in all of Korea.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR



After teaching and traveling internationally for ten years, Christina
started writing about her adventures, tossing in a little fiction for fun.
This inspired her to write the GILDED series, a YA series based on Korean
mythology about a Korean-American girl who takes her destiny into her own
hands.

Besides writing, Christina loves traveling, running, driving too fast, and
eating dark chocolate.

Christina writes fantasy for teens. She is represented by Jeff Ourvan of
the Jennifer Lyons Literary, LLC.
Learn more about Christina by visiting her at www.christinafarley.com or by
chatting with her on Twitter @christinafarley.





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, 20 September 2014

ARC Review: Beauty of the Broken by Tawni Waters






Author: Tawni Waters
Pages: 368 pages
Release Date: September 30th, 2014
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Received From: Simon & Schuster Canada
Status: Standalone


Synopsis (from Goodreads):


In this lyrical, heartwrenching story about a forbidden first love, a teen seeks the courage to care for another girl despite her small town’s bigotry and her father’s violent threats.

Growing up in conservative small-town New Mexico, fifteen-year-old Mara was never given the choice to be different. Her parents—an abusive, close-minded father and a detached alcoholic mother—raised Mara to be like all the other girls in Barnaby: God-fearing, churchgoing, and straight. Mara wants nothing to do with any of it. She feels most at home with her best friend and older brother, Iggy, but Iggy hasn’t been the same since their father beat him and put him in the hospital with a concussion.

As Mara’s mother feeds her denial with bourbon and Iggy struggles with his own demons, Mara finds an escape with her classmate Xylia. A San Francisco transplant, Xylia is everything Mara dreams of being: free-spirited, open, wild. The closer Mara and Xylia become, the more Mara feels for her—even though their growing relationship is very much forbidden in Barnaby. Just as Mara begins to live a life she’s only imagined, the girls’ secret is threatened with exposure and Mara’s world is thrown into chaos.


Mara knows she can't live without Xylia, but can she live with an entire town who believes she is an abomination worse than the gravest sin?


Review


Beauty of the Broken is not one of those "light" reads- it's raw, emotional, and gives you a lot to think about while reading it. It's one of those books that leaves you feeling something, and it took me awhile to actually write the review for this wonderfully heart-breaking story.


The story is not the "easy" type, for a lack of a better description. This story is raw, and at times, take a dark turn. The novel puts our main character, Mara, and her brother Iggy through some tough situations that no one should ever go through. But there are nice moments, moments of hope, and they really do tug at your heart strings.


This novel is really a story about broken relationships, new found romances, and of course the craziness that is family, and a girl named Mara who comes with flaws but still does her best to keep carrying on.


Beauty of the Broken is not a book where you'll get a happy ending, where all the characters will solve their problems and an epic romance at the end. Tawni Waters creates a dark, haunting, yet lovely and wonderful book that will leave you with tears in your eyes and a roller coaster of emotions. 


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!



Thursday, 18 September 2014

Review: Stone of a Destiny by Laura Howard (Tour Stop)





Stone of Destiny by Laura Howard
(The Danaan Trilogy #2)
Publication date: April 15th 2014
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult


Synopsis:
Allison thought it was crazy enough when she found out her father, Liam, wasn’t entirely human. But now she has to join his magical allies to unravel his former mistress’s plans. Aoife wants to keep Allison’s parents apart forever.

Despite Allison’s efforts to keep Ethan, the only guy she’s ever cared about, out of this supernatural mess, fate keeps throwing him back into the mix.

Will Allison be able to find the amulet that holds the enchantment Aoife placed on Liam and destroy it? Are Ethan’ s feelings for Allison strong enough to endure the magic of the Tuatha De Danaan?






Review


The Stone of Destiny was an easy and adventurous book that you will want to read over and over again!


The story takes place right after The Forgotten Ones, and deals with Allison and her fight against evil fairy princess, Aoife.


Allison's stepped up since the first book, and more willing to put herself in more danger to save the ones that she loves. She's still the awkward book worm with an "unreasonable" ice cream addiction, but learns how to hold her own when navigating her way though fairy world and saving everyone from Aoife.


This book deals a lot about relationships, which I actually enjoyed since they brought a new dimension to Allison's character. They all had their specific roles and help her become the person she is at the end of the book. In my opinion, I felt like the familial drama overweighed the fight against Aoife, but regardless the book was full of adventure.

I liked the involvement of Niamh and Liam, but I felt like there could've been more of a build up with the introduction of Sam in book 1 and 2. I like how we got to meet her soon, but I felt like there could've been more suspense with her introduction that would've made us want to meet her. 

Overall, the book was good! Hopefully book 3 comes out soon!

Rating:





AUTHOR BIO







Laura Howard lives in New Hampshire with her husband and four children. Her obsession with books began at the age of 6 when she got her first library card. Nancy Drew, Sweet Valley High and other girly novels were routinely devoured in single sittings. Books took a backseat to diapers when she had her first child. It wasn’t until the release of a little novel called Twilight, 8 years later, that she rediscovered her love of fiction. Soon after, her own characters began to make themselves known. The Forgotten Ones is her first published novel.
Website - Goodreads - Facebook - Twitter
a Rafflecopter giveaway Or grab code here: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/ZDA0MjUxMjM1OGRlZWRmZWM1YmUyMmFkYTM3OWE5OjUzNg==/

Wednesday, 17 September 2014

Dear Fellow Sleepless Readers...

Dear Fellow Sleepless Readers...

I know my blog looks a little dead at the moment, but I swear, I'll be fixing that problem REALLY soon! Tomorrow, I have a book tour stop here, so it will look a little more alive, but aside from that, I probably won't have another post up till later this week/early next week.


Why? Because I'm still getting to this new schedule I have. I used to do my blog stuff primarily on weekends, but now I'm just finding myself worrying about homework and getting enough sleep that I haven't actually put much thought into blogging, let alone reading!


So at the moment, I am currently reading the books I have on my shelf (that have been on my TBR list for awhile), as well as taking the time to make proper review notes and scheduling all my blog events as well. I am REALLY trying my best to make this blog better than it already is!


Also, I'll be adding a couple new features to the blog, and am currently brainstorming ideas for the posts (you'll probably see these this week or next week). I am SUPER excited for this, and cannot wait to have them up!


For now, I apologize for the lack of quality on the blog, but I promise that I will be posting REALLY soon!

Wednesday, 10 September 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: I'll Give You The Sun





Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Dial
Release Date: September 16th, 2014

Synopsis

 A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell
Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.




I've seen the cover of I'll Give You the Sun for a little while now, but haven't really given it much thought to be honest with you. However, when EpicReads put it on their list of Fall Releases, I was really fascinated by the synopsis. I find myself reading a lot of high fantasy and dystopian lately, and I guess a good brother-sister coming-of-age story will be a nice change for once.


Wednesday, 3 September 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White





Author: Kiersten White
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: September 9th, 2014

Synopsis:


Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets the gorgeous, enigmatic Finn, who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status . . . and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, and the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess them. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits, can stop him.

Since I was gone and living in Quebec for 5 weeks, I did NOT know that Kiersten White had a new book coming out, and there were ARCs! I think it was the Saturday when I left was when I finally went on Twitter and saw the GORGEOUS cover of this book, and then Goodreads the synopsis. I cannot wait for this book to come out, and when I saw others raving about the ARC, I was jealous and even more excited at the same time! Thankfully, this book comes out soon, and there isn't much a of a LONG waiting period for it!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...